We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunkley House - Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #97 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed in Dunkley for four nights in April. The first think that struck me was how friendly the staff are. They are so helpful and couldn't do enough to help me with restaurant recommendations and tour bookings.

The accommodation itself is very comfortable and spacious. There is a small swimming pool and courtyard which is nice for relaxing in. The breakfast is really terrific and there is a great choice.

The location is good, near the Company Gardens. Although it is fine to walk around there during the day, a taxi is recommended at night.

All in all, a really comfortable and homely place to stay while enjoying the wonders of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danrobbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Dunkley House a few weeks ago, and wish we could have stayed longer. The accomodations and decor were fantastic, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the staff was super accomodating. Previous reviews had expressed concern about the location - however, I found the location of Dunkley House to be perfect. You're a short walk to Long Street and Greenmarket via the Company Gardens, and a short cab ride to everywhere else. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Loved the bathroom in Bay 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinManz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

wonderful converted old colonial mansion. friendly staff. great rooms. very close to city centre and amneties. some rooms are more like suites but still very decently priced.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had our third wonderful stay at Dunkley this year and it was as good as ever. We had the same room as we have had before - the Aqua Room which is in the old part but we love the feel of being in the centre of things going on. The staff are wonderful and so friendly and helpfull and the breakfasts are to die for. Thank you Dunkley - we shall be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

we really enjoyed our two day stay here in december and would have liked to stay longer. with very nice spacious and chic modern rooms it was a very relaxing stay while the hotel staff were attentive and very friendly and atmosphere very relaxed and homely. The breakfasts were amazing and for the price of the room I would recommend this place to everyone. We will be staying there again next time were in cape town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddysinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I first visited Dunkley House 8 years ago, a random recommendation from a travel agency in Cape Town who said, "you really must stay here, it's stunning." Following that first visit, I could not disagree - and so this June marked my 10th visit to Dunkley House.

I think of myself as a discerning (fussy!) traveller who has been fortunate enough to stay in some of the world's best hotels. I am not easily impressed. Yet I am always impressed by Dunkley House.

The rooms in the older part of the house are less polished (and far less designery) than Bays 3, 4, 5 and 6 in the newer wing, but all the rooms - even the smallest - are excellently appointed, with superb linens, thoughtful touches (flowers, biscuits, cool things to read) and squeaky-clean bathrooms. Bay 2, the first room I ever stayed in, opens directly onto the pool deck and is an old-fashioned, stately chamber of very pleasing proportions (no shower, though - so don't stay in this one if you want a shower). The Suite, where bedroom and bathroom combine in a rather daring piece of design, is not to everyone's taste, but many a great honeymoon has been enjoyed here apparently!!

The new rooms are wonderful. Huge free-standing baths, massive showers, double sinks, private decks and patios, the most lovely beds. Two of them have private plunge pools with views towards Table Mountain. How many five-star hotels boast this?

Sharon, the owner, is a very cool with a background in marketing and advertising, and her style, savvy approach and attention to detail is evident everywhere. The staff are long-serving, polite, kind, helpful and professional. Eunice, formerly of the Mount Nelson Hotel, cooks the most marvellous breakfasts to order.

This is my home from home in Cape Town. It is in a great part of town (though quite a trek from the V&A, hence 4 stars) and is consistently excellent. There are many places to stay in the city, but only one Dunkley House.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlotlondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Myself and my partner travelled to South Africa for one month. We spent the first week in Capetown. I was so excited when we arrived at Dunkley House. It was very pretty and quaint. The staff are so lovely and friendly, they basically give you a free run of the place and you feel so comfortable floating around, like you're in your own house. THe pool is small but nice.

We had a problem with our shower on the first night & we were moved and upgraded the next morning, no problems. The house is airy and cool, lovely when the heat gets a bit much. It's a quiet spot, not for people looking for a mad night's craic!!
The breakfasts were delicious, and always served with a smile. there was lots of information available for tourists. It is a bit far away from the waterfront but we got tickets for the open top bus and used that as a taxi. The stop near Dunkley house is the Jewish Museum stop, around the corner.

We ate alot in a lovely Asian Restaurant across the road. Beautiful food, at such inexpensive prices, so filling. There's a handy convenience store at the top of the road also, handy for snacks and provisions. there is on the street parking, but none inside the grounds. We saw nothing dodgy in the week that we stayed there but the high level of security of the houses in the area is disconcerting!

Overall, I really enjoyed our stay here, very good value for the money. Location is maybe not the best but it was definitely not a big problem and worth it for the money saving aspect!! For a young couple with no great interest in the nightlife, this spot was ideal. would go back & would recommend it, 100%

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Winchester Mansions
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,156 reviews
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
364 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,437 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $83 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing