We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Substandard facility - no value for money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #143 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
KZN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Substandard facility - no value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I arrived at Mountain Manor for check in. The receptionist was clearly a temp staff member and while she was friendly clearly had little enthusiasm for the place. My room had a well-worn carpet with stains in it that had not washed out particularly well. Of the two fans, only one worked. One of the bedside lamps also did not work. All the electrical appliances in the room were wired to one plug behind the beds. I had to pull the one bed away from the wall so I could plug in my cell phone to charge it. I could only charge either my cell phone or my laptop as their is an insufficient number of plugs in the room. The bathroom while clean lacked the basic amenities. One cake of soap which you had to move around from the basin, to the shower, to the bath and one sachet of shampoo which offered barely enough if you have a full head of hair. The breakfast menu that was presented to us was limited. On walking past the kitchen, I got a noseful of dreadful smells - hardly an encouragement. The parking facilities are virtually non-existent - a small lane alongside the building that cannot be easily navigated in a large car. Considering the offering the rate I was charged was exorbitant. There are plenty of places that offer much better facilities and amenities for the price.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KznJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear disgruntled guest - thank you for your review - I do not know who you are but I can guess - and presume that you were in Room 9.
I have been and checked the fans in the room - you are quite correct - the one air fan is stuck - Thank you for advising us so that I can get it repaired.
We do have a problem with plug points but we will try to make one MORE visible for phone charges, - there is one next to the wardrobe, but you obviously did not see that one.
The lovely silver hand soap container for the handbasin has been stolen and I was unaware of that - thank you for bringing this to my attention.
As far as the carpets go - cream carpets are a nightmare and will be wet cleaned as soon as we have a gap with no no guests. I apologise if they offended you, but I can only do this in low season again.
When you checked in - you had an offer of three types of breakfasts - you CHOSE a continental breakfast - we offer a full buffet and a full cooked English breakfast as well.

I personally checked you in - as long time owner and creator of Mountain Manor, I do take offence to your rude remarks as I personally took you through the whole process, explaining how to get in and out - took you to view the rooms first, showed you the bar and entertainment areas and where to park. I gave you undivided attention.

I am sorry that you found it so necessary not to communicate any problems directly to me when you saw me daily but waited to put it on the internet.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
19
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We needed a guest house due to our apartment being flooded out. Beautiful colonial guest house....needs some TLC. Staff lovely and friendly. Room very spacious. Would have liked the ceiling fan to have worked. Could certainly recommend.

Room Tip: I did not spend time at the pool, but have heard it is excellent. Upstairs superior rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I am so happy you were comfortable during your flooding ordeal. The fan has two chains on it - one either side - one for the fan and one for the light - the fan does work - I checked it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

During our recent trip in South Africa, we had to make a last minute booking as we could'nt find any place for the New Year's Eve. Thanks to Gisele from African Twist Travel Agency, she'd booked for us one night at Mountain Manor Guesthouse. The place is just perfect, very peaceful, precious & quiet. Michelle, our host, is helpful and there for any question or tips. I highly recommend Mountain Manor Guesthouse if you have to stop to Cape Town. Sandrine

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sness92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - it is always a pleasure to experience wonderful Guests. I hope the rest of your travels were excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Be a bit careful here - they will ask you what you want for breakfast weeks before you get there and then expect to charge you for breakfast whether or not you have actually eaten there. We compared prices and discovered that breakfast was much cheaper in town, so we ate in lovely cafes centrally, and then discovered that we had been charged for full breakfast for the full stay even though we had eaten out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mam, our reservations go according to your booking form - on the form you ordered full cooked breakfasts inclusive of buffets for the duration of your stay - and this was catered for on a daily basis. You forgot to mention that we did delete the breakfasts not eaten off your bill in good faith of your misunderstanding. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Exceeded all expectations, very good breakfast, warm ambience. Excellent guest house in city centre, beautifully renovated breakfast area, warm and friendly staff, lovely pool area. Top notch facilities and conference centre. Good security at all times. Attention to smallest detail by Michelle and staff, will surely be back soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jea113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words - we always strive to do our best for our clients and to make your stay in Cape Town a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

When it came down to search accomodation in Cape Town i was a little sceptic at first, reading through the reviews on Trip Advisor. We decided to give this place a try and it was well worth it.
If you like older buildings at a central location in Cape Town (Gardens), then this place is a must.
All the rooms are clean, the kitchen is fully equipped and even the pool is clean (seldom seen on our trip through ZA). The owner (sorry, forgot the name) was always very friendly and helpful.
E.g. our phone in our room wasn't working, so she let us use the reception phone free of charge.
The only thing I didn't like about this place was the pricy Wifi Hotspot. 20Rand for 40MB, if I remember correctly.
I would reccomend this place for couples as well as smaller groups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamadava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a one-night stay, and wish it could have been longer! The gracious old house has a lovely "colonial" feel to it, there was more than enough space, good quality furniture and a well equipped kitchenette. A small balcony overlooking the pool area added to the charm. Thanks Michelle and staff!

Room Tip: .Rooms in the Guesthouse are lovely - better choice than the apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Wish U Were Here
#61 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Casa Elena Cape Town
#123 of 163 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
City Bowl
Atforest Guest House
Atforest Guest House
#133 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residen...
#93 of 130 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#64 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Ashanti Gardens Guesthouse
#130 of 163 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Property: Mountain Manor Guesthouse
Address: 17 Breda Street | Gardens/Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Manor Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lower slopes of Table Mountain, above the hustle and bustle of the city - you will find these three restored Cape Colonial Mansions oozing Colonial charm and warmth. Walking distance into the City and many restaurants, Mountain Manor is extremely well situated. Mountain Manor offers a 12 bed roomed Guest House / 5 self-catering suites called Harrow House / as well as an upmarket Back Packers Lodge - catering for everyone's needs. We pride ourselves in our personal service and attention to detail and go out of our way to try to satisfy our many, varied Guests, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Manor Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing