We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even close to a four star”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #82 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not even close to a four star”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed six days here with a group of 18 people. It was a mini-vacation for a group of coworkers.

OK, I will start with the good. The staff was very friendly. The location was close to Long Street and we could walk to several good restaurants. The street was also lined with bars and clubs if that is your thing. The breakfast was good.

The bad. Where do I start? I think the fact that they claim to be a four-star highlighted their inefficiencies. Let’s start with the room. The bathtub was covered in what looked like hair from someone shaving and when I tried to scrub it I realized it was stained. Then I found out several of our friends rooms had the same thing. There was no clock in the room. There was one bottle of “generic soap” and not even a wash rag in the bathroom. The TV was old. The rest of the building was decent but nothing even close to four star. The restaurant was an open area in the lobby which I ate breakfast from the buffet because it was included but would not waste my time there for any other meal and the bar did not serve cocktails. You could also hear noises in your room from the street below – cars, shouting, etc. Also, one of our guys had high lap top stolen from the hotel. I cannot elaborate because I do not know where in the hotel he was or who he thinks took it, but that just kind of shows you the caliber of place it is.

I think if they had called themselves a two star hotel, or maybe even a three, I would have felt differently – actually, our tour company would not have booked it since they promise four star or higher. But I was very disappointed. If you are 21 years old are going to use your hotel only for passing out drunk in after you have partied hard on Long Street, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a nice hotel for a relaxing vacation – DO NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLoverOfSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear "Amy A"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay with us.
We will investigate the concerns you raised and will deal with them accordingly.

I trust that you did enjoy the other services we offered like the daily 100mb free internet that we and the environmentally friendly water that is available 24/7 in the Hotel Loby.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Fountains Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    165
    135
    73
    46
See reviews for
56
178
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fountains Hotel

We had high expectations since this is rated as a four star hotel, but unfortunately we got disappointed. The room we had really need a make over, because that wasn't nice at all. They also said that they had a swimming pool and a training room, but it was not tempting to use those facilities at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilledur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Hilledur

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Fountains Hotel. It is regrettable that the Hotel did not meet your expectations.

I am glad to report to you that we are investigating the possibility of a upgrade next year and I would like to invite you to come and experience the Hotel again at that point.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Fountains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Each morning I woke up at 5am because of the smell of cooking something for breakfast (sausages??). The floor was... It was unpleasant to step on it with naked feet. Room was small, and bathroom was not excellent also. No good view. Location is near train station, the only good thing about that location is cheap taxi and nice cafe around the corner. almost all of my colleagues had hotels much better.

Room Tip: If you're going to Cape Town don't make your impression of this great city worse choosing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosesMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear MosesMoscow

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you had a less then favorable stay at the Fountains Hotel. I have taken note of your concerns and can assure you that they will be dealt with accordingly.

Please let us know when you visit Cape Town again in order for us to provide you with a memorable stay in Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Fountains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fountains Hotel is very good place to stay in Capetown if you are not expecting too much from your room. this 3 stars hotel is very well located in the heart of the city. You can find a lot of restaurants and shopping center around the hotel, a few minutes walk only. restaurant of the hotel provides a very good breakfast generally included in the prize of your room. The hotel is not very new. but this is very clean. Rooms are pretty small. The hotel is wheelchair friendly but not the Gym and the pool. you have steps to reach it. There is a bar located at the main entrance of the hotel where you can have famous local drinks and very good coffees and huge cups. this hotel is a good choice for limited budget.

Room Tip: attention: rooms at lower levels provide with a view on the next buillding which is very near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Paul-Claude33

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay with the Fountains Hotel.
I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the restaurant and the Bar. We will investigate your wheelchair accessibility concerns with regards to the Gym and Pool Area.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Fountains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked the penthouse suite (three bedroom) the room was awful!!!! the carpets are stained beyond belief, water leak in the ceiling was on ongoing leak had water stains from previous leaks, they re-booked us into a two bedroom suite and an additional one bedroom room and those rooms were in the same condition.... stained carpets, old furniture. The difference has never been credited to my credit card. The staff was nice, the hotel is in a great location, but the hotel definately needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear MaryF2012.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor. It saddens me to hear that you were not satisfied with you stay at the Fountains Hotel.

We are currently looking at refurbishment of the Hotel apartments however I can assure you that we do strive to provide our guest with the best possible stay.

Please e-mail me (gm@fountainshotel.co.za) in order for me to explain the difference in cost concern.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for one week in the beginning of April. We were positively surprised by the good location, the heavy loaded breakfast and the gentle staff. The Staffmembers were always there for you, booking a cab, giving you an extra towel or just give you some nice compliments. We liked that! Especially the smiling man at breakfast!

The gym looked nice, but we never had the time to try it out. The pool is more like a big bathtube, so don't expect to much of that!

The negative aspects about the hotel was that we had some trouble with the internet. (Really slow and at many times not working at all) The cleaningstaff were very eager to clean the room, so many mornings you woke up by a small whisper "hello..." outside the door. Ok for us, but we can imagine some people can get annoyed...

We also got robbed 200 meters from the hotell outside Mac Donalds at 6 pm, daylight, and lots of people around, which was a bit unpleasant. Be aware of walking in the city even during the day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fersen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear "Fersen82"

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased that the location of the Hotel suited your need while in Cape Town. I have relayed your review to all the staff and they are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It saddens me to hear of misfortune close to Mc Donald’s and I have been in contact with CCID (Cape Town Central Improvement District) to inform them of the incident.

We greatly anticipate your return to Cape Town in order to welcome you back with our warm hospitality.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for five nights, on two occasions, between March and April. The hotel is bland, but the people who work there are awesome. Room was clean, water was drinkable, included breakfast was plentiful, but, the internet they sell is worthless, (don't bother) and the bathroom has absolutely no amenities. Liquid soap in a jar is all you get. Location is good and in a safe area to walk in the evening for dinner out. One morning we walked to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront and it was a nice, easy walk. The double decker Red Bus stops fairly close making for an easy tour. I would stay again for the reasons listed, but will still be aggravated for the reasons I listed above. The staff.... they are all great and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear "kakima3"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjouyed your stay with us. I have taken to heart your concerns and we will be looking into listed items.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel.

Kind regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 106 in Cape Town Central
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing