We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautifully furnished, hugely welcoming. Would recommend to anyone going to Cape Town. So much nicer than any of the hotels we saw. Staff plied us with hot coffee and a warm fire on chilly spring days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CeeJay442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us, always a pleasure to see guests enjoyed their stay
in our guesthouse!

Hope to see you again soon,

all the best for you,

Roland, alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Jardin d'Ebene, and liked it so much that we came back one week later for our last night in Capetown.
Jardin d'Ebene is like a little paradise in the city. You feel like at home when you stay in Jardin d'Ebene: only 5 rooms, with a nice decoration. Guys working there are more than friendly, give you nice advices and are ready to help.
Excellent breakfast (specially the french croissants!) and for those who would like, there is also a little pool to relax after a day in Capetown.
Moreover, the hotel is extremely well situated: just 5 mn driving from Long street, 5 mn from Table Mountain.
You have to stay here without any hesitation!!
Thanks again for that nice place;

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beren83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Berengere & Yann,

merci beaucoup for staying with us and for your review.

Was a real pleasure having you in our guesthouse and we are lucky that you had a great time!
Also great that you enjoyed the recommended trip so much :-)

Hope you will come back to Cape Town and we will then see you again...

Best wishes,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my girlfriend just spent 4 nights in this fabulous place. Perfectly located in the city, walking distance from the center's main roads, but in a really quiet ( not noisy and super save) area.
Rooms and Hotel itself have a great mix of african style, the staff is really nice and helpful in terms of tips and extra cares for the guests.
We strongly recommend this place to any kind of guest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AndreaB978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Andrea and Cecile,

thank you very much for staying with us and for your nice review.
Was a pleasure having you as our guest and the fire is still alive :-)

Have a great time and we hope you will visit us again!

Greetings

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed there twice during our visit to South Africa/Namibia in Sep 2013 and enjoyed it both times very much. The new owners Alexandra and Roland have done their utmost to make our stay a most pleasant one. Their hospitality and helpfulness together with that of the two house keepers Noah and Christopher is exceptional and most recommendable to other travellers! The rooms and lobby are tastefully decorated in African style. For all travellers who seek an authentic and friendly place to stay in Cape town this is the one to go to. It is located in a very nice and safe area of town and many shops and restaurants are in walking distance. Whenever back to South Africa we'd choose it again for staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thorsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Claudia & Thorsten,

thank you very much for staying with us and your review! Was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope you will come back again ;-)

Have a great day and best wishes,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Situated in the tranquile Tamboorskloof and with an amazing room decor! Kloof Street and Long Street with all it's shops and restaurants is in walking distance and very safe.
The owner is very friendly and comes for a chat at breakfast every morning. Same goes for the rest of the staff. The only downside is that our room was directly next to the breakfast/garden area so we would be woken up quite early. And although the breakfast was good we did expect a bit more on offer for a 4* star guesthouse. We sure recommend the place as a base to discover Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Emma W,

thank you very much for your nice review!

My name is Roland and we took the guesthouse over in September 2013. We made some very small changes in the house so far, as we think the design is fantastic and no need to change!

One of the small changes we made is the breakfast - we have now more cereals to choose from, more yoghurt, more cheese and cold meat, different kind of bread every day, bigger range of jams and of course you still can choose how you like to have your eggs...

We hope that we could welcome you again to have your feedback if we improved as well in your eyes ;-)

Thanks again and all the best,

Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

On a 4-day, long weekend in CT, staying at the Jardin was like being at home if home had a gorgeous garden, a luxury bathroom, delicious and healthy breakfasts, ... Great staff, very cozy, perfectly located, an excellent place to stay in CT.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RLP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ulrike's guesthouse is one of the most beautiful places we have been. Her attention to interior design and every detail is incredible. She created a very relaxed atmosphere where you immediately feel at home. Her extensive knowlede about any nature and outside spot to be visited and her restaurant recommendations made it easy navigating through this exciting city. Her team is extremely service oriented and eager to fulfill every wish you have. If it is an extra fruit plate in the morning served at the lovely terrace or reserving picnic at one of the wineyards. They look after you and are extremely nice. We'll be back - definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 21 Warren Street | 8001 Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin d'Ebene is an old Cape Dutch homestead that has been meticulously refurbished and decorated in a refined contemporary African style. It is situated in the heart of the city bowl, right below Table Mountain. All five rooms are all uniquely designed adding flair and character and do have their own luxurious open en-suite bathroom. The tranquil grounds boast a relaxing day-bed nestled in the garden. As well as a plunge pool and sundeck with breathtaking views of Lions Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin D'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing