We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Green Point area”
Review of House on the Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location in Green Point area”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 1 for 6 nights in the bed and breakfast side. This room is downstairs with a common wall with the reception area. It was a very quiet and comfortable room with great free wifi reception. It can get stuffy so use the fan at night. If you leave the French doors open during the night you will wake up to to a cigarette smell from the neighbor smoking at 6 am so keep the door closed. The breakfast is perfect and the service is great! Lots of food, breads, meats, cheese, granola, yogurt, milk and fruit. We absolutely loved this place! The owner arranged for us to be picked up at the airport at 10 pm and for a rental car company to get us the next day as we wanted a car. I loved being able to walk to the V & A Waterfront. This was a perfect place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greifensee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed roughly a week in Cape Town. The B&B is very well-situated close to the Waterfront, Long Street and many other interesting locations. Security in that area is vey good, so if you want to walk a little, that is no problem at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful with booking some tours etc. plus with giving recommendations what to do, where to go etc. There are different types of rooms available, so when you book a room it might help if you check what type of room you are about to book. The booking site we used had a very accurate description of the size of the room, facilities provided etc. Cleanliness, quality of the bed(s) was really excellent. It was really an very good choice we made when opting for "House on the Hill"!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatever007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a great four night stay here. Great Location. Nice Rooms. Friendly and helpful owner. Bed was comfortable, ensuite bathroom was nice. Exactly what you'd expect and want a small guesthouse in Cape Town to be. I'd come back the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Room 7 or 8 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitai_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This year I visited House on the Hill for the third time. It is absolutely an accomodation which I highly recommend to people who want to visit Cape Town. They offer different accomodations such as rooms, guest house and an appartment. Cludi an Deon, the people who run house on the Hill are really nice people. No matter what you want to know or want to be arranged, they wil do. The quality of the accomodations is very good relative to the price you pay for it. House on the Hill is situated in a very nice neighbourhood, so there is absolutely no nuisance. From House on the Hill it is only a 15 minute walk to the famous and popular V&A Waterfront and even the city center is on walking distance (for young people). But taxi's are very cheap, so you can also choose for the easy way :-). And lost but not least, the famous and must visit italian deli Giovannis, Irish pub The Slug and Lettuce and some nice restaurants are literally around the corner. So if you want to go to Cape Town and stay at a good place, just book House on the Hill!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

the house is well situated, near waterfront and very quiet!!!! It's near from Main road with a lot of restaurants. People are nice and they gave us very good advises!!! Our room was beautiful with good bed and facilities (tea, coffee,kettle, fridge...)!!! Francoise et Betty

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This accomodation really does give good value for money. We stayed in the house with the shared kitchen and it did the job well for our 3 night experience of Cape Town. Our room (although not ready on arrival) was cleaned each day and we were provided with a travel cot for our toddler. There is a nice patio at the back and comfortable living space. Kitchen was adequate and other guests never seemed to use it for cooking like we did, so there was never a queue for facilities. It is away from the main road but convenient for getting to all the main attractions. The parking is a big bonus. We felt very safe here.

Room Tip: Room 6 is closest to the kitchen and living space with a window facing the road, it is ideal if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I recently stayed for a week at House on the Hill during my visit to Cape Town. It was a great location near the waterfront, and the house is quite historic and has a lot of charm. The bedrooms are very clean and the staff is really accomodating, and the prices are reasonable--- what more could you want? The staff even went out of their way to help me find an eye doctor. I highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone who wants a clean quiet place to stay located in a convenient area of CT.

Room Tip: The guesthouse I chose had a kitchen for those who wished to make their own meals. All rooms come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tpeace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#69 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingslyn Guesthouse
Kingslyn Guesthouse
#26 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on the Hill

Property: House on the Hill
Address: 5 Norman Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
House On The Hill Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing