We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$168
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$115
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$118
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$126
$114
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$740
$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$653
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$190
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$538
$427
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
316
383
179
97
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
383
179
97
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark cagelong streettrendy hoteltable mountainstandard roomthe general managercable carbars and restaurantscamps baykloof streetmilkshakeswaterfrontloftsexecutiverandlaptopct
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

For 200 USD, the standard room was very small, slow check out service, limited care for guests, the bar and room service was extremely slow, the food of mediocre quality. The room is small, poorly furnished, with deficient electric appliances.The hotel attempts to put on a trendy, almost backpackers like style, but fails and provides a backpackers experience at more than 5 times the price. Only the bed was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Vincey P

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of Slow service in the bar area and room service. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your comments have been addressed and action has been taken to rectify future shortcomings.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We look forward to hearing from you soon; we should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Johan Cronjé

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are here with an international business group, and are struggling with every aspect of the place. Extremely loud music upon entering makes it difficult to hear anything related to check-in; feels like a night club throughout. Dark, dark areas are downright dangerous. I nearly fell down the stairs, they are so dark, and the hallways are even worse. Rooms feel like a college dorm, complete with cork board hung with all kinds of papers and junk. Very cramped and crowded. Beds are very comfy, with nice pillows (the only reason I gave them a "Poor" vs "Terrible" rating.) Shower works well, but sink clogged and spigot sprays water all over. Operating the blinds over the built-in desk is a ridiculous, unworkable arrangement. Room key stopped working and when I asked front desk (Colleen) for a new one, she just handed over 2 keys without asking a single question as to my identity or the name on the room - not very reassuring in terms of security! Lots of noise in the hallways late into the night, as this seems to be a party house, complete with continuously loud, thumping music at unreasonable levels. Restaurant has excellent food, but abysmal service - total chaos there, with tons of employees doing nothing but goofing off with each other in very loud voices, ignoring customers and doing their own thing while customers wait, and wait, and wait for basic service. Servers don't have a clue what actual "service" means - they don't seem to get it that they are there to provide you things you can't get up and get yourself, refill glasses, ask if you need anything else, etc. Bar service just as bad. Where is the management?? Our first business meeting here today was chaotic due to nothing being ready as requested in the meeting room, then the pre-ordered lunch situation put us over the edge with the complete lack of organization of the entire event. NO ONE could give us a straight answer as to when we would get our food, and they all kept telling us "5 minutes," without actually knowing the truth. Lots of expensive professionals sitting around burning precious time waiting for a hamburger. If there were any other options available in the city we would have checked out already, but we're stuck here. Very hard to believe this is going to be a Marriott property - good luck, Marriott, you're going to have to do some major work on this place, and clean house to get the management and staff in line with Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Might want to look at the room before you book it - you may find yourself as we did, VERY unhappy with the room you get. We moved to a different room as soon as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickedWitch1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear WickedWitch1999

I refer to your recent comment posted on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the management and STAFF at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, I would like to sincerely apologise for your unacceptable service experience.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

I wish to confirm that I have personally followed up on your comments and rectified the shortcomings in our service that you have brought to our attention.
Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.

I can assure you, should you find an opportunity to travel back to South Africa, that you will receive our very best care and attention. Your interest and concern are truly invaluable to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@fireandicehotel.com should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

Yours sincerely

Johan Cronjé,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Good basic accomodation in a beautiful city. Close to popular night spots. Room and passages a little dingy with limited views. Has gym and pool, bar and good breakfast in a room with a massive fish tank.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank CeciliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This review is based on drinks at the bar only as I have not stayed at the hotel. The bar area is very chic and modern. The service is quite good although my only complaint is that the drinks are a bit pricey. What makes this place particularly interesting is the decor in the smoking room (affectionately called the coughin room) and when you're inside you can't help but laugh at the cleaver decor. Don't forget to look up at the ceiling! The bathrooms are also a total show stopper as each is themed - love stage fright as well as temptations! Don't forget to look under the towel in temptations! Lastly don't miss a trip in the elevators where one is decorated as a shark cage and the other as a cable car on its way up Table Mountain!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ailalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Ailalay

Thank you for your most recent TripAdvisor comment. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are glad that you enjoyed your drinks experience at the hotel. A unique and different experience is what we strive to create for every GUEST.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be visiting our bar in the not too distant future. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Johan Cronjé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms, they also do really amazing milkshakes, and the first one was complimentary! The room had a direct view of table mountain, which was great to look at on a sunny day. I was welcomed with a choice of either fresh juice or a glass of bubbly, which was very pleasant. The hotel was a 50-70 Rand cab drive away from the V and A waterfront though, which can get expensive. It is about a 15-20 minute walk. However the hotel was so close to Long street, and the SA museum - so it was great to go to local shops, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Rogla27

Your title certainly brings a smile to my face and makes me proud of our hotel.

We aim to provide the best GUEST service and this can only be made possible by the STAFF. Their friendly attitude and hard work is commendable and I will congratulate them for this.

The hotel has become synonymous with gourmet milkshakes and a visit to our hotel is not complete without sampling at least one.

Having Table Mountain as a backdrop to the hotel is a great reminder of the beautiful city that Cape Town has become known for and even though the V&A Waterfront is a short taxi ride away, there are many attractions nearby the hotel.

Please be sure to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews