We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to V&A waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An absolutely great hotel, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet. The bar is a nice hangout for evening hours after returning from the V&A Waterfront which is a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. Close to the touristic heart of Cape Town, this area feels safe to go out in the evening. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvesDB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. One of our unique features for our hotel is certainly our location, which is in easy walking distance to many places of interest and attractions in Cape Town. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff and we will share your experience amongst our team.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,630 - 1,636 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is well located to walk into Cape Town or catch the Red hop on hop off bus and also provides free shuttle service to the V&A waterfront shops. The food is excellent with a full breakfast and an a la carte or buffet dinner. The bar is comfortable and has a nice courtyard view. The rooms are comfortable but are on the smaller side of normal. The only offputting point was there is no bathroom door for privacy - just a curtain between the room and the toilet /shower area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Mountains so you can check out the weather. The waterfront view is not good un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

Regarding the mentioning of a curtain which seperates the room from the bathroom. The hotel has a limited amount of rooms with shower curtains, however all our bathrooms cartainly have a door which seperates the bedroom from the bathroom. We would be happy to communicate further with you so that we can clarify this aspect.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Klaus.Ahlers@tsogosun.com
+27 21 409 4023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My first visit to this hotel. Very central, lovely staff, was very impressed with there service, and very friendly.We were having drinks one night in the lobby area, and my friend forgot her jacket there, as we did not put our drinks bill on our room number, the staff could not contact us. The next morning to our surprise, the jacket was left at reception. Well done, thank you Chris, the barman whom I saw the next day, asked me if we received our jacket. This was really very impressive. Would definetly go back to this hotel. Breakfast was lovely, had dinner one night, with room service and all went well. The hotel shuttle to the waterfront, was rather reasonably cheap, enjoyed making use of that. Would really recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback regarding your overall stay and the way in which your jacket was handled is an encouragement for all the staff. We will ensure to commend the relevant staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times and their best selling point is the location. The lobby is airy and staff are on hand to welcome you with a refreshing cocktail, my favorite is the fresh guava juice.

Rooms are a bit on the smaller side but clean. There's no in-room fridge either.

There's a hotel shuttle to the Waterfront every half hour and they're generally punctual.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

We appreciate your loyal support as a return guest and look forward to welcome you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel most probably around 10 times, and pretty much always with the family.
The rooms are a bit of a tight squeeze for 4 of you, but the rooms are pleasant, albeit small.
In general the location of the hotel is pretty good, and seeing as there is breakfast usually included in the rate, we usually end up getting up late and enjoying breakfast.
Drinking in the bar can be expensive if you drink wine and even the beers aint cheap, but it is a good place to watch some sport.
All in all the hotel is reasonable, and i will be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your loyal support and taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Southern Sun Waterfront Hotel (formally the Holiday Inn) was a large, centrally located city hotel. The hotel was near the convention center and had a number of guests staying there for a major travel convention. This did not effect our stay in any way. Yhe hotel staff were friendly and accomidating. The breakfast buffet (which was included in our rate) was enormous having items to please everyone. The hotel ran a shuttle every 15 minutes to the Cape Town Waterfront, a combination mall and resturant center. We ate there one night at the Greek Fisherman which was very good. We had dinner the first night at the Hotel's dining room. We elected to have the buffet which cost approximately US$ 30 per person and was very good. It was the first hotel buffet that I experienced that had lamb chops on the buffet. The hotel arranged a car service to take us to the airport for our return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback regarding the friendly staff and breakfast and dinner buffet is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The stay itself here was average...My average means; The amount of money you dole out should = room expectations and amenities.... They should be as grand as the price. A gigantic lobby with design elements coloring a heightened sense only to be stuffed in a shoebox with clean albeit wonderfully stitched sheets. This place is all surface sheen. About the only thing to write home about is the breakfast and it will cost extra as well if not on your package. The proximity to the Victoria and Alfred waterfront is an easy walk but according to the lobby staff, walking around Cape Town is dangerous,,, and they will call in the always available cabbie to get you an expensive ticket where your headed. Bringing me to the worst of it; When I arranged for the accommodations from Cape Town Airport I presumed an airport collection or "shuttle" was complimentary...Forget it they won't tell you anything and you will be charged for it, not just by the driver but secondarily and rather slyly by the desk if your not watching. There is a simple shuttle that runs just down the street back and forth to the airport and is absolutely no problem with convenient and inexpensive service. Don't let the desk know your taking it, they will un-motivate you with scare tactics.. The advice they give you is so firmly committed to how dangerous Cape Town is, they will provide transport (independent contractors$$$$) and you will have been gloriously rescued in there eyes,,, You have to ask yourself " If this area is so bad why am I staying in here in your hotel?" Fear has become a part of the culture here, awareness is the key and stay smart about your movements,. An entire economic culture has developed based upon you being scared. Oh yea...the beds though...they were extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: This hotel generates the majority of its revenue from business travelers, its impersonal and overpri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicopernicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

Safety and security is of utmost impertance for our hotel guests. We advise all our hotel guests to rather take transport after hours as a safety precaution when visiting places of interest/restaurants at night time.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,806 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,320 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,002 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $165 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing