We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Jardin d'Ebene feels like a welcoming home. Owner Roland and his staff Christopher and Noah are incredibly nice and attentive, breakfast is lovely, the garden is peaceful and shaded, and the spacious rooms are tastefully decorated. A really nice place in a quiet neighbourhood, short walking distance from restaurants and a nice (longer) walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annagolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely African city retreat. Host very helpful, staff always eager to please. Just needs more light in elephant room & had to ask for in room coffee/tea which still involved waiting for staff at 7:30 to get milk. Maybe electrical is a bit dated?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very nice service, the owner and stuff had been very very friendly. It's really an amazing place in an really good neighbourhood. We would really recommend it to anyone who loves a luxury unique style.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A very well situated guest house just on the outskirts of Capetown below table mountain. The new owners who took over at end of last year are sorting out some minor problems. However, I think if tea and coffee facilities were in the room with small fridge and a door to ensuite - not curtain- these improvements would be much appreciated by guests and perhaps more choice for breakfast then four stars would be appropriate. The staff and owner were very helpful and attentive. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David And Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear David and Anne,

thank you very much for your review! Good that you would like to visit us again, you could then see that we already made some changes...

We have now tea and coffee facilities in the rooms ;-)

For breakfast we serve on our buffet two different choices of fresh bread, croissants, muffins, min. three or four different fresh fruits (depends on season and availability), four different jams, honey, nutella, choice of cold meat and cheeses, 4 different cereals, a choice of three different yoghurts, juice, fresh coffee, a choice of teas and last but not least of course you can choose if you like to have fried, boiled, scrambled, poached eggs or an omelett - if you have any wishes, or you miss your favourite breakfast item, just let us know and we get it for you ;-)

So hopefully next time you will be 100% satisfied as most of our other guests are.

We hope to see you again - all the best,

Roland and the Jardin d'Ebene Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a very nice facility. I learned a lot about Cape Town, SA just from speaking to the owner about 'things around town'. We enjoyed the staff and breakfast daily (fresh and healthy). My hubby and I stayed during Xmas 2013 and it was very peaceful and laid back. I am very happy that we chose this location. We could walk to various places (but chose not to). Noah thank you for booking us a dinner reservation. Do not be alarmed about the water pressure. Because of the climate and location on the mountain, it is low. Not a problem because there are many other amenities that are available. Don't take my word for it....see for yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond Lady R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This great botique hotel is highly recommended for everyone visiting Cape Town. Beautifully decorated rooms, very personal atmosphere and great staff. It is located in a quiet area in the center of CT

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is the place to stay while in Cape Town. Excellent location, i.e. close to lower cableway station (table mountain) and waterfront. Many good restaurants nearby - just ask the owner. Owner and staff most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 21 Warren Street | 8001 Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin d'Ebene is an old Cape Dutch homestead that has been meticulously refurbished and decorated in a refined contemporary African style. It is situated in the heart of the city bowl, right below Table Mountain. All five rooms are all uniquely designed adding flair and character and do have their own luxurious open en-suite bathroom. The tranquil grounds boast a relaxing day-bed nestled in the garden. As well as a plunge pool and sundeck with breathtaking views of Lions Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin D'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing