We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Capetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Solothurn
1 review
“First time in Capetown”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse very much. The house is very charming. The owner helped us out with a lot of good advices. The service was excellent, equally the breakfast. Next time we would choose an other room, ours was a bit too small.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
188
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I recently stayed in this wonderful guest house while in Cape Town for a wedding. I can honestly say the staff at Jardin d'Ebene are some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever encountered. I was completely taken care of the entire week I was there. I stayed in the Zebra room which was lovely, the room and bathroom were very large and everything was very clean. Even with the summer weather I didn't turn the AC on and with the windows open I didn't have any bugs.

I asked to hold a small cocktail reception in the garden and pool area (for 20 people) and it was so unbelievably easy because they handled everything for me. The staff took care of all the ordering, staffed the event and did the complete set-up and tear-down. After the party every attendee said wonderful things about the guesthouse, my room, the staff and the party.

It is quiet but within easy walking distance of plenty of cute bars and restaurants. The owner and staff made my spa reservations and dinner reservations, ironed my clothes upon arrival and accommodated my request for down alternative pillows. They provided plenty of good options for what to do, where to eat and areas to avoid at night. I seriously can not say enough nice things about the people who work at this guesthouse. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Carly,

what a nice review - thank you!!

Whenever you come back to Cape Town, remember us ;-)

Best wishes from you Jardin d'Ebene Team,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettlingen
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 14 nights at the guesthouse and we really loved it! The service is excellent and the atmosphere is so cosy and familiar. The rooms are decorated very lovely and the patio ist just an oasis!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Barbara and Julian,

thank you for your review - was a pleasure having you in our house for two weeks! Many interesting talks and a nice New Years Eve Dinner ;-)

Have a great time and don't wait too long to come back...

See you soon,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderfully decocarated old house with lovely individually furnished rooms.
It's clean, quiet, yet centrally located near Table Mointain.
The area provides excellent infrastructure with lots of different restaurants and shopping opportunities, all within walking distance.
Breakfast is served as buffet, special requests are taken care of by the German speaking owner.
Perfect place to stay for everyone who values individuality and comfort!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you Christian!

We wish you all the best and hope you will come back :-)

Have a great time,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were initially slotted to stay here 4 nights. We liked it so much that we decided to spend another three nights later on in the return part of our trip!

Both the guesthouse and the rooms are quite beautiful. We stayed in the Zebra and the Elephant rooms. Both were quite gorgeous, though each has a unique charm (both have fireplaces!).

Breakfast was solid, good choices with spelt bread, great coffee, etc. There was a small pool (which we didn't use) and a nice verandah to hang out on.

One of the highlights of our stay was the hospitality shown to us by the owner, Roland. Everyday, he asked after us and our plans, and continually provided us with ideas and recommendations, and then checked back in for feedback. He booked us some fabulous restaurants and took care of all the transfers, tours and cabs we wanted. Brutally efficient and just simply excellent.

When we first came to Cape Town, before we came to the Jardin, we stayed in another guesthouse that was ranked very, very high on Tripadvisor. However, we felt that the Jardin was better - this place deserves a lot of recognition.

Thank you, Roland and all, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thousandplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Fahd,

thank you very much for your great review. Was a pleasure having you as our guest!


Hope to see you again soon,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Jardin d'Ebene is a boutique hotel within a lovely safe area of Capetown. We found Noah and Christopher very gracious and helpful with a 'low key' manner. The owner was ( whose name I forgotten, sorry!) had only recently taken over the hotel and has ideas for improvement. He was very helpful in suggesting sightseeing, restaurants etc.
Our travel agent described the Jd'E as 'Simple' this could, in my opinion, be raised to 'Medium' by tea and coffee making facilities in thee rooms or the offer of drinks on return from sightseeing. There is an honesty bar available but being English we missed our refreshing brew.
Altogether we had a lovely comfortable stay at Jardin d'Ebene and would recommend it to oither couples looking for a secluded haven in Capetown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Keith,

thank you for your review and of course for staying with us.

We do not have coffee/tea making facilities in our rooms yet, that will be the next step of improvement for us. All our guests are more than welcome to have a tea, or coffee after coming back from their tours. It's a pleasure for us to serve tea/coffee on the verandah, in the garden, or in the lounge and most of our guest make use of that.

By the way, I would not describe us as a simple guesthouse (as we have 4 stars...), but that is of course a subjective view ;-)

Thank you again and we all wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year!

Best wishes,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a fabulous three nights stay at Jardin at the end of Nov'13. It really is a lovely boutique guesthouse within walking distance of town. Roland, who runs it was very very helpful starting with a personal welcome and orientation to the city and some very valuable recommendations. He went out of his way to help us rent a car. Thank you Roland. Chris and Noah were very friendly and thank you for those sumptuous breakfasts. The rooms are very spacious, beautifully decorated with a designer's touch and gives a sense of space and being in Africa without any cliques. We stayed in two different rooms and our favourite room was the zebra room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank theburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Parvez,

Thank you very much for your review - we would love to have you as our guest again!

All the best to you,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,025 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 21 Warren Street | 8001 Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin d'Ebene is an old Cape Dutch homestead that has been meticulously refurbished and decorated in a refined contemporary African style. It is situated in the heart of the city bowl, right below Table Mountain. All five rooms are all uniquely designed adding flair and character and do have their own luxurious open en-suite bathroom. The tranquil grounds boast a relaxing day-bed nestled in the garden. As well as a plunge pool and sundeck with breathtaking views of Lions Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin D'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing