We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$193
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$137
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$138
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$210
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$150
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$722
$676
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$163
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$329
$305
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,235)
Filter reviews
2,235 results
Traveler rating
979
904
233
74
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
904
233
74
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge deskbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripeasy accessbusiness hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong streetwaterfrontcticc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,708 - 1,713 of 2,235 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Disappointed that it wasn't o. The water but they do run a free shuttle back and forth to the waterfront area. Small but adequate exercise facility. Great breakfast buffet that is in lured I. Your room rate, dinner buffet was good too. Rooms are average but have everything g that you will need. Sign up for the frequent guest program and get 2 free hours of wifi a day. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfisher9316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Location is the prime feature. Just minutes from the waterfront and close by the business district. Rooms were good and food was also fine. Service was efficient. A good moderately priced hotel with a first rate location. I would probably choose another property if on vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am pleased that we were able to deliver on your expectations.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a great overall experience! From checking in to settling my account was an absolute pleasure! The staff are friendly and very welcoming! All of the staff members (from the porter to the restaurant manager) were great! I had dinner at the hotel both nights which was also impressive! Then we come to the best part - BREAKFAST - wow! This made my stay! Everything is fresh, well presented and the spread is more than enough to get anyone off on a good start! The executive suite I stayed in was spacious, clean and modern! So in a nutshell, I would definitely recommend this hotel - doesn't matter if you travel on business or leisure! It's a must!

Room Tip: I was on the 14th floor (1431) - great view and all the bells & whistles one needs to be comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff and we will be sure to pass your kind remarks onto our entire team.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and recommending our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this location as part of a party of 6 mid September. The hotel is actually in a very good location around 5 minutes walk / taxi from the actual Waterfront area of Cape Town, the hotel is also located virtually adjacent to the Convention Centre which is a stop for the tourist buses (red and blue line) that are well worth using for any stay in Cape Town as they cover all the main attractions, buy a 2 day pass as you will get good value from this.

The hotel has good facilities, the rooms are spotless and there is a good and reasonably priced bar in the lobby. The food at the hotel deserves a special mention, the breakfast was the best we had during an entire month spent travelling Africa! Unlike most hotels we have stayed at the restaurant is actually very good with a nice atmosphere and very good food (buffet or A la carte). The chef will regularly walk around speaking to you and asking should you want anything special making etc which is a nice touch. Having eaten out at other places in the main 'Waterfront' development area we found the hotel food to actually be of a higher standard and at lower prices.

The only issues we had at the hotel (leak in the bathroom and messages not passsed on via concierage desk) were dealt with speedily by the management and all in all the staff at the hotel were very friendly throughout

Do not worry that this hotel is not actually on the V and A Waterfront the location is perfect for exploring both the Waterfront area and the actual shopping aea and inner Cape Town.

Should we visit Cape Town again I would happily stay at the hotel again and recommend it to friends, should you be visiting anytime soon a few tips would be, in addition to the obvious ones of Table Mountain etc:
+ Visit Camps Bay (On the Blue Line toursit bus), great place for a beer and food with cracking views
+ In the Waterfront area the Alba lounge has a great atmosphere and views of the harbour
+ Go to the monkey / bird sanctuary (on the red line bus) is a suprisingly good little place!

Room Tip: Ask for a Waterfront view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notbutlinsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback regarding your dining experience will be shared amongst all our staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in September 2012.Lovely welcoming staff, the rooms are adequate although not spacious.Excellent for sleeping though with excellent beds and lovely linen and nice pillows.In room amenieties include a kettle and safe but no fridge.Bathroom is nice with a shower and bath but shampoos etc. only for one person.Breakfast if not included is super expensive, but if included, wonderful.All in all worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your overall expectations. The hotel has both room only as well bed and breakfast rates available throughout the year.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews