We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holidays”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Port Louis
1 review
“Holidays”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very Glade and Happy of the Stay
Very recomanded for stay and safty is there
I and my family really appriciate the stay there
All the satffing were good and the reception Co-op peoplr
For buying stuff and back to hotel is somthing very easy and average price
Thanks

Room Tip: For Shopping Eating the Location id too Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewin8790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    168
    136
    74
    47
See reviews for
57
180
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

After the initial disappointment with the room provided, we were moved to another room & enjoyed a pleasant stay. All the staff were very Friendly, hospitable, & very helpful.
The breakfast selection & quality was very good. We stayed at Christmas & enjoyed a fantastic buffet for Christmas lunch.
The hotel is well situated as a base to explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you like to sleep with a Ferry boat or a train noise in your hear all night long this is the right place.
The noise comes from the walls, from the ceiling, from everywhere.
From the bathroom comes a noise really loud. It's the main A.C. machine or something like it.
In our room there was not any hair dryer. We have asked for it three times to three different employees , for two day. Nothing!
The external pool is perfect for the birds, if they are not to much big.
The lonely good thing of this hotel is the central position.

Room Tip: Evitate quelle al terzo piano e buona fortuna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

As a mature female travelling solo to Capetown for the first time safety was a concern. I need not have worried! This hotel was well situated and, once I had orientated myself to the area, I was able to walk to many of the main attractions (Waterfront, Bo Kaap, Museums, Company Gardens, District Six, Long Street etc.) with no problems. In terms of the hotel I suppose it depends on what it is you require. I usually avoid 'posh' hotels as I find it difficult to interact with other guests and I see a hotel as a base to sleep so as long as it is clean and welcoming then this does for me.The Fountains Hotel staff were all excellent and at no time did I ever feel uncomfortable eating or sitting in the bar area alone. All staff smiled and greeted me whenever I was there and they were all very helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a wide range of choice and was a good way to start the day. The hotel was busy whilst I was there and guests came from a wide range of countries, which I think improves the experience. Rooms were clean and although mine overlooked the fountains on the main road my sleep was never disturbed by traffic noise. Although the bathrooms have been updated there is still some room for improvement. The shower was always hot, the water pressure was good and shower gel and hand wash was provided. Plenty of clean towels were provided daily. However the accessories and general décor let it down. The small pedal bin in my bathroom was broken and every time I used it the lid fell off and the plug in the sink and bath did not function too well. There was a retractable washing line over the bath which I found useful if I did some hand washing. There is an ironing room but, as someone else has stated in a review, the 2 irons available are designed for normal domestic use and not 'heavy' use. These need to be more robust and have longer cords. One issue the hotel need to address is the Wi-Fi access as I was under the impression when I booked that this was free when it is not. The 1st 100mb are free and then there is a fee once this has been used. When I questioned that Wi-Fi was advertised online as being free I was shown the information on the reception desk which indicates that it is not - that said though, charges were not ridiculously high, as they are in many hotels! The lifts can be a tad slow. However, whereas I think a 4 star rating is a bit generous (maybe a 3) for what I paid for my 15 night stay I feel this hotel was good value and my stay was definitely enhanced by the fabulous staff. The water dispenser in the main lobby is an asset as there is constant access to free cold water.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ones straight opposite the lifts?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boffin116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I had recently booked a holiday in Cape Town and we had the unpleasant experience of the fountains hotel. We had searched the place on the internet prior to booking. Their site gives you the impression of a lovely 4 star hotel........What a FALSE impression!!!
Upon arrival, there was confusion about parking, there was no service to help with the luggage and the reception staff was very unfriendly. The room service was pathetic to say the least, we had to go fetch our own order, The fittings in the room and bathroom were all falling off. The hotel has an ironing room, with 2 irons (the hotel has over a 100 rooms!) and they both didn't work. After complaining about the poor service, absolutely nothing was done. The reception staff had poor manners and failed to give us details like guests get free limited internet access but instead wanted us to pay for it.
Overall this hotel is poor and I would not recommend it to anyone. It definitely was a very disappointing experience. The hotel rates itself as a 4 star, but I've been to 3 star hotels that was in much better condition with better services then this. This hotel should be rated a low 3 star to 2 star. If you are looking for a good time in Cape Town, DON'T GO to Fountains Hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room was disappointing with no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nalini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Should loose a star.
Carpet burnt. Waited 6 days for washbasin plug that never arrived. Lights kept fusing and repair was put off as electrician was on leave.

Poor condition and not worth the rating.

Would I stay there again? No
Would I reccommend? No

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've stayed here once a month (3 nights each time) for the last 6 months and always found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been fantastic (admittedly they have given me an upgrade to a suite each time) - large clean and with a view either of the square or the fountains. The food is always excellent too. I'll be back in January - can't wait!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better (it's quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod_Frowein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing