We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa Honeymoon”
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acorn House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cape town was the first stop on our honeymoon to south Africa. Acorn house was in a quiet area of cape town but within walking distance of restaurants and the bus stop so a perfect location. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, they really made us feel at home, Nabila in particular. They arranged day trips for us and recommended places to eat. The breakfast was so tasty and great choices, they really couldn't do enough for us and we will certainly stay there again if we ever get the chance to return to cape town. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and were sad to leave, thanks to everyone in the acorn house for making our stay so special

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 511 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Cape Town and we couldn't have stayed in a better place. The room was perfect as was the location, but what made it special was the staff and the service they provided. The restaurant recommendations were spot on, we enjoyed a variety of great food and wine during our stay. Breakfast was amazing, the choice of hot dishes was endless. Everything was provided to make us feel relaxed and comfortable, and If we return to Cape Town there is nowhere else I would rather stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a superb guesthouse in a quiet suburb of Cape Town. The welcome (by Nabila, in our case) was a lovely personal touch and the house itself is homely and very clean. Our room overlooked the garden and the bed was very comfortable, which was great after many nights camping! The breakfasts are lovely - very fresh and varied - and Acorn House is a good base to get into the city. It took us an hour at a fairly brisk pace to walk to the V and A Waterfront - a little more than we thought - but the fabulous views of Table Mountain on the guesthouse's doorstep more than make up for any walk! A good place for lunch is literally on the corner - some of the best, most reasonable sandwiches we have ever eaten. Taxis to the Waterfront cost about R80.00.

Acorn House is definitely somewhere to stay - a haven where nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the rear garden is probably a bit quieter than one overlooking Montrose Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Acorn House based on the recommendation of our daughters who had been there a few years ago. The location, the views, the cleanliness, the breakfast, and most importantly, the service provided by the welcoming, warm and friendly staff, made our Cape Town experience perfect! We followed up on all of the staff's suggestions of where to visit and to eat, and the "concierge" service provided was amazing!!! We would return in a heartbeat and will certainly recommend Acorn House to anyone we know traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Acorn House for one week and it was wonderful! My husband and I stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the city of Cape Town. The room and bath were spotlessly clean, and was very comfortable and cozy. We had never been to South Africa and had read the reviews for this lovely B&B and decided to stay here. We arrived late at night and were greeted warmly by Fran and served hot chamomile tea with cookies, which was so perfect and soothing after our long journey. The next morning, Beatte, who is one of the owners, served us an excellent breakfast and got us all set to take our hike up Table Mountain. During our stay, she and her staff always gave us great advice, and Beatte even helped us decide where to go during our second week in South Africa. Her recommendations were always wonderful, from restaurants to things to see and do. The entire staff is warm, friendly and helpful. Nabila is a sweetheart! The location is also excellent, with a wonderful deli across the street and within walking distance of down town. Breakfast was great, with many choices, great coffee and tea, and a choice of a hot breakfast made to order. Overall, a great place to stay for a reasonable price. We will have great memories of our trip and look forward to returning again some day!

Room Tip: I saw a few of the rooms as the doors were open when they were being cleaned and they all looked ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koralein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived to a wonderful warm welcome with fresh food, linen, and awesome staff. Located right below Table Mountain with beautiful view, nicest staff, and close to everything in town, made us feel like home. We highly recommend this place without reservation and we would definitely return to this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatwargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Having arrived weary after a turbulent overnight flight, we were given a drink of ice cooled water with a sprig of mint as soon as we stepped through the door and shown into the comfortable lounge to relax Tea plus was arranged to be served on the veranda by the small pool after we had been shown to our balconied, front room and able to indulge in a lovely, refreshing, hot shower. Over tea a recommended reservation was made for our evening meal and a taxi was ordered. Then we were introduced to our options in Cape Town and supplied with an excellent map.We opted to be driven on the excellent, open top Red Bus Tour for the afternoon.
Next day after a quiet and relaxed sleep in a room that had all those little extra touches, we were treated to perhaps our best breakfast during our stay in SA. The choices were all either home made or freshly sourced and both plentiful and delicious, served in the dining room or outside on the veranda. Many of the tables were for four people which encouraged the option of sharing and conversations with fellow travellers. This B&B excels in making you feel welcome.
Other praiseworthy features of this B&B are the kindness ,helpfulness and attention to detail shown by all the staff. Seldom does one met all the staff and get to know them by name. On reception Stewart, Nabila & Fran are masters of assisting you to make the most of Cape Town, and the whole establishment is smooth running due to the backroom chores quietly and efficiently completed by Princess, Tio, Thoto & Austin. Food is delicious, cleanliness excellent and hospitality unsurpassed. This was a wonderful introduction to SA. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The balconied front bedrooms are slightly larger and there is little traffic noise as the B&B is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Address: 1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $101 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town at its best! Set on the slopes of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers spectacular mountain, city and harbour views and provides convenient access to Cape Town's numerous places of interest. Stroll through the fragrant garden. Indulge in an opulent breakfast around the pool. Browse the well stocked wine cellar. Simply enjoy the charming house, 100 years old and still fresh. Close to popular restaurants. All tours and transfers arranged with pleasure. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing