We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Spent 4 nights over Christmas after getting a great deal online. We really enjoyed the quirky design of the lifts and toilets and the overall funky layout. The eighty foot long fish tank in the dining room was amazing. We found the standard of food in the restaurant to be very high and had several exceptional meals there. Staff were helpful throughout our stay especially for tracking our lost luggage with Virgin! Location is good and a 5 min taxi from the Waterfront. Free parking is a bonus. On minus point would be the lack of mini-bar/fridge in the bedroom. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay on a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisburnmorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2011

I loved the funky, edgy decor, the sweets at reception and the friendly staff. I did not like the size of my room. I felt like I had to squeeze past the bed to get to the wardrobe. Luckily I was alone, for 2 people the room would be very cramped.

Though the shower decor was very trendy, I'm not a fan of in-suite showers. Nice patio and bar with expensive drinks. Breakfast is served in a lovely breakfast room, and was above average. The themed smoking area is also very cool. Lots of trendy film production people staying around.

Room service was shoddy, definitely room for improvement here. Though I only ordered a milkshake, and it was late at night it took over 40 minutes to arrive. This was after I called to complain - it seemed like they had forgotten my order.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank MochaChoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Loved this hotel, service is great, decor is amazing. If you need a massage...it's not the best place , it looks good and they are nice but they need more practice. Food at this hotel was very good , bar tender was fun and drinks were good! Decor was fun...elevator looked like a diving cage, velvet curtains with ballroom chandelier or bar table that looked like japanese fish were coming out of it !!!!
WE travelled to and from the hotel by car everyday , and visited most known places, drove to Cape point this has to be seen , take your time and walk the trails , Simon's Town to see the penguins ... so cute, Stellenbocsh, Chapman Peak drive ... amazing views , the V & A Waterfront where all tourists go and of course Table Top mountain is breath taking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberrydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I would like to thank the staff for being so friendly and making my first time at this hotel unforgettable. This is splendid customer service, although to be honest it was a bit too much only cause no other place has given me this. Quite refreshing though.
Pity I never had a chance to have the Ferrero milkshake and brownies.
I shall definately be back. Absolutely 5 stars and not 3...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INSAUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Very friendly, easy going staff, nice breakfast buffett, cool atmosphere. If back in Cape town, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poepinnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Really great food at the Protea Fire & Ice - honestly one of our best meals in Cape Town.

My mum had stayed here a couple of years before and had loved it so we decided to visit for old times sake and were not disappointed.

Great service, great toilets and a memorable experience all round - keep up the good work.

Will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaceoftheRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel is fantastic! Very well located and modern. The rooms are great, the staff is friendly and the milk shakes from the restaurant are increadible! I don't have words to write about this hotel, please stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $105 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing