We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilton Manor Guest House
Ranked #28 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly, helpful staff, beautifully clean, great breakfasts. We were made to feel very welcome and this was our home for a week. An old house with charm which has been superbly renovated. We were well looked after.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    78
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
132
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and loved it. The rooms are spacious and stylish and the breakfast is lovely. The location is central and a 15 min walk from the va waterfront? The staff are charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Wilton Manor for 5 nights end of Feb/early Mar'13 with our 4Y old son. We had a very good time there and were happy with our choice. The staff was very, very nice and helpful. You can definitely bring children there. They have some parrots that walk around the breakfast area and sometimes even speak. Our son liked them a lot and was trying to speak to them...obviously with a German to English language barrier :-)

Room - we stayed in the family room (#9) which theoretically has its own entry from the street but we didn't use it as we preferred walking through the main gate. It has an own terrace with BBQ facilities. This room fits a kingsize bed and a single bed in a kind of "cave" under the bathroom which is on the split-level floor. Especially nice for kids to "hide" there. Room was spacious and clean, beds comfy. The bathroom was kind of open to the bedroom with just a glass-front in between and no door. Didn't bother us. Aircon in the room. As this room has old huge wooden windows and old wooden door which looks nice, it can though be sometimes a bit noisy from cars driving by (but this is a very narrow road so we didn't care) or the other guests going for breakfast. But this is specific to this room. We would still choose this room again!

Breakfast - a good variety on cereals, eggs, fruitsalad, bacon, sausage, savory pancakes, toast, juice, coffee, tee, milk. Staff is very friendly and our son is missing Victoria who was most often serving us breakfast. We could sit outside next to the pool which we liked. Parrots walking by was appreciated by the little one.

Location - located in a quiet, safe and residential area. On-site secure parking available. Just 5-6min drive to V&A Waterfront (could possibly wlak also in c 15min), 8min to downtown, 10min to Table Mountain Cable Car (try to book your tickets at the guesthouse as it safes you the first queue for buying tickets at the cable car station!), 15min to Camps Bay.

Others - the entire guesthouse was nicely decorated and well taken care of. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked the "open honesty bar". In the dining area they have a huge fridge with cold drinks (water, soda, coke, wine, beer, etc) for the guest. You can take your drink from there, mark it on a list (please be honest as you don't have this trust a lot globally) and pay at the end of your stay. Prices were very reasonable. This guesthouse is very child-friendly with a small pool, nice staff, parrots (but a few stairs).

We had a good and relaxing stay, felt safe and well looked after by the team. Many thanks again for the great hospitality and we would come again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our taxi driver had quite some trouble finding this guesthouse - we had to get the map out and then I had to show him how to get there, so if you're arriving from the airport, print a map before you come over here.

This guesthouse us really well presented. The interiors are quite stunning and we felt at home immediately.
The breakfast was very good and we had a full choice of what to order. All the staff were very nice to us and we got a lot of help from them too about where to go in Cape Town and what to see. The guests were also very helpful - thank you to the lady in reception on the first day who told me to go Great White Shark watching. I didn't do it. Far too scary.

However, as a base in Cape Town, this place is really good. You can walk down to the main street of Green Point where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. Feels like a very safe neighbourhood too, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in Wilton Manor for a couple of days for a meeting. I was on my own. The decoration in the house and the rooms is amazing. My room was huge, with a huge bed. my bathroom had a shower, no bathtub but they have rooms with tub. The breakfast is really nice, on the terrasse, you have a buffet with a new south african dish every morning (chili-fish), eggs, cakes and delicious pancakes. You can also have your beakfast in the dining room to chat with other guess. You have a fridge for guests, you can take your bottle and just have to print your room number to pay at the end of the stay. The swimming pool is quite small, just enough to refresh after a warm day in the city. Location is quite well, not so far from the seefront (10min walk), I did jogging several times, and there are some nice bars and restaurant on the main street next to the hotel. You will probably have to take a cab or a car to go to the waterfront (30min walk) or the downtown. The most impressive thing is the kindness of everybody. From the morning to the evening, everybody will try to help : I could not find a cab to go to a party, they found me a friend with a car to bring me there, it was the other side of the town. They arranged all my tours prefectly. The last day, I could go in a room and have a shower before leaving for the airport. The Chef and Nadine especially were really helpful. So I recommand Wilton Manor for all thoses who appreciate an amazing decoration, human warmth and occasions to make acquaintance with other people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marie Josee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was very good at Wilton Manor Guest House: all those who work there are very nice and do all they can for you to feel like at home. The rooms are big and nice, always clean, maybe a bit noisy because the building is an old wooden structure, but for me ok. The breakfast food was always fresh and well done. I also loved its location in the picturesque narrow roads of Green Point. This was my second time, and I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano_Locarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I loved ppl there.they hosted me so nice .I am planning to go again.Location is so great that I was very happy to be in greenpoint and very close to waterfront mall and seapoint ,coast ,table mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Onuryenici81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wilton Lodge Green Point
Wilton Lodge Green Point
#29 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheviot Place Guest House
Cheviot Place Guest House
#30 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Manor Guest House

Property: Wilton Manor Guest House
Address: 15 Croxteth Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilton Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilton Manor shares the Victorian splendour of bygone years, with a wrap-around balcony, high volume pressed ceilings and wooden floors. Twelve double volume rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, have been tastefully restored. Beautiful wooden furniture, spaciousness and the unique Colonial décor (blended with the African feel) create an elegance to be experienced. Crisp white linen and soft white towels make the visitor feel relaxed away from home. Wi-fi has recently been optimised for speed. The tariff includes a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wilton Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Manor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing