We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Cape Town base”
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acorn House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cape Town base”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

'Shabby chic' style boutique guest house. Two exceptional members of staff, Stewart and Nabila, make the place what it is. Excellent breakfasts, comfortable rooms, nice garden and small pool with loungers. If you order in a take-away, or fire up the BBQ, mats, cutlery, candles and coffee seamlessly appear. 'Honesty' bar. Bedrooms would benefit from air-conditioning, and some parts a little tired. A word of caution if travelling with small children, the pool is very close to the building and there are unprotected drops (for instance a deep stone stair well and low walls around terraced lawn) of safety concern. Babysitting available but London rates (R500 for 4.5 hours - vineyard grape-picker rates R11.4 an hour) On the plus side, in the main they are very co-operative in use of kitchen for preparing children's tea or baby bottles.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony with distant ocean or mountain views, ground floor have furnished terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    33
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
284
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful hospitality. I always judge a property by its coffee and Acorn's was absolutely superb. Loved breakfast in the garden.Perfectly situated to flit into town for a conference at the CTCC and easy access to main roads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was the first time for me to stay at this place. It started with a real warm wellcome and the service was excellent all the time. To have the breakfast outside at the pool imn the shadow was one of the highlights for me. Besides this the location is 100% quiet and it is absolut no problem to park a car just in front of the house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reifen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first visit to South Africa and we could not have found a nicer place to stay. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff; comfortable rooms and great breakfasts by the pool! Such a relaxed atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for the staff - Stewart & Nabila, in particular, were brilliant. Could not fault Acorn House in any way and without hesitation we would recommend Acorn House very highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook the city, rooms on the back look out to Table Mountain and are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a tremendously welcoming place, with friendly, helpful staff. We'd recommend it to anyone. Our flight home wasn't until the evening, after we'd checked out they looked after our luggage, gave us somewhere to change and even provided a welcome pot of tea before we headed reluctantly to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can´t think of Acorn House as a hotell. For me it feels more lika a very nice home where the staff are frends with big hearts and a lot of hospitality.
Nice rooms with spectacular view over the city. Fantastic garden.
We will definatly chose Acorn House if we come back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Richard and Denise have only good points about our stay at Acorn House. The welcome we received when we arrived made as so welcome and the service was superb. We cannot fault Acorn House in any way. I have already recommended to my friends and family if they want an excellent homely place to stay while visiting Cape Town Acorn House is the one to choose. Thank you for making our short stay most enjoyable homely and comfortable. Our thanks go to all your staff for the excellent service they provided.
Denise and Richard

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Welgelegen
#9 of 155 in Cape Town Central
442 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Property: Acorn House
Address: 1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town at its best! Set on the slopes of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers spectacular mountain, city and harbour views and provides convenient access to Cape Town's numerous places of interest. Stroll through the fragrant garden. Indulge in an opulent breakfast around the pool. Browse the well stocked wine cellar. Simply enjoy the charming house, 100 years old and still fresh. Close to popular restaurants. All tours and transfers arranged with pleasure. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing