We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe, stylish place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #95 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A safe, stylish place to stay in Cape Town”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of girlfriends for nearly a week. The rooms are nice and clean, the decor is very stylish. Breakfast is excellent and the service was really nice. It's in a quiet residential area (Gardens), and I felt completely safe the whole time. It's close to Kloof street that has great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
29
87
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for the Two Oceans marathon and it was wonderful with a large, cozy tub to soak in after the race! There were four of us traveling together and in the side house, there were three rooms attached via a living area, which was quite nice as you could hang in the living area and catch up.

They also had a "help yourself" kitchen to make teas, grab snacks, etc. Service was nice - they weren't hovering over you and you didn't really notice them around.

Room were quite spacious and had your own garden area attached as well, but we didn't have the chance to use it. The rooms were also well appointed and nice fluffy duvet for the bed.

It may be a bit hard to find the first time you get there if you drive - and the streets are quite narrow - so if you are American, be careful you don't accidentally sideswipe a car trying to drive down the small street!

Felt quite safe and they had a secure door which was locked to get into the entrance.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdchick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Dunkley house the night of 31 December 2011 and left the 1st of January 2012 with a very satisfied feeling.

Dunkley house is located within walking distance from long street and a small deli (spar) is only a 2 minute walk. It was quite easy to find the place. There was no guarded parking but there were cameras and other security measures, besides the area was quite safe we did not feel threatened there in any way

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bathrooms were not that special but everything was in working condition. The beds were very comfortable and assured us a good night's rest.

However what amazed us most was the staff. They were really helpful and friendly and also took the time to have a chat with us. We really enjoyed this and they made us feel right at home. They arranged a very friendly and reliable taxi driver for us to bring us to the Kirstenbosch new years concert (and back) for a very fair price. On top of that we could also borrow champagne glasses and a nice warm blanket for us all to sit on, excellent service!

The breakfast was very varied and tasted very well, the lady serving the breakfast was really friendly and they made it a pleasant start of the year for us.

Dunkley house is place we can recommend without any hesitation to anyone.The atmosphere is perfect and the rooms are nice as well.

Room Tip: We saw a really nice suite with private swimming pool it looked absolutely amazing, try to get this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts are good. We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely room - Bay 4 but it needs some attention. Here are some examples; the bath doesn't drain properly, the concertina door mechanism is held together with yellow masking tape, sliding doors in cupboards come off the rails periodically, the toilet didn't flush properly, my pillow-case had stains on it and some towels appeared grey in colour rather than white.

Another big concern was that there was no lighting on in the street at night which us feel very vulnerable when returning to the B&B at night. Parking is on the street which is a nuisance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Very nice premises located in a quiet residential area; walking distance to restaurants and into town. Very comfortable, stylish rooms; delicious breakfast, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The Suite is wheelchairfriendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelguy0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed there 4 nights in November 2011. Nice room, great breackfasts, helpful staff and a few steps from the city center.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice residence located at a quiet residential street, but near enough to walk into town and places like the Company Gardens, Long Street, etc.

Go for the largest room - Bay 4, and you will never get it wrong. This is where the 'luxury' comes into the picture: private plunge pool (though this wasn't working properly when we arrived) huge room with equally huge bathroom with a private spa bath. There is a sitting area and small pantry area with a coffee machine just next to the room, and although this is a common sharing area, there were no other guests so we practically had the whole place to ourselves. There is a good selection of wines from the honestry bar, not highly priced, should you just feel like having your own bottle of wine.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, serving us some coffee, biscuits and fruit while we were waiting to check into our rooms. Breakfast is served near the main pool - not sumptuos but adequate; the cooked breakfast is good as they have a great cook. There is wi-fi in the room, and even at the breakfast place.

Although the residence is just next to the road, you could sit out at the pool deck and have your drinks in a breezy atmosphere. Nearby, there is a nice Greek restaurant (Maria's Greek Restaurant) within walking distance which serves absolutely lovely creamy mussels in white wine at a reasonable price.

Parking may be a little problem here as the roads are narrow, and there may not be enough spaces, but we did manage to find a spot on the days we were staying there.

We would stay there again if we visit Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Book Bay 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#97 of 155 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#21 of 155 in Cape Town Central
378 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 155 in Cape Town Central
457 reviews
City Bowl
Gap Lodge
Gap Lodge
#67 of 155 in Cape Town Central
65 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#62 of 155 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Property: Dunkley House
Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing