We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$136
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$260
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$137
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$198
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$134
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$723
$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$555
$425
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $533/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
192
169
52
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
169
52
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetbreakfast vouchersgreat locationrestaurants downstairstable mountainkitchenette arealong streetsmall kitchenchoice of restaurantsoff street parkinglarge roomyour doorstepsecure parkingwithin walking distancerooms are moderngreat rooma great stay
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 429 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't bother trawling the web - just book into Hippo, trust me. Fiona and Warda could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It's centrally located, really close to Long Street with its myriad bars, restaurants and shops. If, like us, you've gone out and done loads in the day and don't want to move too far, there are 3 very good restaurants right next door to the hotel.

The rooms are uber-cool - leather seats, connected computers, flatscreens, enormous double bed, pristine bathroom and kitchenette, and chic decor that wouldn't look out of place at a design convention. Couple that with excellent value, and you're on to a sure-fire winner. Exceptional hotel - keep it up guys, and thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpFlatDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lovely room - ours had a view of Table Mountain. Funky furniture and useful to have a kitchenette. No hob, but it had a microwave, kettle, fridge etc. there is a food store just around the corner if needed and Long and Loop St are great to walk down. Loads of good shops and restaurants. And the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Definitely 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had just a one day/night stopover in Cape Town and I was happy we chose to stay at the Hippo Boutique Hotel. It is centrally located in a great part of town, very close to all of the shops and restaurants on Long Street but far enough away to feel that you are in a relaxed little neighborhood in Cape Town. There are also plenty of boutiques, restaurants, and grocery stores within minutes of the hotel. The hotel itself has a modern and trendy feel to it. We had one of the standard rooms which was large and comfortable. The wifi worked well, which is always a plus.

The staff is great, very friendly and welcoming. One morning the shower in our room ran out of hot water and the woman at the front desk immediately arranged for him to have access to one of the suites so that he could take a shower. The best part of our stay here, however, was the price. We paid $100 US dollars for the night, which is a great value for the location and quality of the hotel/room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMK490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoy visiting this hotel and would highly recommend that you visit to experience it for yourself. The rooms are trendy and well maintained, the staff is friendly and it is conveniently situated close to the City Center, V&A waterfront and Table Mountain. This hotel is the ultimate place for long stays as their rooms are equipped with a kitchenette and even a computer which you won't find in many hotels. Awesome place and cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Take2Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a pretty long stay in Cape Town (almost 2 weeks) at this hotel, long enough to observe any possible shortfall. There were none. Excellent location in Gardens, walking distance to downtown, Long St., and a number of attractions. The hotel room itself was comfortable and immaculate, with kitchenette, WIFI and a computer in our room. Despite the lively restaurant/bar scene surrounding the hotel, we were never bothered.

But the real plus for this hotel (and why I give it a 5 rating) is its staff. What a remarkable group of people staffing this hotel. The desk is open and ready to support guests 24 hours. They help arrange tours, transport, and have a lot of good advice about the area and Cape Town in general. They never, ever failed to work with us on anything we needed and were really attentive on communicating between us and our host during our stay. They arranged our transport to and from the airport and even provided us with extra space and comfort as we waited for our evening flight.

I am sure there are other places to stay in Cape Town, but I don't need to know about them because I will always return to the Hippo Boutique Hotel and would advise anyone to do so for comfort, security, price, help, and all that makes a visit to Cape Town memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwelburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews