We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$186
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$155
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$761
$428
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$671
$648
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$550
$423
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveler rating
571
385
88
40
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
385
88
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetwashing machinefull kitchentwo bedroom apartmenthotel spatable mountaingreenmarket squarefood lovers marketcompany gardensper daycentral locationrooftop poolself cateringtaj hotelgreen market squarehome away from homethe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in an apartment in this Aparthotel over Christmas 2011. I found the apartment to be of good size and got a reasonable discount of the published rate. The only disappointment was the pool area which was not serviced except by phone. There were no cushions for the sunbeds and no bathing towels supplied. Surely a serviced pool would pay for itself. The retail area downstairs could do with a bar.

Room Tip: Call local management to get the best deal. Get an aparment facing the pedestrian street adjoining.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sailor_30041962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Sailor_30041962

We appreciate your comments on tripadvisor regarding our hotel and thank you for noting out areas that required improvement.

Christmas was an exciting time and excessively hot, so i do understand your frustration in regards to the pool area not living up to your expectations.
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that was caused and hope this was not a huge blunder to your stay and hope you will offer us the opportunity to rectify this on your next stay.

On your next stay, i will be looking forward to meeting you on arrival.

Kind Regards

Desmond O'Connor
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

To put it simply - we will go back to this hotel. Fantastic, well established in the heart of CT.
We are a family of 4 and had a most enjoyable stay for a week in a two-bed executive apartment. This apartments has everything from fully fitted kitchen to well equiped lounge, dining and bedrooms. Will go back there...without doubt

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rezab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Rezab

We aknowledge and appreciate your feedback and this has been forwarded to our team members and through your constant feedback and we are able to improve our standards.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Desmond O'Connor
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights during the visit to Cape Town and we enjoyed our stay here. We had a Platinum Suite in the Tower block which comprised of 2 bedrooms, each with own shower, large living and dinning room as well as kitchen/bar which was fully furnished with refrigerator, microwave, washer, crockery, etc. Our balcony overlooked St George's cathredal and it was a great setting.

The location is very central. It is on the corner of Wale and Burg street, next to St. George's mall and the Greenmarket square and across from the Company gardens. Long Street is a hop and skip away. Terrific location to explore central and historic Cape Town.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant Doppio Zero which we highly recommend. Parking is also available in the hotel which was very convenient.

Some of the hotel's policies are a bit quirky -- example one had to go down from our 11th floor to the reception to pick up pool towels (and pay a deposit) and then go back up to the pool on the 8th floor and then back again to return them and back to your room! But besides such an odd irritant, the hotel is superb.

Room Tip: Tower block Suites are great
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L00K-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Look-See

Thank you for visiting us at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa.

I'm very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location as well as the room to be of great convenience to you.
We always try our outmost best to ensure that all guest feel at home away from home.
I have noted your comment regarding our pool towel procedure and we are current in the process of revisiting it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa in the hopefully not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is the classic example of a hotel that fails to deliver the 4 star service expected!

The room we were given was meant to be a junior suite but it was a disaster! We were on the first floor above the restaurant with the bedroom window facing the hotel atrium, which was noisy all times and there was no way you could open the blinds without the entire hotel seeing into your bedroom; the living area was above the restaurant, always noisy and smelly with a 'wonderful view' of a noisy side street.
The service was awful! The bedsheets had old, dried chewing gum on them and when I called housekeeping they've pun a clean sheet on, which was also stained. We've had an issue with the safe and it took some 4 people to come by until it got sorted.
In all correspondence with the hotel we weren't told once that this was a self catering accommodation, So we had 2 bags of tea for the whole 4 nights we stayed. We were also charged for parking per night and the broadband was chargeable as well (at pricey rates too) - this wasn't mentioned by the hotel either.
The only upside to this hotel was it's central location in the City Bowl.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floors as it can be quiet noisy. Also, try and get a room away from the main atrium of the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaFleseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear DanaFleseru,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. By means of this response please accept my introduction as the GM of the Hotel. I have read your comments about the poor service levels and the overall appearance of the Hotel and I must admit it saddened me.

Please be assured that it is not the standard in which we pride ourselves, and I am sure what you have been accustomed to during your many travels. Your comments have therefore been distributed to the entire team here and will be addressed accordingly and measures are being put into place to ensure that we lift the bar once more.

We are constantly aiming to ensure that our guests experience the very finest service and standards at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa, and with this in mind please accept our sincere apologies for the horrendous experience you had whilst here.

It is evident from the many reviews on Tripadvisor that we get it right most of the time but this was not so during your visit.

We trust that this has not detracted from your South African experience and that you will visit our beautiful country again.

Kind regards

Desmond O’Connor
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We really liked the place. We were 2 couples in different types of rooms (number starting with W and F) and both of them were spacious with kitchenettes. It also had a washer and dryer which we didn't use. Big refrigerator with enough pots/pans/glasses of all kinds/spatulas/silver/etc.

The thing we loved the most though was the service and it's location. It's right next to Long street which has a good amount of activity at night with nice bars/pubs. It's only second to Camps Bay in that area. It's also a stone throw away from Green Market square which is worth a stroll around lunch. The hotel is itself very safe and the staff very accommodating.

The only downside was the R55/night parking in the garage - don't know if it's common in the area.

I would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear Live_It_Ez,

Thank you for the great review as posted on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to have read that you enjoyed your stay and that the Hotel lived up to your expectations. Parking in the CBD is regrettable very scare as is the case in most world cities. To add to this the parking attached to the Hotel is not part of the business unit, hence the charge.

Wishing you all the best for 2012.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews