We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
83
103
69
34
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
103
69
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetnight lifesecure garagetable mountainnoisy at nighta lot of noiselight sleeperearly hourscorner roomroom was spotlessloved this hotelbottled waterspecial thanksrestaurants and barsrooms are beautifulbreakfast roomclose proximity
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 324 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

What a poor choice of hotels, no service, poor location, bad attitude from staff, no parking, not health and safety compliant..Definatly not child friendly...never never never again!!! Do not let the 4star rating fool you, in my opinion it gets nothing more then 2stars.. close this establishment and do the public a favour.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleykaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siranne, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Sir

You do not state in your review why you felt that it is a poor choice of hotel. When you initially complained and checked out you cited noise as the issue. You did not complain about any other issues. I would also like to state that we currently have 6 children staying with us including a 2 year old baby and there have been no issues.

On the noise point I would like to state the following.

We in fact do state very clearly on our website that we are surrounded by nightclubs and bars. On our home page it states “Centrally located in the bustling melting pot that is Long Street in the Cape Town CBD and surrounded by Nightclubs and Bars,” (http://urbanchic.co.za/)

We also use phrases like “In the midst of the bustling melting pot that is Long Street, Cape Town” AND “Stepping into Urban Chic’s foyer from the busy street”, AS WELL AS “Stepping into the ambiance of vibrant Long Street, you find yourself among a myriad of arts and craft stores, booksellers, restaurants with cuisines of all persuasions, Bars, nightclubs, bistro-cafe’s and colonial architecture reminiscent of the New Orleans’ French quarter.” (http://urbanchic.co.za/about-us.html)

On our Location page we state, “Located on the famous Long Street, known for its "never sleeps" vibe” (http://urbanchic.co.za/location.html)

In light of this I think you can see that we definitely do not hide the fact that we are located in what is famously known as the Party street of Cape Town. We have been likened to New Orlean's Bourbon street as well as Downtown New York.

As per the above, you really cannot fault the hotel because you did not research the area or read the website before booking.

With kind regards,

Siranne van Onselen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The furnishings are great. Reception service was shocking, parking signs were non existent and i am currently in my room with the equivalent of mardi gras going on outside! And i have court tomorrow and its after 10pm! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Ma'am

Thank you for your review

We in fact do state very clearly on our website that we are surrounded by nightclubs and bars. On our home page it states “Centrally located in the bustling melting pot that is Long Street in the Cape Town CBD and surrounded by Nightclubs and Bars,” (http://urbanchic.co.za/)

We also use phrases like “In the midst of the bustling melting pot that is Long Street, Cape Town” AND “Stepping into Urban Chic’s foyer from the busy street”, AS WELL AS “Stepping into the ambiance of vibrant Long Street, you find yourself among a myriad of arts and craft stores, booksellers, restaurants with cuisines of all persuasions, Bars, nightclubs, bistro-cafe’s and colonial architecture reminiscent of the New Orleans’ French quarter.” (http://urbanchic.co.za/about-us.html)

On our Location page we state, “Located on the famous Long Street, known for its "never sleeps" vibe” (http://urbanchic.co.za/location.html)

In light of this I think you can see that we definitely do not hide the fact that we are located in what is famously known as the Party street of Cape Town. We have been likened to New Orlean's Bourbon street as well as Downtown New York.

On the parking issue, we have 10 parking bays in the building next door to us which are clearly marked "Urban Chic Guest Parking" in big black and red lettering. There is also a huge sign (1m x 1m) at the entrance to the garage displaying the bay numbers belonging to Urban Chic Hotel so I cannot understand why you say that the Parking signs were non-existent.

If you have any further observations or queries, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Siranne van Onselen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My colleague and I stayed that this hotel for 12 days from the 28th of October -4th of November.

This has been by far the worst experience we've both had in a hotel. With the exception of the White Receptionist lady and the Black gentleman, the rest of the staff were very rude indeed. It seems to be against the rules in this "boutique" hotel for one to order room service. Every time we called down during breakfast to order food the lady at the restaurant would say ' am very busy, can’t you come down?' To make matter worse when the food finally came the black waiter who delivered it was and rude and quiet scary. We informed the managers of this but it made matters worse. So we eventually decided to buy our own food and not order from the restaurant at all for fear that someone might do something to the food.

It seem like there were no housekeepers in the hotel as we literally had to beg for our rooms to be cleaned. It was never quite right. Something was always missing; we either had tea cups with no teaspoons or teaspoons and no cups. Glasses were never replaced. The bins never emptied till we placed it outside our room!!!!

The mixed race Gentleman at the reception never got our taxi pick up times correct. Drivers were left to wait over an hour and we were only informed their arrival when we called down to ask if our taxi was in.

I work in a boutique hotel and have worked in hotels for over 12years and this kind of service and reception from a hotels staff is unbelievable. Honestly the only good thing we had to say about this hotel was that the bed was excellent!

I would advice the management of this hotel to either train their staff or get in new staff members who are willing to do the work required of them, minus the attitude. Hotels are all about service and this hotel fails miserably

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Ma'am

Thank you for your review

I am sorry that you had such a bad experience and I am actually shocked as this is definitely not the norm. I wish you had brought this to my attention whilst you were staying with us, so that I could address it immediately and I would have definitely tried to make your stay a more enjoyable one.

Please be assured that I will definitely be taking your observations and complaints up with the relevant departments so that we can ensure that this does not occur again.

If you have any further observations or queries, please do not hesitate to contact me!

With kind regards,

Siranne van Onselen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in the Urban Chic Boutique Hotel and we were extremely impressed. the Staff were very attentive and helpful. The location was perfect, right near everything and close to a nightlife. Highlights were the breakfast and the bar. Our room was excellent, with great decorations and a overlooking the street and table mountain. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Marvin and Pal

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozkito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Long street is very entertaining ,but please don`t stay at urban chic hotel
poor standard and noisy
we gave them them some few things for the laundry,it was only returned 2 days later
the reception guy is nice but for cape town ,he needs to be well tuned

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitch d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review

We in fact do state very clearly on our website that we are surrounded by nightclubs and bars. On our home page it states “Centrally located in the bustling melting pot that is Long Street in the Cape Town CBD and surrounded by Nightclubs and Bars,” (http://urbanchic.co.za/)

We also use phrases like “In the midst of the bustling melting pot that is Long Street, Cape Town” AND “Stepping into Urban Chic’s foyer from the busy street”, AS WELL AS “Stepping into the ambiance of vibrant Long Street, you find yourself among a myriad of arts and craft stores, booksellers, restaurants with cuisines of all persuasions, Bars, nightclubs, bistro-cafe’s and colonial architecture reminiscent of the New Orleans’ French quarter.” (http://urbanchic.co.za/about-us.html)

On our Location page we state, “Located on the famous Long Street, known for its "never sleeps" vibe” (http://urbanchic.co.za/location.html)

In light of this I think you can see that we definitely do not hide the fact that we are located in what is famously known as the Party street of Cape Town.

As far as the laundry service is concerned, I apologise that it took so long to get back to you. This is an outsourced service and we have since changed suppliers.

With kind regards,

Siranne van Onselen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews