We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing was too much trouble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Lovely hotel with lovely restaurants, ideal location
Great secure car parking

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    131
    41
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
194
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in Sept.

On arrival the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and this continued throughout our stay here.

The room was large and well thought out with plenty of space for our luggage to be tidied away neatly. My only complaint would be the bathroom which was slightly tired and could probably do with a refurbishment; although it was very clean.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and subsequently very quiet. I would be concerned about the potential noise levels of the front rooms as they sit directly above two very popular, and subsequently very noisy, restaurants.

The location, just off Kloof Street, was ideal for exploring the nearby “trendy” shops and restaurants.

We stayed over the bank holiday which unfortunately meant that when we got around to trying to hire a car there was none available in Cape Town (all the locals had hired cars for the weekend) the hotel hired a driver and car for the day for us and we visited the point; I would also recommend our driver who was courteous and very informative (he also does township tours, airport pickup’s etc) Acghmat +27 735213207. We used him for our airport drop off and he even went out of his way to collect luggage we had mistakenly left in our room; we didn’t realize this until we got to the airport, I called him straight away and within 40 mins he was back at the airport with our luggage.

When we checked out the staff gave us a chocolate teacake with a note thanking us for staying which I thought was a lovely touch.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for guests and I would certainly recommend
using Acghmat for tours / transfers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The front desk people were very kind and helpful during our three night stay. The room was huge compared to the hotels we have stayed out around the world, and the free internet was great! (At times slow service uploading pictures to our website, but general use was fine). The hotel does provide a computer with internet in each room, but our computer never worked (they said they would fix it, but that did not happen while we were there). There are a few restaurants outside the hotel that you could charge the food to your room, and there was a grocery store a block away. Our only complaint is that the noise outside our room (we were street side) was horrible! It sounded like a street party every night, and on our final night I got up to find the earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland NSW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I were in Cape Town during June and loved the place. Three days just isn't anything like enough time. Our concierge, Warda, was helpful, friendly and a delight to speak to. She directed our travels resulting in us getting in as much as possible. Indeed we hope to remain in touch. The rooms are massive, confortable, well appointed with hidden kitchenette, and with the internet access being available, we were able to keep our friends and family at home well advised of our travels. If we get back to Cape Town (which we hope we will), we will stay at the Hippo again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fubar990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

The Hippo is wonderfully situated in Gardens, and very tastefully designed; it's clean, modern, no frills. But at the price (roughly R1000 a night), and really no frills, not even breakfast, one would expect a higher level of service. Reception, though very friendly, is often absent, with no means to attract their attention. The 'fully equipped' kitchenette lacks all but the most basic of equipment (and in my case, had one door coming off its hinges). No kitchen knife, no corkscrew, no can opener -- hey, what kind of kitchen is this? There aren't even any wine glasses -- though, since the bar fridge lacks wine, this may be a deliberate attempt to discourage the traveller from having a drink. (There is a small bottle of sparkling wine, but is one supposed to drink it from a tumbler?). I think the website promises a music system and dvd player -- well, if you want this, check on it, because there certainly wasn't any around when I was. The flatscreen TV is nice -- some programme guide would be useful. Okay, all in all the place was fine for my purpose -- a quick in-and-out, not much time spent in the room. But self-catering? No way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Our stay in your hotel has been phenomenal and we would stay there again in a heartbeat - the room was spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable and a stone's throw away from all amenities they wanted for the weekend. Our daughter's live in the next street and will be there for the next three years while they are at university, so you will be seeing a lot of us!
Thanks for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

We stayed for a night and had a great time. The rooms are large, clean, modern and comfortable. Internet access if you need to do some work, fast and reliable.
Staff really nice, friendly and cheerful. Not your usual staff!
Location is in town, and all the nice shops and bars are close enough to walk to. It's fun, funky hotel, and has a very cosmopolitan feel.
I'd definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Antrim Villa
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Property: Hippo Boutique Hotel
Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing