We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbouredge Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$139
$130
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$303
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$117
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$195
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$88
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$211
$135
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$246
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$334
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
180
231
95
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
231
95
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machineharbour edgenice apartmentsbedroom apartmentroad noiseunderground parkingself cateringspar supermarketwalking distancemain bedroomplace to sleeplarge balconycape quarterserviced dailyhome from homefull kitchenthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 567 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed for 14 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom. De Waterkant is a great location, close to V&A waterfront and the CBD. Spaciousness of the apartment is perfect for longer stays, comes well equipped with kitchen amenities. The bed was really comfortable which surprised me for a holiday rental, the showers are large and powerful. I had the ensuite with bath tub which was pretty good. Some of the hard ware is wearing slightly but these are privately owned apartment holiday rentals so I expect the rooms vary depending on the owner. Daily housekeeping was good, except on sunday there is none. We had fresh bed linen and towels everyday. The underground parking is very safe and easy to use with elevators direct to your floor. Downsides are: the noise from the road with the balcony doors or windows open. This is to be expected in a city though. The internet is 500mb per voucher which you need to constantly input and receive from reception. ( This is standard from what I have experienced in South Africa ) A bit of a pain. The AC in the living room is built in and works perfectly except it doesn't really reach into the bed rooms and can be hot. The DVD player was pretty old and the surround sound speakers were not very good quality / old. Lots of TV stations and once had an issue the staff immediately fixed it. The staff are very kind and helpful, Warren on reception was so delightful and housekeeping always did their job well and they always responded to my requests when I left notes for them during the day. I never used the pool so I have no comment. A nice stay here, felt more like home than a rental.

Room Tip: I would imagine the Waterfront view is better than the city view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi

Thank you for a fantastic review of your long stay at Harbouredge, we appreciate the reviews that we receive from our guests and we work hard to ensure that you would prefer to stay with us again in Harbouredge or at any of our other self-catering apartments in and around the city.

Again thanks for taking the time to submit this review and we wish you many happy travels.

Till we meet again!

Home from Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! My family and I stayed there a few days ago and in the morning when I woke up my cel phone was not there. They only take one or two things so you dont notice whats missing. There were also a camera Nikon, money, a tablet, which the person did not take! We had locked the entrance door of the apartment and yet they were able to enter which means there is no privacy and safety at al. How can somebody get inside a four star apartment while you are sleeping? The manager just kept on saying that his directors would analyse the issue and give a feedback which never then came. Finally we filed a report against! CRAP CRAP CRAP!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fksjjsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

First, let me take this opportunity to thank you for contacting Home from Home to inform us about the alleged incident of theft on 17/02/14 at Harbouredge apartments.

When cases of alleged theft are presented to us we depend on the guest to report the matter to us to enable the company to follow the necessary investigation and implement corrective measures. This matter was reported to us and we immediately had our Guest Services Manager at Harbouredge to gather information on what transpired and to inform you of the steps the company will take thereafter.

Review of footage at Harbouredge from the morning of the 17/02/13
Along with the Guest Services Manager, we reviewed all footage from the abovementioned dates and could not identify any person , guest, tenant, or security personnel who entered the apartment occupied by you during the hours that you mention that your personal belongings were stolen. This footage was also reviewed with you present.

We could therefore not refund you for your one night stay and purchase a new cell phone for you like you suggested. There was no evidence of theft or anyone having entered the apartment during the hours mentioned to us and as shown by the footage.

We thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is actually an apartment building with a reception desk in the lobby. They rent out owned apartments that are set up for rentals. They are all furnished with nice furnishings, tv, and all of the kitchen supplies you could ever need. We were a large group and had 4 different rooms. They were all furnished differently, but all very nicely. The views from our room were spectacular, overlooking the harbor. You could also see the Albert and Victoria market. There was a large balcony across the front of the unit. The master bedroom was quite nice and had a great ensuite bathroom with large shower. The second bedroom had two twin beds and a bathroom outside the bedroom. It was all quite nice.
Parking is available in the basement and uses a fob to access the underground garage.
The only downside was that the internet required us to put in a new voucher code every hour and you could only get one at a time from the reception. It was annoying.
Since we had cars, we had no problems getting around the city as everything was close. You could walk to the V&A market/mall and to some great restaurant/shops in some converted factory buildings a few blocks away. Try the amazing sushi restaurant a few blocks away. They have good lunch specials.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi Scottino84

Thanks for the time you took to write a comprehensive and excellent review of Harbouredge, we appreciate it and hope that you and the rest of the group will visit us again soon.

Regards

Home from Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January 2014 for five days. We put our valuable items in the hotel safe deposit box as soon as we arrived. The day after, while we were out sightseeing, our safe deposit box was robbed of about 1,000 Euros and 2,000 Rands. The remainder 1,600 rands, an ipod and passports were not taken. We realized that our money was missing the morning after, so we reported the incident to the guest manager straight away. He said he would start an investigation with the police with all hotel staffs who were present on that day. It turned out that they couldn't find out who did this.

Neither the room nor the safe was broken into. Since some hotel staffs have access to the key of the safe box and rooms, there was a good reason to suspect someone who works for the hotel. We were very upset that the hotel did not take any responsibility for this. As most people would do, we kept our valuables in the safe box, trusting the security of the safe box and the hotel we stayed. Moreover, HARBOUREDGE APARTMENT DID NOT BOTHER TO TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY THAT OUR MONEY GOT STOLEN.

Similar theft incidents happened before in this very hotel but the hotel staffs and their managers kept saying to us that this is the first time it happened. We only found out later on Tripadvisor. (There might be more unreported cases).
2009
http://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g312659-d625324-r31030360-Harbouredge_Apartments-Cape_Town_Central_Western_Cape.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT
2012
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g312659-d625324-r146888173-Harbouredge_Apartments-Cape_Town_Central_Western_Cape.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

Apparently there is a pattern; so, be careful and, if possible, avoid going there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank simone p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Simone P

Thank you for your review of your stay at Harbouredge apartments from 17 – 22 January 2014. We are well aware of the incident in question which as you mention was addressed to the Guest Services Manager. As soon as we heard about the incident which was reported to us on Sunday 19 January, the hotel followed the necessary process by starting an investigation on Monday 20 January and we arranged for polygraph testing for early Tuesday 21 January.

As part of our hotel policy if and when a case of alleged theft is reported to us, we first have to conduct an internal investigation and based on the results of that process, the hotel management can act accordingly.

In this particular case on 21 January, twelve (12) staff members including the housekeepers, operations manager and the maintenance team, who were on duty at the hotel during your stay, underwent polygraph testing. The Guest Services Manager informed you about this process and that we will have to wait for the results, which will be made available on Monday 27 January. While we were waiting for the results of the polygraph tests we were informed that you had decided, on your way to the airport, to report the matter to the Cape Town Tourism body on 22 January.

Based on the results of the polygraph tests conducted by an independent company, and not our own assessment, none of the staff members who were on duty during your stay failed the test. As a hotel and an employer, we cannot “suspect someone who works for the hotel” without any proof, and as per hotel policy an internal investigation was done and our Guest Services Manager ensured that you received the information you needed before, during and after our investigation. We are not disputing the fact that you mention that you lost money however as a hotel we have no recourse to accuse the staff of theft without proof.

There are two cases of theft that you also mention in the review, one in 2009 and another in 2012. We only started operating Harbouredge as a self-catering hotel in 2011 and in the incident in 2012 we also followed the same investigation.

Once more thank you for your review and if you have any further concerns please feel free to contact our Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice apartment. Close to the center av waterfront. Attentive staff. A bit av traffic noise. Save parking of the car. The pool was relatively small. Recommended for longer stay. Overall impression - very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christiaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Christiaan

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay at Harbouredge and yes I agree with you that the apartments are great for (short and) long stays in Cape Town.Keep in touch with us, visit our facebook page, sign up for our newsletter and we will keep you updated on the latest promotions and offers!

All the best

Home from Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews