We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilton Manor Guest House
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I booked a room at Wilton Manor through Expedia. I did it because of it's location, parking, internet and price as well the pictures showed a beautiful Victorian House. We got to Cape Town very late and we did the check around 11pm. There was only a watchman who told us the hotel was full and our room was 3 blocks away at " Festival Court", at Expedia there was no such indication. He took us to an apartment building in Main st ( 3 blocks away) bars all over the windows and doors with no parking, no internet and no beautiful Victorian House. Nice though. The day after at breakfast, at Wilton Manor, where we were supposed to be, a lovely lady who seemed to be the owner tried to comfort us in our disappointment, but no refund or price break for the lack of accommodation like parking or internet was issued. We stayed because they were really nice but overall because there was a mining conference in Cape Town and all hotels were fully booked. It's not a pleasant surprise when you get to a city you don't know, with hotel reservations and turns out not to be what you booked!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerdieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonPR, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Alice of Wilton Manor would like to apologise to you for the booking error. It was most unfortunate Wilton Manor was full; we gladly would have transferred your booking to the Manor if space allowed. When visiting Cape Town again; please accept a free night”s accommodation at Wilton Manor to make up for the disappointment. We have also taken Festival Court off our booking online system to prevent further such errors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 277 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just returned from five nights (business visit to CT) at the Wilton. My fussy colleague had visited before so my expectations were probably a bit high. There is nothing bad about the place. The owners are friendly enough, the staff are great, the place has a laid back vibe and, probably best of all, you can potter in the little kitchen and make lunch or supper for yourself. However, this is the list of things that I didn't like:
Two of us had rooms in the new building. The wooden floors and staircase were noisy
I could hear the person across the hall snoring at night
The cold water tap produced mainly warm water which is not pleasant to drink
I was alone and didn't have an issue with the lavatory positioned at the edge of the room and looking onto it like a throne. I cannot imagine the horror of a couple in a new relationship arriving to discover the enforced intimacy of basic ablutions
The staff couldn't open the window the first night as it was broken. After that, I was unable to open it as it was too large and heavy and there was no purchase (a magnificent old sash window, but it requires brass 'handles' or something similar to make opening possible for shorter, less strong people like me)
Breakfast is only served from 8am. Although I understand that the staff have to travel to get to the guest house, this did not suit us and we were only able to enjoy one of the five breakfasts that were part of the deal
The parking situation is chaotic although the staff are good about assisting with this and hold places in the street wherever possible
The birds can be considered charming but some might not enjoy feathered friends in close proximity

If you are the laid back sort, this place will probably suit you just fine. If you want something that is charming but sophisticated, this is probably not the place for you. Travelling on business again, I think I'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighbelle-Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltonPR, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

We would like to thank you for your feedback.
We would like to provide the following information. Our long awaited glass screens for the bathrooms in the new wing arrived and have been installed. Our breakfast is served from 7.30 onward; a breakfast package containing snacks is available for guests who inform us that they are leaving early. The Manor house and the new renovated wing, have been restored in keeping with the old turn of the century Victorian style; remember, these buildings date back to the 1890’s....we endeavour to complement this Victorian feel with modern touches ... unfortunately, these character wooden staircases of yesteryear do squeak ... but the rich ambiance the wood creates surpasses the inconvenience ... Regarding the glass window not opening: new window panes were installed in the frames; however, nowadays glass is thicker and heavier, making the original weights installed in the original sash windows insufficient. We continue searching for a solution, which we hope to find soon ... in the meantime, we suggest guests use the air conditioning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the week commencing 23rd January. We loved the character of the place and the friendliness of all the staff - they couldn't do enough for us. We hired a car and had no problems parking outside the guest house, even though it was full on a couple of nights. The 'honesty' fridge system is a great idea, alowing you to sign for anything you take out of the communal fridge and pay for at the end of your stay. Breakfast on the partially covered veranda outside in the morning was very civilised and the breakfast quality and choices available (fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham, pastries, cereals, cooked 'english' breakfast and Victoria's famous pancakes) were very good.
Underneath the breakfast area is the office, which is staffed throughout the day and they are more than happy to help you plan your itinery and make bookings, etc. for you. Vincent was particularly helpful (many thanks!) and was very knowlegeable about the local area. Please try Rhapsody's and/or The Buzbey Grill restaurants for great steaks, both within a short walking distance of Wilton Manor. We found the general location of this hotel great for us - outside of central Capetown, but close to the Waterfront, Green Point, Sea Point and some shops and good restaurants. Overall, we had a great stay and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 7 downstairs at the back of the hotel, which was comfortable and fairly quiet, but has n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed there for a week during New Year's, and loved everythig about it: location, decor, comfort, breakfast, security. The birds and pets are just lovely, and the atmosphere is very charming in general. But the best thing is definetely the staff: even in a five star hotel one wouldn't find a service like this. We felt pampered in every way. Our special thanks to Alice, Nadine, Vincent, Vicki (her pancakes are out of this world, indeed) & the girls for making our holiday a fabulous experience. Super recommend!

Room Tip: We had room number 6; very comfy and with a lovely balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannydanny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This guest house was really comfortable, with a great big couch and cosy dining area, perfect for planning your days in Cape Town or chilling out after excursions. They leave tea, coffee, fruit and crackers out throughout the day and biscuits in your room for when you get the nibbles and there's a well stock bar fridge which operates on a honours system. The rooms are a good size and the beds where super comfy. The location wasn't far from the Waterfront but I would recommend a car or using taxis. There's free parking. Breakfast was included in the rate which made it great value and it really was delicious. The breakfast set up also made it easy to meet other guests. The staff were very friendly and the new puppy was adorable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Staff is very helpful, really friendly. It is comfortable and particularly nicely decorated.
Well situated in green point. Some free parking space we always benefitted from.
Breakfast is also very nice
we stayed there 11 days, only drawback may be that low season was work area everywhere in the neighbourhood........

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

on a recent trip to south africa 4 of us stayed at this beautiful guesthouse for 4 days.The house was spacious , clean and tastefully decorated. the staff were warm and friendly and Victoria was an absolute delight to see each morning and prepared us the biggest feasts for breakfast.Nadia in theoffice was extremely helpful with organising sightseeing and transfers to the airprt. The rooms were clean the beds comfortable and the best part was the ideal location to everything . An easy walk to the Waterfront area, or the beach and we felt safe walking around even at night.Would highly recommend Wilton Manor and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#62 of 156 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
4 On Varneys
#33 of 156 in Cape Town Central
154 reviews
Induna Lodge
#96 of 156 in Cape Town Central
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Manor Guest House

Address: 15 Croxteth Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $112 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilton Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilton Manor shares the Victorian splendour of bygone years, with a wrap-around balcony, high volume pressed ceilings and wooden floors. Twelve double volume rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, have been tastefully restored. Beautiful wooden furniture, spaciousness and the unique Colonial décor (blended with the African feel) create an elegance to be experienced. Crisp white linen and soft white towels make the visitor feel relaxed away from home. Wi-fi has recently been optimised for speed. The tariff includes a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Wilton Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Manor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing