We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$761
$428
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$671
$648
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$201
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$550
$423
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$155
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,261 results
Traveler rating
995
911
235
75
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
911
235
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge deskbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripeasy accessbusiness hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong streetwaterfrontcticc
Filter
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 2,261 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

A horrid, dirty hotel that would barely pass as 2 star in Europe or the U.S. The carpet is black with filth; hallways and rooms reek with must and smoke; bathrooms lined with mold; furniture worn with age; and the air conditioner did not work. We insisted on another room, which also had an inoperable air conditioner. We were then moved to a sister hotel across the street. For $220 USD a night, this place is laughable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Aussiesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent say with us

We would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory stay and would like to confirm that we are in the middle of a major refurbishment programme and I am sure that you will really enjoy our new look rooms , should you wish to say with us again

However, this in no way takes away from the fact that you experienced unacceptable service levels, which we deeply regret

Once again, please accept our apologies and we hope to welcome you back in the future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for a mid week stay. The staff were very professional and friendly. We enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and the central location. Worthy of a special mention is the excellent buffet breakfasts that we have come to know from Southern Sun hotels. The added premium in their rates are definitely worthwhile considering the location, cleanliness and professional staff. I will use this hotel again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and that our service and staff atttitude was worthy of a social mention

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Good location for exploring Cape Town, helped by the half hourly shuttle to VA Waterfront.

Good check in. Room was newly furnished with two Double beds. Fine for us as only used one but the room might be considered small for a family and certainly too small for four adults. However beds comfy and bedding good quality cotton.

Buffet breakfast was fairly standard offering although plenty of choice. Staff there welcoming and helpful. In fact all staff met demonstrated these attributes, especially at concierge desk.

Overall good value for money and would recommend to anyone on a short stay visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cjwinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront

We truly value all feedback from our guests as this enables us to constantly monitor our service levels

Once again ,many thanks for taking the time to advise us of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards



JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent four nights in the Southern Sun whilst visiting Cape Town.
Comfortable Stay for a change run Hotel Group. Ideal location as a base to explore central Cape Town & the surrounding areas.
Quick & easy checkin with staff friendly & expecting me. All rooms were clean & tidy. Standard Breakfast but plentiful with wide selection.
Yes, plenty more high end Hotels in Cape Town but you get what you pay for. Plus point, great location just a short walk away from the V&A.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BigChris67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience following your recent stay with us

All feedback from our guests is very important to us as we strive to constantly improve on our service levels to take them to the higher possible level

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel more than once and each time I have left with a bigger smile than previously. The check in was quickly sorted and soon I was taken up to my room by a very attentive staff member who held a good sense of conversation and was quickly sharing me tips of how to get around Cape Town. The rooms are tastefully furnished and the bathrooms are of a reasonable size. It is a treat to have a sundowner downstairs at the bar and watch all the guests coming and going. If you fancy a swim, there is a small circular pool for you to jump in. Breakfasts are buffet style and there is the Yizani restaurant for one to eat there as well. The hotel is very centrally located and there is a handy shuttle bus ferrying guests to the nearby Victoria and Albert Waterfront. I would gladly return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for all your comments following your recent stay with us

We certainly appreciate your positive feedback and we will ensure that all staff are advised accordingly

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews