We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personal attention and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Secunda, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent personal attention and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having stayed at a number of other hotels in Cape Town (including other Southern Sun hotels) I must confess that this one is by far my 1st choice! Best service, value for money, location and overall experience is excellent!

Well done Southern Sun Waterfront!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Your comments will be passed on to my team and I know that they will be truly motivated by your kind remarks.

We appreciate the time that you took to advise us of your experience at our hotel as this always assists us in achieving our goal of service excellence

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    731
    185
    54
    36
See reviews for
426
477
53
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work and I was pleased that the location was with in walking distance to so many things. You can easily get to V&A waterfront, Long Street, convention center and the sight seeing bus tour stop. The food service and bar staff are great and super friendly.
Now for the downside...it is definitely a shower shoe bathroom. I found visible mold in many places in the bathroom. I heard similar if not worse situations from my co-workers. Be smart use the safe, a friend of mine had some belongings taken during a room clean.
I think you can find better hotels at a similar price in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazzuangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to send us your comments following your recent stay with us

All of your remarks will be discussed with the staff members concerned as we continue our quest for service excellence.. We have already discussed the cleanliness issue with our service provider so as to rectify any shortcomings.

Once again thank you for your comments and we trust that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the time we arrived 27 dec 2012 rite up untill the time we left 8 jan 2013. Fabulous, keep it up guys. see you in decmber again.

the kids loved the breakfast and the staff. safe to walk to the waterfront and back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursh490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience during your holiday with us in December.

All of your comments will be shared with our staff and I am sure that they will be motivated by your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future

warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thank you to the team at Southern Sun Waterfront who looked after our Sabrina Love Argus cycling team who were here from around the world to participate. Our bicycles were carefully stored in a secure lock up, with the hotel so conveniently around the corner from the start of the Argus Cycle Tour. Everyone was so helpful and took care of every request or need. Rooms were perfect for our stay. Most comfortable beds ever with lovely crisp white linen and choice of down or synthetic pillow. Robes for after bathing or showering, delicious breakfasts, friendly staff, treats on arrival at the hotel which my daughter adored. Could not wish for anything more. Thank you to the great team headed up by Jeff, to the reception, concierge, security, all the waiters and staff. Loved every moment. and look forward to being back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to record your experiences of your recent stay with us.

Your positve comments are most encouraging and we will certainly ensure that all staff are informed of your comments.

The Argus truly provides for a fantastic atmosphere and everyone who is present to experience this, both guests and staff alike really enter into the Spirit of the Event - which we all look forward to each year

We really enjoy hosting the Sabrina Team and we look forward to welcoming you all for the Argus 2014

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Breakfast was top notch, with plenty of friendly staff around. Bar at night was quiet, but once more helpful staff and prices the same as waterfront bars.
Room clean, but not much storage space as there were 3 off us in room.
Shuttle bus to V&A every 1/2 hour, used at night, but can be busy around 9pm when shops close.
Was a 15 min walk to Waterfront, and we felt safe walking down. Hotel had plenty of security around.
Only complaint was the outdoor pool was not heated and was really cold when we were at it.

Room Tip: We were on 11th floor and had a view of Table Mountain, any lower and it would of been a view of a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyrshireMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the frienliness of our staff as we conduct regular and intensive training in order to ensure that we maintain this level of service

In addition , we will shortly be stating a programme to refrubish all of our 546 rooms , which will include the provision of additional storage space for our guests belongings.

Once again that you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel is nice, but the room looks oldie. Needs a refurbishment. Service is awesome and the staffs are so efficient. It is quite close to the waterfront but you still need to take a cab which cost R40 one way. Not the best hotel if you plan to spend much time at the waterfront. The room gives a splendid view on the sea.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for providing valuable feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to advie that we will shortly be undergoing a major refurbishment programme which will cover all of our 546 rooms. This will also include a fridge in each room and many other new features to make your room comfort up to another level.

Your positive comments with regards to our staff will most certainly be passed on to all concerned and we know that they will be very motivated, as a result

Once again , thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront int he not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned home following a six night stay at Southern Sun Waterfront. The welcome was fantastic and genuinely warm. Problems with the in-room safe were sorted within minutes although the rooms will benefit from the proposed refurbishment mentioned in other reviews. Breakfast wonderful - nothing too much trouble for the staff - and the shuttle bus to the V and A a real bonus. Hotel restaurant prices very reasonable and a good choice. Location great for both V and A and the city centre, easy walk to both. It's almost perfect - would love to return when the rooms are upgraded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your comments following your recent stay.

It was a great pleasure hosting you and we are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities , We are delighted to advise that we will be starting the refurbishment of all of our rooms towards the end of April which will include a frifge in all rooms, as well as a great new and fresh feel , which will depict the traditions of the "Bo-Kaap " - which is synonymise with Cape Town.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing