We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barry Hall Luxury Apartments
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not great”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

There are many things to like about Barry Hall but I have to say I was a little bit disappointed with some aspects of our stay here. There are some very simple things that they could do to take the experience from 'good' to 'excellent'. I'll start with the good...

Firstly the apartment we stayed in was large and well layed out (apartment 2). It had good sized rooms and was very comfortable. There was a large living room, comfy sofas and a large table to spread your stuff out on.

The location was handy. Literally just down the road from the beach area, minutes from Woolworths (one of the best shops in town for great food and clothes etc), and close to banks, chemists etc - everything you need when travelling. All of which are important if you are planning on cooking a few meals at home and just unwinding after a long day of sight seeing.

The service was friendly and booking the room was easy (via email) and the rates were very reasonable. The free Wifi was definitely a bonus and was one of the main reasons why we booked Barry Hall in the first place.

The decor was stylish with high white ceilings, decorative cornice, marble fireplace, wooden floorboards and warm, inviting persian rugs (exactly my style). But here is when things start to get a little rough... on closer inspection I noticed the walls had been poorly patched in places which they hadn't bothered to paint over. The blinds were missing parts and the lights on the wall were slightly lop-sided. All of these things I admit are small grievances and I'd be more than willing to forgive them given the overall charming vibe to the place but there are a few other fundamentals which weren't quite right.

Firstly there was no air-conditioning which meant that in an attempt to get cool at night we opened the windows and were then eaten alive by the mosquitoes (thankfully malaria free in Cape Town!). The bed was hard and uncomfortable and by the end of our stay I was glad to heading back to my own bed. The TV was small with a very poor selection of cable TV. We stayed for two weeks so there were times when we just wanted to chill out in front of the TV and I'm afraid the selection (mainly sport and news with some movies) just didn't do it for me.

Also there was no washing machine or dryer although there was a laundry service available upon request. I would have much preferred to just wash and dry things as I go.

Another thing that made our stay slightly uncomfortable (and this is the biggest negative for me) was the fact that I felt a bit unsafe on the ground floor. The security seemed a lax (compared to other places we had stayed - this isn't our first trip to Cape Town). The front gate was loose and the windows only had the old fashioned swivel latches to lock them with and no security bars (usually standard in Cape Town). Also we seemed to be the only people who abided by the 'under no circumstances is the front door to be left unlocked' rule. It was constantly left unlocked by the other guests and this could be easily have been avoided by fixing a lock that automatically locks when you close the door. As we were on the ground floor we would be the first apartment targeted had someone broken in (thankfully they didn't while we were there). This slight sense of unease wasn't helped by our taxi driver who gave us a friendly tip to make sure we avoided walking the Main Street (just meters away) at night.

Overall I would have to say that our stay was good but not as good as it could have been. The addition of air-conditioning, a washing machine and dryer, a more comprehensive satellite TV selection and better security would have made all the difference. But the ambiance of the place, the cleanliness, the friendly service and the convenient location were definitely positives.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here ask for an upstairs apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaturnerCapeTown, Owner at Barry Hall Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I regret apartment 2 did not meet your expectations and would like to comment as follows:
There may be a perception of lack of security in the country, which is sometimes exaggerated, whilst we do our utmost to make our guests comfortable during their stay, it is difficult to control other guests' behaviour i.r.o. safety, my request to them was sometimes ignored.
I appreciate the suggestion of a "slam lock" on our front door which will be fitted (it will add to the SA fortress appearance) but could be useful.
We have fans in each apartment in place of airconditioning which is not commonly used here.
The mosquitoes bother could have been avoided by informing our staff, who would have installed a mosquito repellent.
We offer a laundry service at a nominal cost to allow our guests more time to enjoy Cape Town, this has been appreciated by previous visitors, and we plan to continue this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
15
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely beautiful apartments! Really took by breath away. The cleaning staff (a lovely woman) keeps the apartment spotless, and the facility is really all-inclusive: kitchen appliances, free wi-fi, phone, TV, hair dryers, extra converters, etc. The location may seem out of the way of 'downtown Cape Town,' but it is just a 10 or 15 minutes easy drive. Being in the suburbs, the location is extremely safe and quiet, and is 2 blocks from a beautiful walking/running promenade along the beach. There are restaurants within walking distance, as well as a Woolworths supermarket, bank, etc. I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Request the second floor, so you get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaturnerCapeTown, Owner at Barry Hall Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Zoliwe, our housekeeper will be very happy too, that you have recognised her pride in her work at Barry Hall Apartments. She keeps the apartments immaculate, and has been instrumental in the success of making our guests feel at home in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I took his mother to Cape Town so that she could visit with her brother. We spent 13 days in a two bedroom apartment at Barry Hall and found it was perfect for our needs. It was spacious, with lovely furnishings, and the balcony was a big bonus. The location is very convenient to the shops, resaurants and that gorgeous oceanside walkway. A great place to stay !

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family of four spent 5 days staying at Barry Hall. The apartments are sensational. Spacious, beautifully decorated, well equipped and an amazing location. The service and care is exemplary.....and so reasonably priced

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaturnerCapeTown, Owner at Barry Hall Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at Barry Hall Apartments, more so as you had travelled a long way to experience Cape Town and all this beautiful City has to offer.
I am glad you enjoyed the amenities at Barry Hall, we spend some time every year renovating and improving the apartments so you will have to come back and check out our planned renovation in May of the 3 bathrooms in” your” apartment.
Kind regards
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The positive:
- Friendly manager.
- Good cleaning staff (but not on public holidays).
- Free internet was nice and uncommon addition for the region.
- Decent location.

The Negative:
- Selected due to 4 sleeper capabilities, however “makeshift” beds 3 and 4 placed randomly in the unit were very uncomfortable. Lack of room darkening contributed to this discomfort.
- Poor sound insulation. Could easily hear the people next door and above. Woke up to vomiting noises and very late night parting on a few occasions.
- Terrible bathroom. Tub was removed and replaced with useless 3 sided shower. (Water pressure was poor and inconsistent temperatures, and no shower door resulted in a wet bathroom floor. Could also hear and see people will showering, through the window situated in line with the shower.. crazy!)
- No fan or air con. Needed to close the windows due to noise.. resulted in a stuff unit.
- No TV in bedroom. (Not able to relax and watch TV in bed after a long hike, or when kids in bed).
- Very old building resulting in sticking locks, draws, windows and doors. The bedroom door was so difficult to open, my 12 year old son could not manage.
- The floor boards are very old and noisy. (Going to the washroom during the night would wake everyone up!)
- Electrical issues resulted in us arriving home to no lights on 3 occasions.
- “Cheap” compared to other SeaPoint properties, but not good value. This place is more like a high end youth hostel or boarding house!

I am completely dumbfounded by the prior positive reviews for this place. I guess I don’t appreciate the “antique element”. I would rather have clean and new!! I also can’t believe this place is 4 stars. For a little more dollars, I think you can do MUCH better.

Room Tip: dont say on the ground floor.... you will hear the people above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dax_Thornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaturnerCapeTown, Owner at Barry Hall Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
I am very sorry that Barry Hall Apartments did not live up to your expectations.
We convey in all advertaising that the building is 100 years old with all the benefits , generous space, renovated interiors retaining the architectual features charatorising a building from that era.
The level of service is as advertised, and as you were visiting at Christmas I confiirm that we do allow our staff time off for Christmas to be with their families on that day..I am sorry if this caused an inconvenience.
The electricity short circuit was brought to my attention at 1130pm, and you were assisted immediately,.Due to the holidays we were unable to get an electrician to attend to the problem the next day..We have recently completed the bathroom conversion to a shower only, which is in line with a preference by most of our guests, we will monitor future feedback from guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We are four friends - two married couples - and we had a wonderful time in Barry Hall - they really are luxury apartments. My husband and I had stayed once before with our grandchildren and we enjoyed it so much we knew we would return.

The owner, Rita, puts so much care into the flats - as if she lives there herself - from comfortable beds with luxurious quilts and pillows covered with crisp white bedding to delightful finishing touches such as ornaments, fresh flowers and plants.

The flats are spacious and the shared garden is well cared for - even the hallway and wooden staircase is elegant and unique.

The location is great too - just a five minute walk to the sea and there are many restaurants including New York Bagels, Woolworths, Chinese, Indians and Sushi.

The walk to Cape Town’s bustling Victoria and Albert Waterfront takes an hour along the beautiful coast line with amazing views of Robben Island - or, if that’s not your idea of fun - the local Golden Arrow ‘bus costs a mere 8 rand.

The open top sightseeing buses stop nearby on the seafront and they are great value too - for example: 240 Rand for two full days of ‘hop on and hop off’ at all the local fun spots such as the Botanical Gardens; Table Mountain; Haut Bay; a short wine tour and the Bird Park.

THANKS SO MUCH RITA!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Barry Hall. The place was very nice, quiet, and huge! The furnishings were very comfortable, and we even had a spot to park our rental car. The location was wonderful with shops on the same block, and the beach and the waterfront nearby. Rita was extremely attentive to all of our needs throughout our stay. We would definitely recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#114 of 203 in Cape Town
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#131 of 203 in Cape Town
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Manor
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Letting Apartments
Sunshine Letting Apartments
#73 of 125 in Cape Town Central
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry Hall Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry Hall Luxury Apartments

Property: Barry Hall Luxury Apartments
Address: 6 Irwinton Road | Fresnaye, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barry Hall Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barry Hall has 4 Large selfcatering Apartments and a garden cottage located in Fresnaye on the Atlantic Seaboard.This historic Manor House with its modern Scandinavian interior is suitable for corporate and leisure travelers and anyone appreciating lots of space combined with friendly daily service. The apartments are fully equipped and includes all modern facilities including free internet connection, and has a cozy courtyard garden, including a barbecue facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Barry Hall Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barry Hall Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing