We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Guesthouse in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #54 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Stayed for around 10 days in Nov/Dec 07 - great rooms, spotless and welcoming
If you are looking for a stylish, friendly and safe place to stay - look no further than Mountview.
Wonderful breakfast in the morning, papers, guides, outdoor pool and jacuzzi - with sauna in the basement

Around 5 mins drive to the centre of Cape Town

Hosts were great - did everything they could to help us with our stay - don't even bother looking at other guesthouses for same price.
Richard & Marcus

Stayed: December 2007
Thank ricardos69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Mountview Spa and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2008

We had a great and lovely time at Mountview Spa & Guesthouse in november 2007!
After 2 weeks of traveling through South Africa we ended our trip in beautiful Capetown. We stayed at Mountview for 7 nights (from 15th november till 22th november). There are a number of positive things we can say about Mountview: it is beautifully decorated, the rooms are very comfortable and the owners (Joe and Marius) are very friendly and relaxed.
Breakfast is perfect (croissants and serveral kinds of bread, fresh fruit and juices). There is a jacuzzi next to the pool which we loved.
Mountview is a great place for those who love to have privacy ánd for those who like to make friends.

We will definitely be back here next time in Capetown!!

Greetz Linda and Arno

Stayed: November 2007
Thank veltmanlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Great holidays come from great hospitality. This is such a place. We stayed for 9 days in December and were very happy with our time at the mountainview. A gret location and within easy reach of all of capetowns highlights whilst being quite in the evening allowing a relaxing and undisturbed sleep. The rooms were spotlessly clean as was the rest of the guesthouse. Joe made for a wonderful host, informative, accomodating and for a small guesthouse not at all imposing. Breakfast was very good, the pool and small garden were a great bonus. The overall design of the mountainview I would describe as funky and you couldnt help but feel it reflected the personality of our host who had clearly put his heart and soul into the place. It was a joy to stay with someone who took such pride in his guesthouse, many thanks,

Doran and Mel

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tranmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

This guest house is lovely - really well designed with great hosts. Good location for V & A, Camps Bay and Cape Point. Super breakfast to start the day off with and a relaxing seating area by the pool to finish the day off. Would love to go back - thanks Joe for making our stay in Cape Town perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Honest****Advice*xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I stayed here over a weekend and I am delighted that I found this place. I was made to feel very welcome from the minute I booked. The proprietor Joe was an excellent host. He organised car rental and was a great source of information for Cape Town and South Africa in general. He recommended some great places to eat, so rack his brains on that one.

The guest house is beautifully furnished and very clean and comfortable. You can enjoy the pool in the mornings before being served a great healthy breakfast. Do take advantage of the spa facilities also.

I cannot recommend highly enough. Ideal for Cape Town and not extortionate like some other places in Cape Town. Very good value for money. Ideal for a weekend romantic break.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SteveWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank _haralf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heuer-Party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Head South Lodge
Head South Lodge
#10 of 128 in Cape Town Central
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loloho Lodge
Loloho Lodge
#79 of 156 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $75 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing