We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party place, average hospitality”

Carnival Court Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnival Court Backpackers
Reviewed April 13, 2013

great location on long street
loud and noisy in the evenings, pick this place if you really wanna party every night
light wasn't working in my single room but was fixed in five minutes
great cafes and restaurants for meals across the street
nothing exceptionally good, nothing exceptionally disappointing.
good value for the price. just stayed a night, can't see myself staying much more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanvirShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I tried to find a reasonably priced double room in a hostel for 4 nights in Cape Town, but unfortunately didn't have much luck. In the end, we decided to 'rough it' on Long Street for 2 nights, and then splurge a little on a nicer room at Bohemian Lofts in Observatory (see separate review) for 2 nights.
We chose Carnival Court as it was one of the only hostels with cheap doubles and availability for our nights. We'd read the reviews, and were a little worried, but at least we had an idea of what we were letting ourselves in for!
On arriving at Carnival Court, we were greeted by Enrico, a super-friendly and super-helpful staff member who checked us in and gave us lots of information about the hostel, the area, and helped us to book our awesome shark diving tour. He even gave us a couple of pairs of earplugs and warned that we would need them - I thought this was a great idea!
Our room on the second floor was a bit shabby and very basic, although the basin in the room was a nice touch, and the shared bathrooms and showers were always spotlessly clean during our stay. A fan in the room would have been nice but you can;t have everything. We overlooked the street so had a great view of the nightlife and party shenanigans happening down Long Street.
The hostel bar was actually one of the quieter bars on Long Street, but being located above an Irish pub on St Patrick's Day meant that the noise on our first night was pretty phenomenal. When the music eventually stopped at about 3.30am, the noise was replaced by loud, drunken voices, and then by the bottle collectors cleaning up the mess. We had to get up at 5am to be picked up for our shark tour anyway, but I'll confess I didn't sleep that much that night! That said, we knew what it would be like, and if you're really that bothered about party noise you have two options: don't stay on Long Street, or if you can't beat em, join em! The next night was a lot quieter and I slept well.
A few people have mentioned that they had items stolen from their rooms. While I sympathise and appreciate that this shouldn't happen, we were strongly encouraged to lock our doors and put our belongings in the safe - we even had to sign an idemnity form that stressed we had been advised this. Yet, I noticed that apart from a few passports, we seemed to be the only people making proper use of it. Why do people not heed advice!? Don't forget, you are in Africa, and Cape Town as a whole is not the safest place in the world so you do need to take whatever precautions you are advised to take. In addition, the problem with a self-confessed 'party hostel' like Carnival Court, is that it tends to attract a lot of drunken idiots, and drunken idiots do idiotic things like let strangers into the hostel, wander into rooms which are not their own, puke in the bathrooms...Actually, we didn't experience any of this during our stay, but you do need to be prepared for it - it's not endemic to Carnival Court.
I've given Carnival Court an 'average' rating; in my experience, there really wasn't anything that wrong with it; it's just 'OK', and you get what you pay for. The staff are a credit to the place and really made the difference for us - if we'd had a less friendly welcome I would have been very tempted to write a more negative review.
The ONLY thing I was a bit concerned about in terms of safety was the ease with which non-guests could access the residential floors. The downstairs gate was secured with a keycode during the day, but at night, when the bar was open, this gate was propped open. If there had been another security gate inside separating the bar area from the rooms, this would not have been such a problem, but actually the only barrier was a flimsy wooden gate that didn't close. Given that the security guard spent a lot of time sitting in the bar area and not watching the comings and goings, this was a bit of a concern.

Room Tip: The hostel is on Long Street - NOWHERE is quiet! Get over it, or don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Clean dormitory, stunning view from terrace.
There is a dance café one floor under the rooms, also many pubs, disco's in the close surroundings around Carnival Court BP!
They do nothing for convenience of guests.
Cleaning personnel are not friendly for guests, because they used showers in the morning, while they are cleaning sanitations...
Every visitor of dance café has a easy access to the rooms despite many warnings to desk personnel...money and music-player stolen!

Room Tip: Take another safer hostel and keep away from Long street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceul_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want to sleep then don't stay here! The noise is unbelievable - music and voices from the bar and the street until 4 in the morning and then the clearing up begins with the sound of glass bottles followed by construction workers and the noise associated with that industry! Make sure you have headphones and your own music to block out the noise. Cleaning staff do their best to keep the place clean but it is time to purchase new bedding. Central for Cape Town and safe parking at the nearby Shell garage. Long Street felt safe and was kept clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is great for partying!!! Directlt on long street and the bar with the balcony are definitely worth going to!!!
But: it wasn't really clean (bathroom, dorm and kitchen) and the security issue mentioned before is definitely not so good...
I actuallt found way better hostels in the same area that were sometimes even cheaper... I won't go there again,mainly because of the security issue!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blablabla1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you stay here don't plan on getting much sleep, once the bar in it shut down, you could still hear the one across the street blaring music till the wee hours. Otherwise the bar was great with a good mix of international and locals. Great for travelers without a car. The place was pretty well kept, minus a few cockroaches in the bathroom

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank littleroosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The first impression was that it was a nice staff and a OK place to stay for two days. But after we had left the hostel we found out someone had stolen money from us. 240 dollars were taken from me and 90 dollars were taken from my friend. We had the room all by ourself, so it must be one from the staff who stole it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Backpackers
#37 of 129 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
704 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 129 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnival Court Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Court Backpackers

Address: 255 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $17 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carnival Court Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnival Court Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing