We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, excellent price and in a really cool area!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just spent 4days at the Hippo and thought it was excellent. It fitted the bill nicely for what we wanted to achieve, not stuffy at all but really high standards where you can taste a bit of the Real Cape Town. It is in a really smart, trendy area - lots of bars, Deli's, restaurants and shops. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite apartment- the apartments are well appointed and modern. The staff were helpful and friendly even offering us beach towels, sorted car hire and bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I could not recommend this hotel enough and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennylane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 393 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I lived at the Hippo for 2 days in October 2012. The rooms are large with a mini kitchen where one can chill drinks and have your morning cuppa. The rooms are equipped with free wifi too. They are very comfortable.
The hotel is very conveniently located on the edge of downtown and a 10 minute walk from Long Street.
The hotel provides free parking.
The hotel is surrounded with bars and restaurants catering to world cuisine.
Overall plesent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUMBAIDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for so many reasons.

The staff here are great, they are always keen to help you make the best of your time in CT. Whatever their recruitment policy is they've got it right.

I arrived on an overnight flight at 08:30 in the morning and was really delighted to find that my rooom was already available, I didn't expect that.

The location is just metres from Kloof Street and a few minutes walk from the top of Long Street so really handly for eating and drinking places.

The room is huge, the mini kitchen is great for keeping drinks cold etc. The bed was massive and incredibly comfortable. Broadband was great and a good speed. Air con worked well.
Safe in room was big enough to hold my laptop, camera and other valuables.

Parking at the back of the hotel was convenient and free.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishlearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Large and interesting room. Sits above 3 great restaurants. Incredibly helpful staff. Great place to base yourself during your stay to cape town. Wouldn't consider staying elsewhere next time we're in town. Secure car park very useful too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_frog_dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is in a hip neighbourhood just on the edge of downtown. The area is central but less gritty than the downtown core. There are trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques surrounding the hotel. Plus there's a Woolworth's next door to get your essentials for your holiday. The neighbourhood is really what sells me on the Hippo.

The rooms are clean, modern and surprisingly quiet (given the close proximity to the entertainment district). You get your own wifi hub in your room, which means great reception. The furniture is all new, and cool looking. You kinda feel like you're in a trendy loft apartment.

The staff were all very helpful when we were looking for tips of how to see the city. They offered free parking, which was nice, though I wasn't brave enough to drive on the opposite side of the road.

The place felt very secure, and cared-for. Overall a good stay, and I feel it was a good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to try Knead, next door - great coffee and bread There's a Woolworth's next door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having stayed had an extended stay here of well over a week I think that I have a balanced experience. First and foremost, the staff is unbelievable. We arranged several day trips, transfers, early morning and late night departures, etc. and nothing was ever a problem.

When our departing flight was cancelled the day it was due to depart the staff was great with helping us sort out our continued stay and a few other details.

The rooms are stylish, clean and have everything you could possibly need. With an extended stay in particular this is most helpful and with two grocery shops nearby as well as plenty of restaurants there is a wealth of choices for dining.

I cannot thank Fiona and the staff nearly enough because it was their service that really made this place a star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0529_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love staying at the Hippo. It's very central and they have secure off street parking so you can just leave your car and go out on foot. The area is very vibey with a big choice of great local restaurants. Warda and Fiona go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Lovely, well appointed, modern rooms. It can get quite noisy outside on a Friday/ Saturday night but it's not all that noisy inside. And the aircon was a godsend. I have stayed here before and I'm looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
849 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing