We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 Star Hotel!!!”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is not a 4 Star Hotel!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is rated as a 4 Star hotel, which it is not. If anything a 1 or 2 stars. The rooms are old, carpet is dark and shabby and who knows what lurks in the them. The shower doors get stuck, the tv is fuzzy, the air con is loud and hardly blows cold air, it's luke warm air. The curtains are ripped. The hair dryers are old and over heat. The food is left out for the flies to graze at breakfast and the only edible thing to eat was plain yogurt and musli, even their fruit looked gross.
The wifi is ridiculous, 100MB free per day which is gone in a milisecond.
I was there during a rugby tournament, the hotel and elevators smelled like a brewery. Even vomit in the entrance area that wasn't immediately cleaned up. They catered to the rudgy teams and I wasn't able to get room service because they were the priority and forgot about other clients who were not part of the rugby.
The staff were nice (restaurant & bell boys), but the lady at the front desk was rude and condescending when it came to the wifi. The bed was ok.

Room Tip: Just don't go to this hotel, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodihack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    170
    137
    75
    47
See reviews for
58
183
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were told that we couldn't go out after dark because it wasn't safe to do so. Breakfast poor especially the bacon, & evening meal was cold. Room ok. We changed room for a better view of the fountains & table top mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herknibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Old furnishings, dirty past it's expiry date shower curtain, broken aircon, fuzzy TV, LEFT OVERS (from previous nights dinner) served for breakfast, dried up rice with shrivelled peas, dried up spaghetti and grey old roast potatoes. Very disappointing indeed for a hotel that claims to have 4 stars!
Would have been disappointed even if they had NO stars.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Fortunately we were in this hotel only one night, that being arranged by Iglu Cruising. The room was clean but was dark having 2 opaque (none see through) windows that looked into a central lightwell obvoiusly with no view whatsoever. Bathroom tiles were broken. Because of security we were advised to stay within the hotel at night. We checked the food at 6:30 pm in the buffet restaurant and it looked reasonable. At 8:00 we decided to give it a try. The food was barely eatable. The one Gammon joint for the carvery was gone and what was left was a few bits of boned chicken and fish. The fish was full of bones and un-eatable.

Breakfast was equally as bad; the bacon was little more than scrappy rind and by 8:30 the croissants had all gone. When my wife asked where were they she was told "Croissants gone, no more until tomorrow". My wife retorted, "It's 8:30 not 10:00 am and I'm not here tomorrow". The spagetti bolognaise that had been available the previous evening was back on display for breakfast

I see that someone else has said the cost of this hotel was £133 per night. We checked out and for just a tiny bit more moved to the TAJ 5* hotel which was magnificent. The room was superb and included a buffet breakfast that was out of this World. It would have suited anyone from anywhere in the World due to the range of items available. It also included a free return shuttle bus to Table Mountain and the waterfront.

We met several couples who had also been booked into the Fountains. Every one of them had either moved rooms or had complained.

I would rate this hotel at no more than 1*. Avoid it. You have been warned!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay insist on a room that overlooks the Heerengracht Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed with a complimentary drink and the news that we were getting upgraded to the penthouse suite on the top floor for no extra cost.

Bar, restaurant, gym, swimming pool, secure parking all included. Excellent central location, 2 mins from long street.

Our apartment had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, a large living area and a large balcony terrace.

The staff on reception and behind the bar were helpful, informative and cheerful.

Couldn't ask for under £30 per person per night!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy85Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corfu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

For £133 per day paid through agents Iglu we were allocated a standard atrium room. This is a lying misdescription (an atrium is a large open space in a building).The room backed on to a narrow void with barely any light, my wife who is a little claustrophobic, burst in to tears.
That said, the hotel is centrally placed and the concierge Thys is a character, the buffet is bearable and the rooms clean and a fair size, and they did give us a room facing the main road albeit with no double glazing a noisy air conditioner and annoyingly a fuzzy TV.
But it is scruffy with chipped paint and lifting carpet tiles...students would love it.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the upper rooms face table mountain. Do not take an atrium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Location is great and enjoyed my stay. Situated closer to most tourist attractions and great view of yhe city. Great environment. Enjoyed my stay and would love to go back and stay. Great waitress in Grace who was always there when we were having breakfast. The food is great and enjoyed the bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#73 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing