We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
200
177
53
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
177
53
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fat cactus kloof street breakfast vouchers great location restaurants downstairs kitchenette area table mountain long street small kitchenette choice of restaurants off street parking within walking distance secure parking rooms are modern great room a great stay camps bay
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 446 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

To start off I need to say the food options for this hotel are amazing. It's full table service in your room which is SERIOUSLY nice. Last night we had Mexican delivered from Fat Cactus (which was amazing but that's another review) and the waitresses bought it directly up to our room as if we were sitting down at their tables. No take away boxes or anything like that. It was REALLY good. I am vegetarian and my wife is vegan, and we haven't had an issue yet (veganism is growing here and some places actively advertise it which is really handy).

The hotel itself: really good location. Spent the last few days just walking around and exploring and it's really easy due to this location.

I strongly recommend you ask for a quiet room however. We did, and it makes a big difference as you won't get any of the cafe/bar noise.

The room: we have a standard room and it is LOVELY. I nearly upgraded to the suite but I'm glad I didn't as this room is great. HUGE bath, great fittings, super comfy bed. Only downside is there is only like 3 TV channels so make sure you bring a device if you want to just relax and watch tv. The internet speed is great too, strong enough for Netflix and YouTube.

Places around the hotel: if you're a coffee snob, or a bit of a hipster (like me) then this is the place. Lots of cool little cafes that have vegetarian and vegan options (which is awesome). We walked all the way to the waterfront and explored some side streets and it's like a cross between Melbourne and New Orleans. Really fun place to be!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas_H87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the most precious commodity, your time to write down your comments. We have started our double glazing process for the front rooms and this should ensure all our rooms are quiet.
The Hippo team greatly appreciates your positive response to your stay at our unique stunning hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our proficient staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the executive suite, it was located in the 3rd floor (#318) and -following other guest advices- we got a rear facing room. It was peaceful and quite. Ambiance and decor was ultra modern. Extra comfy king size bed. Strong WIFI connection. Centrally located in CP with plenty of cafes and dining options just a walking distance. Their breakfast set up is really original thus they offered us vouchers to eat in restaurants near by. I recommend you to visit "Knead" for a superb breakfast. If you want to have a relax evening, I also suggest you to eat in "The Fat Cactus" and "Jerry's".The staff at the front desk was very informative and polite. On our last day, we had to check-out at 4 AM to catch an early flight to JNB and it was a nice gesture from them to prepare a breakfast box for us (including sandwiches, juices, muffins and other treats) :-) They helped us to arrange a transportation back to the airport. We were delighted with this accommodation and we will definitely stay here again!
Considering the fact that we booked one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel, our kitchen area was quite dusty. You can see that there is no much attention to details on this particular area. We also found a towel full of dark stains :-( There was a miscommunication with our check-out date and we received our breakfast box one day ahead of time, however, everything was sorted out accordingly. Another thing, beggars around hotel are really annoying and they can follow up for blocks!!!! -Although this last point is not hotel's fault-.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, we will follow up the housekeeping to improve the customer experience.

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

With best regards,
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Booking from half a world away, I was hoping that the photos and descriptions were accurate of the hotel where my daughter and I would stay during our once-in-a-lifetime trip to Cape Town. Wow, what a surprise. The hotel was even better than we expected! It is centrally located (we walked down trendy Long Street to the V&A waterfront) with a great selection of popular restaurants, cafes and boutiques nearby. The room itself was amazing! We chose one with a loft, kitchen and balcony and were very comfortable for the two weeks we were there. And the staff is fabulous; helpful, professional and knowledgeable about Cape Town. I would go back in a heartbeat! And I've stayed in a lot of hotels throughout the world.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Jillbuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for taking the most precious commodity, your time to write down your comments
The Hippo team greatly appreciates your positive response to your stay at our unique stunning hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our proficient staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

I had to move rooms after the first night as the rooms on the 1st floor facing the parking are unbearably noisy. Constant generator and AC noise which gets worse at 03h00.
From the second night there was a great improvement. I was lucky enough to get ungraded. The breakfast vouchers give you some great options for the restaurants surrounding the hotel. Love Knead breakfasts. Actual parking is a bonus anywhere in Cape Town

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeighanneZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Good Day Leighanne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience. We sincerely apologize for your first night's experience with regards to the noise from the street parking and the restaurants AC units on the roof. We are taking the necessary steps to improve our soundproofing and we are on the process of getting double glazing installed.
However, I am glad you enjoyed the variety of breakfast options and restaurants.

We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Modern, spacious rooms and helpful, friendly staff. The breakfast vouchers for the surrounding restaurants are generous and you can order in from several surrounding restaurants. Free parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tulaneanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience here at Hippo Boutique hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the area with all the variety of restaurants, as well as our breakfast option setup.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews