We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here as part of honeymoon.
Smart rooms, and very clean.
Breakfast was always great.
Free shuttle bus to the waterfront.
Always love going for a swim - but pool was not great!
Very helpful staff

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy_Boy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback which we will share with our staff accordingly

It is only through guest comments that we are able to constantly review our standards so as to ensure total guest satisfaction.

We place a strong emphasis on training for all of our staff so as to ensure that we stay relevant and up to date with the latest trends

Once again , thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience during your stay with us


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    731
    185
    54
    36
See reviews for
426
477
53
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

They could not do enough for you and even though we had a little incident within the hotel the management dealt with it superbly. The transport to the waterfront was fantastic and so reliable that we used it often. Breakfast and bar meals were fantastic as well as good value for money. Travelling with our three children was made easy by the stay at this hotel. Geoff the general manager deserved a special mention and runs a very professional outfit. We will certainly be returning. Only regret is that we didn't get to use the pool.

Room Tip: Sign up for the loyalty scheme to get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to advise us of your experience at our hotel during your recent stay

Your kind comments will certainly be motivating for all of our staff and we will ensure that we pass on your comments to them

We place a great deal of time on training and it is rewarding to note that this translates into great service experiences for our guests

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit old but adequate.
There are tea/coffee making facilities. However, they only give 2 sachets of coffee and 2 tea bags and 2 little milks so you either have to have in the morning or evening - you can't have twice a day!
It is not right on the Waterfront as the name suggests. It is just outside the main Waterfront area in town. It is within walking distance of the Cape Town ICC.
We were also able to walk around the corner and jump on the City sightseeing bus so the location is really good.
There is a regular shuttle to the V&A Waterfront. It costs R20 each way.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a roomquite far up in order to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recording your comments following your recent stay with us.

All the various points that you mentioned have been noted and we will pass them on to the relevant departments for their information

We have just started with the refurbishment of our rooms and bathrooms and I am sure that you will enjoy the results on your next trip to our hotel

Once again , many thanks for your feedback

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in the Southern Sun Waterfront for 3 nights and 4 days in May 2013. I was on 7th Floor with the view of the water front.

I had requested the hotel well in advance on my requirements but on arrival they denied the same to me, what surprised me they did not oblige me but two of our group members managed to get the same... well it ok but it feels a bit bad the way Manager replied.

The stay was good, the Bed is great, and amenities are ok. House keeping has to be requested few things as they don't place the usual stuff in the toilets. Portions in Room Service were good. Staff is very pleasant to talk to and understanding throughout the hotel except for the front office ( this guys u anyways see when you check in and check out - so expect some sad faces ) who make u feel unwelcomed... I wish they could smile a bit when they talk to guest.

Location wise it is a great choice and walking distance from water front, and other major attractions in CPT.

Overall it was ok stay, it is value for money in a way.... if u r not happy u will not be too bothered either if u ignore few things here and there....

Room Tip: request for a waterfront view, its worth it if u get higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiten_Parrikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views following your recent stay with us.

All of your comments have been noted and will be shared with the relevant departments concerned as this goes a long way into ensuring that we maintain our usual high levels of service excellence

it is only with feedback such as yours that we are able to constantly review and improve on our standards

Once again , thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future.

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The V+A Waterfront Hotel is just great. It is not in the Waterfront however so don't be fooled by the name. The Hotel and it's amenities are very good. The rooms very spacious and comfortable, beds and linen excellent quality. The bathrooms spotless and lovely big fluffly white towels. We were given a room with a fantastic view of the Waterfront. Our room rate excluded breakfast which was a pity as the breakfast was very expensive at R 170 pp. I would suggest it is just always included in the rate. The only downside was that the pool pump is very noisy but the pool and the pool area very inviting. The staff were all excellent, from the greeting to the reception, the bar and the lift staff. Very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Waterfront are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly value you taking the time to record your experience at our hotel and we will pass your comments on to our staff for their information.

Feedback such as yours always motivates our staff and we thank you for sharing this with us

Warm regards



JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 3 nights, rooms were very clean and tidy, hotel staff really friendly and offer to take your bags to your room! Rooms were cleaned daily when we were there with fresh towels. Breakfast was fantastic, buffet style, everything you could want for breakfast- they have! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town and wanting a great value hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAUREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to advise us of your experience during your recent stay withh us.

It is always pleasing to receive feedback such as yours as this confirms that all the various training interventions that are in place are, are proving worthwhile

We will certainly ensure that all staff are advised of your comments , which will be very motivating

Once again thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sum Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

our 4 nights' stay in this hotel was a pleasant experience. The rooms are maintained well with clean comfortable beds and impeccably neat bathrooms . What we enjoyed most was the friendly services rendered by the front office staff and the concierge. Food was excellent, so was the service at the restaurant and room service. Another useful feature was the regular , half hourly free shuttle services to the waterfront.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front give one a fantastic sight of the nightlights at the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly value your comments and will ensure thatbthey are passed on to thebrelevant team members concerned for their information , as they will definitely be motivated to learn that you enjoyed your stay wit us.

It was a pleasure having you sample our hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing