We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor start but enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A disastrous start to our stay at this hotel. We were a large group disembarked from a ship. The hotel was not ready for us and left us in the lobby with our luggage. The room were not ready, we would just have been glad to see our luggage securely stored so that we could leave the hotel and explore Cape Town. Was happy to do this and check in later in the day. It took some time for this to be organised. We returned later in the day, after having spent the day at the waterfront, and was checked into a really comfortable pleasant room. We were on the 8th floor, obviously one of the refurnished rooms. Two double beds, new furnishings, flat screen TV, fridge and hospitality tray. Large clean bathroom with walk in shower and bath. We spent most of our stay out and about inCape Town but we used the bar area and had a bar meal. Excellent service, first class meal, and good price. The breakfast had plenty of choice, lots of very pleasant and helpful staff. The shuttle bus to the waterfront was always busy but as a free service to guests and a pleasant service, w weren't in a rush and it was really in expensive to use a taxi if needed.. Southern Star met all our needs for this short stay in Cape Town and we would stay there again. Loved Cape Town, stunning views from Table Mountain. Best deal of all is the hop on hop off bus....its a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churchmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay with us

Regrettably we were never advised of the early arrival of the group arriving off the Queen Mary and as we were fully booked on the prvious night, the rooms had to first get vacated and cleaned ahead of them being allocated to you.

However, we are really pleased that despite this , you seemed to enjoy our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great comfoprtable hotel with wonderful facilities. However wifi quality was extremely bad, often lagging and taking long for sites to lag. Housekeeping did not replenish supplies like soap , hair shampoo daily (why not?). The shuttle service to the waterfront is a disaster! Why should I have to pay R40 per person when the driver takes and extra long route plus it is so near to the waterfront! This is hardly considered a nominal fee, especially if you can walk to the destination, plus the driver didnt want to give receipts every time. I also didn't get a refund since I did not return with the taxi from the waterfront. My company also doesnt want to pay for the receipt since it doesnt say " southern sun" it says Elios Travel! My frequent guest details was picked up but had not been credited to my account (I had to make a separate request) This is a very good hotel but its these small things that can be annoying!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank GravityZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us

It is only through comments such as yours , that we are able to ensure that we constantly maintain our goal of providing service excellence to all of our guests

On the positive side , we are pleased that despite these few issues you, nonetheless enjoyed your stay with us

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

now its a one fifteen and I'm seating in my hotel room in a big surprise.
1) first day reception guys unfriendly at all! came at 2:30 only to be told the room was not ready and seriously don't be fooled by my English accent i can hear you when you complain in Xhosa!!!!!

2)Got a chilling welcome from the reception guard.And i quote " I'm giving you only fifteen minutes to either get out of the reception parking and go to the parking or to leave." seriously do you really think i was born with an inbuilt GPS that can sniff out hotel parking spaces?

3) today at 8:45 i hanged the laundry and the clean my room signs, at around 10 some guy came knocking at my door asking if he can see the girl who was cleaning my room. who gave him the right to do so?????? i asked him to send someone for laundry and cleaning and he did not.

4)the room is finally being cleaned at 1:47 pm after screaming and yelling and every body .The bar is not serviced yet. laundry not picked yet.
like seriously???????? THERE IS NO MORE SOAP IN MY ROOM!!!!!!
I'M TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkuremba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed report following your stay with us

At the outset , I would like to apologize for what certainly seemed to be a very troublesome stay

In order for us to investigate all of the issues that you highlighted as a matter of urgency , please could you contact me on Jeff.Rosenberg@tsogosun.com as soon as possible - as we would dearly like to talk to you

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel was very well placed. I travelled for a weekend getaway to show my 4yr old and 7yr old the highlights of Cape Town. The hotel was so friendly and perfect for the kids. The staff were fantastic

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kathleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us

It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to maintain our service levels

We truly appreciate your views and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A great location for businessmen wanting to be based in Cape Town. Easy access to major routes as well as restaurants for that all important business dinner.
Great gym!
Excellent restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner should you wish to dine in.
In conclusion, a great venue and worth visiting!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and I can assure you that we value your positive feedback

Once again thank you so much nd we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, as I always book to stay at this establishment when I have business commitments in Cape Town. The room (allocated to me) and the food (that I had during the stay) exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank SVMthembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your kind feedback following your recent stay

We truly value your comments and can assure you that our team members will be very motivated by your views

Our goal is to constantly improve on our service levels and it is pleasing to note that , in your instance , we are appear to be on the mark

Once again , many thanks and we hope to welcome you back soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice room, very efficient staff, and great location. Stayed there four nights on a five-week, six-country Africa trip. Everything was great, no complaints. Excellent breakfast and a Concierge that could answer all kinds of questions, even the odd-ball questions. A plus was the complimentary shuttle that took hotel guests to the outstanding Waterfront shopping area, which also includes numerous restaurants and an amusement partk. Was there before Christmas in Dec., and the hotel was decorated appropriately. Took tours each day in Cape Town and outside the city--very worthwhile. I will certainly stay there when I return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly value your feedback as we strive to constantly improve on our service levels

Once agin many thanks and we hope to see you soon for another visit

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $165 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing