We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sweet Orange Guest House
Ranked #55 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overnight for shopping”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent location, close to main city, in fact you can just use a taxi! Rooms were tastefully decorated and houses were very private. Staff gives attention to finest detail. Breakfast was exquisite and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornecoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Cornecoetzee,

We appreciate you review and hopefully we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again, when you visit Cape Town again.

Kind regards,
Bridget and the entire team of
Sweet Orange Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
90
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasdale
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sorry, I wrote a review already to Booking.com, should have done it only to you: It was wonderful to stay there, everything was good. But would have liked to have a little chair in the bathroom to put cloth etc on while showering.
The decor was nice, breakfast fantastic, was not hungry for the whole day afterwards, the staff was friendly and accommodating to our wishes. Thank you very much, Gerlinde Seuring

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerlinde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We would like to Thank Gerlinde S for her valuable time to place two reviews for Sweet Orange Guesthouse, one on Booking.com as well as on Tripadvisor. Thank you as well for the comment that you missed a chair in the bathroom, we already took action and placed chairs into our bathrooms were the space it allowed.

Bridget for the
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sweet Orange was a perfect place to stay for our family ( with a 9year old daughter). The place is quaint, comfortable, helpful friendly staff who went out of their way to get us a taxi to the airport when ours didn't show up. Great location, walking distance to lots of restaurants and the breakfasts were sublime! I will recommend and if ever in Cape Town again will stay there.
Thanx Sarah Alex and Ava

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi SAA1111, many thanks for your review as well as we want to Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse. It is very valuable for us. We are happy to hear, that you arrived at the airport on time with your family. We looking forward to welcoming you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Bridget for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great stay here, extremely comfortable bed, lovely room, superb breakfast, great location. But it's noisy - you hear the staff arrive at 5am and move around, can't be helped, old floorboards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rylandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We Thank the TripAdvisorMember for their review and open critics. Our Sweet Orange Guesthouse was built over 100 years ago and we still feature the original wooden floors, doors & windows. Therefore it is true that some movements sneak through. We apologize for the disturbance of the staff members, which start in the morning at 07h00 and they should enter the house from the site entrance. Obviously the staff is not following constantly the instructions. We will take immediately action and we Thank you again for mentioning this issue.

Kind regards,
Therry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved to stay in the Sweet Orange Guesthouse. It felt like home from the beginning on.
The rooms are nice, big and clean. The staff was very friendly as it was helping us with some tourbookings etc.
Additionally it's very well situated, as the waterfront and the civic center are only 10 minutes drive away.
Would love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy25_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Agent / Intership at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Lizzy25_13,

Your review is valuable for us and we are so happy to hear that you felt comfortable and like being home at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. Should you come back you really should do the Shark Cage Diving!

Kind regards,
Benoit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at another of the guest houses which was a bit better
Nice touches but it really is a chain of B&Bs
Very loud in the mornings and you can hear your neighbors (which we did very clearly at 4pm in the afternoon)
Location good
Breakfast good
Nice shower

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear GregAndrew,

We Thank you again for taking the time and post your review on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that some neighbours are reckless and we apologize for their behavior, we will definitely speak to them.

Kind regards,
Maggie & Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very comfortable and large room with a great shower! We liked it a lot! Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The only problem was that we didn´t have wifi at our room because it was in another building next to the main one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We Thank you Cristina L for our comment and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your comment to our staff members!

Kind regards,
Therry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#62 of 109 in Cape Town Central
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#133 of 203 in Cape Town
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#50 of 155 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#74 of 155 in Cape Town Central
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#85 of 155 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Property: Sweet Orange Guest House
Address: No. 1 Bellevue Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing