We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B has a new standard H&B”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #21 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Twentytwo Cape Town takes B&B to a new level. You can’t say it is an Bed & Breakfast, it is a “
Home & Breakfast”. So as of this day there will be B&B’s and H&B’s. The owners, Allan and Dominic, give you the feeling of being not only a guest but a friend visiting their house. The house is beautiful, the interior design vibrant and the rooms of excellent quality. They truly followed the concept of “if we were guests, would we stay here”. Also the staff members are great and give you the feeling of being welcome. Absolutely the place to stay when you are in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 498 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

A terrific haven of tranquility and style . Dominic and Allan made our stay perfect from the moment we arrived, you feel as if they are always looking to make your stay more enjoyable.The rooms are all beautiful and spotless.Location is perfect . Breakfast is particularly good , fresh fruit salads a highlight as well as Allans English breakfast,probably better than at home, eg silky smooth scrambled eggs grilled bacon etc.Congratulations on your top notch venue and thanks for looking after our family of 5.

Room Tip: best city view rooms are 2, 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Perfect location in the City Bowl - and without any trafic noise!! Room 3 is massive as was the bathroom. Wonderful city views. What sets 22 appart is the attention to detail from hosts Allan and Dom - wonderful people and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for a week and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is was my 3rd stay here. The previous 2 stays took place in 2007 and 2008. I rated it 5/5 then and I do so again now.

There is very little if anything one could or would want to improve upon.

It was nice to see some of the new touches and details of decor that were added since I was last here, and also nice to see how most things were unchanged. Rooms now have DSTV, not that we used it much, but nice to have.

Allan and Dominic welcomed me (us) like old friends even though it had been 4 years since I last saw them. Their hosting skills come naturally and are genuine, and this is what makes any stay here so wonderful.

Keep in mind also that with inflation pretty rampant in SA, their rates, especially with an early booking discount, are still some of the most competitive you will find anywhere in Cape Town.

Perfection, is all I can say.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write another very useful and informative review on twentytwo with the added perspective of a second return to us and with the passage of 4 years to judge how we have fared in the intervening period!

Both of us were delighted to read that the changes we've made to the guesthouse were noted and yet the essence of the place, in your view, remains the same.

One small correction to what you wrote is that we've had DSTV pay-tv installed since opening twentytwo in 2006, but what has changed, since 2008 at the time of your last visit, is that flat-screen televisions and DVD players have been added to all of the bedrooms.

We were also pleased to read that with the benefits of early booking and the discounts we have been offering during the 2012/13 Season, twentytwo, in your experience of visiting Cape Town, remains competively priced.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future!

Best wishes

Dominic & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I chose Twentytwo based on all the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and I wasn’t disappointed. Alan and Dominic were such welcoming and friendly hosts. My room was spacious and beautifully decorated. I was offered tea on my arrival and felt immediately at home. Breakfast was served on the deck by the pool and consisted of a lovely fruit salad, yoghurt, and muesli, with fresh orange juice (I passed on the option of a cooked breakfast). A wonderful stay and I would definitely stay with Alan and Dominic again!

Room Tip: ask for rooms 2, 3 and 4 which have a balcony and view of the city. I was in room 1 which faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review of twentytwo.

It's good for us to have a viewpoint from somebody living in South Africa herself and hope, the next time you're in Cape Town for business, to lure you away for good from the larger chain hotels you normally are placed in!

Have a great Jo'burg Christmas and thanks again for your very positive comments about what we strive to achieve here at twentytwo.

Dominic & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very well situated allowing easy access by car to everything Cape Town has to offer. Room was big with a nice size bathroom with both bath and shower and quality complimentary products. If you are fed up sitting in your room there is a communal lounge and outside area with pool.
Alan and Dominic are friendly, helpful and knowledgable hosts and will guide you in the right direction for whatever you want to do in and around Cape Town.
Well worth the visit and on our list for next time we visit South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms three and four have a nice balcony with city views and are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davecorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the first prompt and courteous emails from Dominic to the fantastic breakfasts provided by Allan I can't begin to tell you about the fabulous hospitality provided by these two men. I work for Disney Parks and I know all about how to make magic for guests and exceed expectations and our stay at twentytwo definitely exceeded expectations. Their advice for sightseeing that catered to our individual needs as well as the great restaurant recommendations were fabulous. They can easily size up their guests and provide personalized recommendations based on their guests input. The most outstanding part was breakfast. My husband and I have gluten sensitivity and eat gluten free. Allan specifically purchased gluten-free bread for us to eat. Not only was it gluten free, but it was fabulous. I have not had gluten free bread this good in the United States. Additionally he asked us what we normally eat for breakfast. We told him about this green shake we make every morning. The next few mornings he made the green shake for us. Completely unexpected and above and beyond the call of duty. While Capetown and the environs were wonderful, the best part of our visit was meeting Allan and Dominic!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspiredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you so much for writing what you wrote about how we do things here at twentytwo - greatly appreciated!

We are of the size (ie small!) to cater, as much as we can, to our individual guest's needs and to listen properly to people coming to twentytwo, prior to and during their stay with us.

Your comments endorse what we aim to achieve here and hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you both back to twentytwo and Cape Town some time in the future!

Very best wishes

Dominic & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,110 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#26 of 156 in Cape Town Central
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
289 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing