We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and location”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Huge hotel, international standards, clean, elegant and functional - not intimist though. Has a parking lot and is really well located. Great breakfast buffet! But the restaurant at the hotel was not good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatibarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Vakued Guest

We tryout applreciate you taking the tme to send us your comments following your recent stay with us

Feedback from our guests is really important to us and we will ensure that this is shared with our staff at our monthly meetings

Once again , thank you

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    784
    201
    63
    41
See reviews for
477
509
55
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I spent 3 nights here on business but as it happened I ended up with a full day to spare. because this hotel is so well located it was easy to take in the sights of cape Town. Opposite the Cape town International Convention Centre and 200m from the Waterfront development this hotel is ideally located.
It is clean and comfortable, the rooms aren't very spacious but ample. I was by myself but they'd be fine for a couple. The Fireman's Arms (pub) is a short 150m walk and I felt quite safe walking that distance.
I took the hop-on-off red bus which took in District 6 and Table Mountain and would thoroughly recomend this. Its not expensive and the pre-recorded commentary was informative without being over the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience during your recent stay

We are please that you enjoyed your stay and found our services to your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us , as this enablesmus to continuously improve on pur service levels

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we booked a package tour of Cape Town which included this hotel in the package. We had read the reviews and were quite comfortable going to this particular hotel. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised by our accomodation.. The hotel is very nicely appointed, clean with extremely good service from everyone we encountered. The rooms are spacious enough, the beds extremely comfortable with very nice bedding.
The hotel is located within a short walking distance to the waterfront or you can take a shuttle if you wish. You can catch the hop on bus service just across the street.
The pool area was lovely and quiet and bar service by the pool was very good.
The buffet breakfast was lovely with all kinds of fresh fruit, cereals, meats and omelettes.
I know that there are plenty of hotels to choose from in the area but can not think of any suggestions for improvement.
Our group of 8 had a lovely time there and would recommend staying there anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayle054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your detailed report following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your comments and will ensure that theynarepassedmon to all of our team members for their information, as this will go a long way to ensuring that we maintain ourbservice levels.

Once again thank you and we look forwardbto welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived to a beautiful room with complimentary Champagne from Management. Our trip was very long having come all the way from Ottawa, Canada. \there was Myself, my wife Claudia, my Brother-in-law Don and my sister-in-law Kathy. Our rooms overlooked the waterfront and rooms were obviously newly renovated. Breakfast buffet had a wide variety of foods and a great omelette bar. Our stay couldn,t have been more perfect, Highly recommended from a first time visitor.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms above the 5th. floor apparently not all rooms have been renovated. Also ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your comments and we will ensure that we share this with our team members for their information.

We place a great deal of importance on service excellence and your posting will certainly prove very motivating

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the notmtoo distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Business or Pleasure. The experience is one that is comfortable and relaxing. Well located and easily accesible. Variety of food for breakfast and excellent service. Staff going the extra mile to satisfy guests needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Deepesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us

All of your positive comments are appreciated and we will ensure that our staff are advised accordingly

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights upon our arrival in Cape Town. Great reception and well looked after for all the stay. Rooms well appointed if not enormous. Very helpful in advising and booking trips for us. Good location and shuttle service very useful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for advising us of your expeiences during your recent stay with us

We appreciate that you took the time to advise us of your opinion of our service levels and we loom forward to welcoming you back real soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a very safe and clean hotel. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and booked a trip for us and tickets for the Table Mountain cable car. Our room was a good size and the bathroom had a bath and also a separate shower cubicle but would have liked a shower attachment on the bath for washing hair as I prefer a bath to a shower but it really wasn't too much of a problem for a short stay and were very lucky to have both options. The beds are so comfortable and there is adequate wardrobe and drawer space. The hotel offers a very good free shuttle service every half hour to and from the Waterfront area which was much appreciated. The breakfasts are great with everything you could possibly think of and the quality was excellent. It was lovely to come back to the hotel after an evening at the Waterfront and have a drink in the lounge area at very reasonable prices. If you don't want to go out in the evening the hotel has a very good menu but I can't comment on this as we never used this facility. There is also a very good Italian Restaurant a minute walk from the hotel (turn left out of hotel and just round the corner). I would recommend the hop on hop off city sightseeing bus and the hotel is a couple of minutes walk to the Convention Centre stop No. 3 which we found very convenient but would imagine in busy periods it might be best to go to Stop No.1 at the Waterfront area outside Two Oceans Aquarium. I was pleased I chose this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudiHornchurchEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback following your recent stay with us

All your comments have been noted and we will gladly pass this on to our team members for their information as this will definitely motivate them accordingly

Once again, thank you

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing