We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to action”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The good thing about this hotel is that it is close enough to the V&A Waterfront, where there is so much to do and see. The hotel has a shuttle service that is very efficient and reliable, always on time. The hotel itself is average. The rooms are a little worn out, but are spacious enough. The food is also good, but not excellent (although breakfast wasn't bad at all).

Room Tip: Get a room with the view to the Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldeavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

It is only with comments such as yours , that we are able to ensure that we continuously improve on our service levels. We will certainly ensure that your experience will be discussed with the relevant staff accordingly

We have pleasure in advising that we are about to embark on a project to refurbish all of our rooms and I am sure that you will enjoy our " new " rooms on your next visit

Once again , thank you for your comments


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    778
    195
    61
    39
See reviews for
464
504
53
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel was fine. I would say very average. It isn't on the waterfront but easy enough to get to with a shuttle. Staff were friendly. On the whole, it was fine. Internet is ridiculous though. Not only is it expensive, you also have to buy it via a voucher or credit card (what is this the 1990's?), you can't buy for a full day and even worse, once you've gone through this palaver, you can't log on two devices with the password, necessitating a second internet voucher to connect ipad and laptop (what is this the 1990s). Given that this is ostensibly a business hotel, I really think they need to try be a little more competitive with the rest of the world. Otherwise, it was just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank for posting your comments following your recent stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront

All of your feedback has been noted and we are pleaded to advise that we will shortly be changing the Internet policy to make this more user friendly.

All of your comments are important to us and we thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience with us

Once again many thanks


Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the V & A Waterfront and also the downtown area. It was not recommended to walk about alone at night but easy enough to get a taxi back. Compared to the well-known international hotel nearby where my friends were staying, this hotel is more African and interesting. All the staff were locals and very friendly. The restaurant is particularly good, great food, generous glasses of excellent SA wine. The buffet at R250 is excellent.
Only slight negatives were that the room smelled of smoke, even though it was a non smoking room. Perhaps it used to be a smoking room? Also, check your bill for mysterious dissappearing drinks from the mini-bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience following your recent stay with us

We really appreciate the feedback, as this provides us with the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings and to enhance our service delivery

All your comments will be passed on to the respective staff for their information

Once again, many thanks

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel with friendly staff. A home away from home. Will definitely be visiting again. Breakfasts were delicious and room service menu great for the nights you want to take things easy. Centrally situated with easy access to all parts of Cape Town with the beautiful waterfront writhing walking distance

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us

We really appreciate your feedback and will make sure that we pass this on to our staff for their information, as they will be truly motivated by your remarks

It is only by constructive feedback such as yours, that we are able to continue on our journey to offering continued service excellence

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, just 5 mins walk to the waterfront and 15 mins drive to the table mountain.
The hotel, is clean and well maintained.
Found the staff at the reception not very friendly type... not very welcoming but they do what they are supposed to do .
Hotel rooms are somewhat small but clean and so are the bathrooms. Sufficient toiletries are provided.
Wifi is not free and one needs to pay about SA Rand 10 for a 24 hour limited usage.

Food is good. Morning you would be welcomed with a hugh spread of buffet breakfast. Also the menu is hugh and mouth watering.

Overall, a decent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_diary_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to advise us of your experience following your recent stay with us.

All of your comments will be passed on to the staff concerned so we can ensure that we continue to provide the service excellence that we strive for.

Once again , thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed several times at this excellent hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast choice is huge, the best we have ever experienced in any hotel. The food areas are spotlessly clean and are topped up very quickly. During the last 2 years we have had the pleasure of being served by Patience, indeed she recognized us from the year before. She is a credit to the hotel. We ordered toasted sandwiches by the pool several times, which were served with white linen serviettes, lovely chips all covered by a silver dome. The hotel run a mini bus service every half hour down to the Waterfront which is brilliant. Only downside is the rooms with very little hanging space or drawer space. We understand the rooms are all being refurbished this year and this will be rectified. On the plus side the beds are extremely comfortable. We will definitely use this hotel again when we return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: ask for room with two double beds in you get more hanging space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experiences during your recent stay with us

It is very pleasing to note that all of our staff took great care of you , with special reference to Patience and we will make sure that they are advised of your comments.

We will certainly be refurbising all of our rooms and I am sure that you will be very pleased with the result on your next visit.

Once again , thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenasia, South Africa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Check in was handled quickly. We booked two family rooms. Apparently they were full so the two rooms were on different floors. On first impression as you enter the rooms, they are small. The cupboard space is also limited. The bathrooms are also small and when you step into the shower, it's fairly restricted. Having said that, the basics are all covered. I expected better because I stayed at the lower branded Garden Court at Newlands Southern Sun and Southern Sun Mandela boulervard which wasn't much different. Infact, the lower branded hotels seemed to have larger rooms. Breakfast was superb. Very busy, service for tea a bit slow but overall very well organised. The menu seemed to be almost the same everyday. Very impressed that the kitchen uses separate utensils for veg and non veg. Overall a very big hotel and very busy at times. I was very disappointed at the fact that such a hotel was not well organised at the time when they experienced a power cut. We got stuck in the lift and in complete darkness managed to pry open the doors and jump out. We took the stairs down 8 floors. I got a call from my son who was stuck in another lift (luckily they had mobile phone coverage in the lift). I went to the front desk to report that passengers were trapped in one of the lifts and if they could get a hold of anyone to maintain the lift or at least get it opened. They were calling and running around with no luck. Eventually they (in the lift) also managed to slide open the doors and free themselves. When I enquired as to why did they not have anyone on call for such emergencies, the receptionist was mumbling something about the responsible people not answering their intercom. This was unacceptable! Parking was below the hotel and was always available. A huge plus in this hotel is the concierge team. They are very knowledgable about the tourist areas, best ways of getting there and in general are very very organised...hats off to the team! The location of the hotel is superb but you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us

At the outset, please accept my humble apologies for the issues that both yourself as well as your son endured due to the lift getting stuck ! We had conducted a generator test and there was a malfunction when the power came back on rendering the lifts inactive for a period of time.

On a positive note , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities to your liking.

Once again apologies for the problems you experienced with our lifts and we trust that this will not deter you from visiting us again when you next visit Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing