We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and well located backpack”
Review of Zebra Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zebra Crossing
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I came here many times, it is a well located, 5 walking minutes to long street and it is a cheap place. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. They will help to you organise your week end and to make it a success. It is the most famous in CT but you are well welcomed compared to the other ones.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I basically signed up for TripAdvisor just to review Zebra Crossing after I stayed there. That should tell you all you need to know about how much I enjoyed my stay here. Susan, and everyone of the workers there, are incredibly polite, helpful, and inviting. They'll help direct you with where you need to go, book whatever you need, and make sure you're taken care of. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and quiet. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is phenomenal. DO NOT miss it!! They have different options for different budgets, and the self catering option is a great way to save. Their communal kitchen is well equipped and a super place to meet the incredible people Zebra Crossing attracts. I have cherished friends from all over the world from various stays here! Helpful, friendly, and interesting staff, too. The lemon trees in front yard and cozy library are icing on the cake...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qtownfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is cool. With a mix of being outdoors with how the place was designed and planned, and with the relaxing living room... It made my stay very comfortable. i loved how the dining area gave me a feeling of eating al fresco minus being by the streets. The staff was very friendly. Backpackers would truly love the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtyAbigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our family of 7 was made to feel at home in great hostel where friendly staff create an excellent atmosphere. Quality of the rooms was very good, bathrooms were clean and the cofffee house is a warm, relaxing & friendly place to start the day. The kids loved it , we felt at home !

Very well located, just a two-minutes walk from Long Street, where you can safely find restaurants, even lat eat night. Will go back !!

Agnès & Géraud & kids

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only planned to stay here for a couple of days and ended up staying for 7, which sort of says it all. Fantastic location as far as we were concerned, and some of the most helpful staff (thank you Susan and Stacey) that we encountered. The place has a nice, relaxed feel to it and runs along very pleasantly. Not a party place, but friendly and easygoing. Great if you're a little bit older perhaps...and like being sociable over a couple of beers without needing to get totally smashed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a lovely friendly hostel in a good location. The rooms are clean (we stayed in a twin room) and the kitchen is also very well maintained. We liked this hostel also as it wasn't full of 18 year old backpackers but instead ages ranged from mid twenties up so you weren't woken at 2am by drunken party goers! The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For a more comfortable stay go for a private room but that's obvious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
696 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
513 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zebra Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra Crossing

Address: 82 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $24 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Zebra Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zebra Crossing Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing