We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Waterfront, but near enough to walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not in Waterfront, but near enough to walk”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Taking our two teenage sons for a night in Cape Town we wanted to be convenient to the Waterfront, ideally so we could walk there safely. After checking with our Cape Town friends this hotel got the thumbs up. It is easily reached by car from the airport or roads along the Western Cape. TIP - coming along the N1/N2 follow signs to Waterfront. Near it you come round a corner and see the large cream hotel on the left. Take it easy as the entrance comes up quickly on the left.
We had rooms with views towards the mountain and also of the amazing road to nowhere (the dual carriageway which stops in mid-air) - a popular film location. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not massive, more the size we would expect in a London hotel, not an American one.
Check-in was friendly and efficient as was check-out. The hotel has an underground car park so your car will not bake in the sun, though the porter seemed to suggest they did not offer a parking service. He said he might be able to get someone to park the car, but I did it so never fully tested the option. Didn't take breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment.
Bar at back is quiet but has a nice seating area outside by some water which is sheltered and suitable for smokers and non-.
Walking to the Waterfront was easy and felt safe - a pedestrian bridge and a traffic light crossing. Probably in a couple of minutes, 200m or so, you enter the security of the Waterfront area. Overall it's probably 15 mins walk to the main area of restaurants and shops.
Sons wanted to go to a nearby bar that evening (not in Waterfront) and considered walking but concierge advised a taxi. No problems going there by taxi and there were taxis waiting outside later for the trip home.
TIP for a meal in Waterfront - Belthazar is good. Boasts the largest wine menue b the glass in Africa/ the World. Bit intimidating wine list, but the food's good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall experience in our friendly city of Cape Town.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    784
    201
    63
    41
See reviews for
477
509
55
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After driving 10 hours from Johannesburg by car and after a 1 night stop another 5 hours by Motorbike was the highlight of my Cape Town trip. Arriving in Cape Town as i pictured it since returning after about 20 years was awesome. The hotel stood tall and everything was well delivered to International standards. Centrally situated to the Waterfront Mall and Table Mountain. There were so much tourists that were visiting. Our few days was spent seeing the most important sites of Cape Town as our time was limted.

Room Tip: Excelent views of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we arrived quite late at night so were a bit perturbed to have lots of paper work to fill out, especally when the reservations had been made ages ago. When we arrived at our room, we found them quite small and with no king bed which we had requested. The front desk indicated that our booking did not include this and that there were no other vacancies. So we had little choice but to accept the rooms. the decor was quite dated and the bathrooms needed updating as well. Despite the decor issues, the beds were extremely comfortable, the pillows were great and the windows opened ! the shower had great water pressure although there was very little counter space in the bathroom to put toilletries. Lighting in the room was adequate although we found it strange that there were no electrical outlets in the bathroom so we had to use the hair dryer in the bedroom area. the public rooms ( lobby, bar, dining room and reception desk ) were all quite lovely - it looks as if they have updated all of the public areas and hopefully will be doing the same with the guest suites. Our room stay included breakfast which was terrific - great selection of hot and cold buffet items. the location was great - within walking distance to V & A waterfront although a free shuttle service was available from the hotel. overall , a good hotel even though the bedrooms could be a bit more spacious and updated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery

The hotel is always looking at improving on our facilities and have already upgraded certain public areas over the last 2 years.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed our other hotel facilities, especially our large selection of our breakfast buffet. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The check in process was painfully slow , but that was because I had forgotten the booking letter from my rewards programme! The staff were ver friendly, room service was quick. I found te staff at breakfast to be very friendly. They always asked if we were fine, even the people making the omlettes enquirer if we're enjoying our stay. I would definitely stay here again. I just don't like the fact that there is no mini bar in the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff. Unfortunately we only provide mini bars in our superior room types.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I visited this hotel on a business trip.
the location is perfect: restaurants and shops on the harbour can be reached by 15 minutes walk, cenference centre, hotels, business buildings all in walking distance.
Rooms are well equipped - not too large, but enough for a business visit and certainly for a touristic one, even on a period of a week or so.
Breakfast is excellent.
Hotel staff is helpful and omnipresent.
On the negative side: internet connection in the room is expensive (but works pretty well).
By the way, Cape Town is worth a visit, even if it's on the other side of the world!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliveron your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

hello we stayed at this hotel for five days in Jan it was absolutely fab we were waited on hand and food room service excellent food was fab bar were were friendly pool side attendant were great they came to us very trust worthy as i lost an item and was returned to me by staff
no negative fed back,

Ireland 2012

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank savage50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times on business over the last few months, although generally a good hotel, the standard of service the hotel provides seems to be getting lower. The check in process at the reception painfully slow and that is for me, someone they saw a few weeks ago that knows the process! I'd not read the recent reviews on here, but having done so I have to agree with a number of them.

The hotel IS overpriced for the standard of service, the facilities and the size/quality of the rooms. If I were paying myself I'd feel extremely disappointed.

There ARE hairs to be found in food, this I experienced more than once.

The reception are yet to get my bill correct at the end of what is now 4 individual bookings.

The general attention to detail is the main issue. Beds not being made, food/drinks orders forgotten by staff, cleanliness issues and a general feeling that every guest is just another number.

That the person responding on here to each comment uses the same text or variation of it shows that attention to detail to me.

In all, it is a good hotel, it just lacks that management to ensure that all staff are working their very best to ensure they get the best job done.

I will be requesting my company look at other options for my next booking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.


Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing