We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactusberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cactusberry Lodge
Ranked #49 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Stendal, Germany
1 review
“Perfect Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights at Cactusberry Lodge. The service was excellent from the beginning. The email booking procedure was very professional and efficient and when we arrived the outstanding service continued - super friendly and helpful staff!
The interior is really stylish and unique, the rooms are cosy. The expectations we had from the website were absolutely fullfilled.
The location is perfect - near to Longstreet and the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grünstadt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Cactusberrry Lodge and felt extremely comfortable! Everybody was very helpful and attentive. We got great tips where to dine/to go and no question was unanswered. The house is located at the footsteps of the Table Mountain. The view from the upper deck is great - the Table Mountain is right there. Very impressive. Also perfectly located near the center for evening trips with the taxi which does not cost much. We felt safe due to the gated yard where 4 cars can be parked.Our room was very cosy and clean. It feels like home and you are treated as a friend, not as a stranger. In case we will visit Cape Town again we wll definately stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful time at Cactusberry Lodge! Anke & Hartmut, Germany

  • Liked — Service, location, cleanliness, breakfast, atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank altenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed in Cactusberry Lodge for 4 nights in Feb 2008 and were really surprised by the very good value for money offered here. The house is beautifully decorated and in a quiet and safe road not that far from the main shopping Road Long St./Kloof St. (around 10-15 min. by foot).
We had booked the cheapest room which turned out to be a very good choice. It was not as large as the other rooms, but nicely decorated and with a very nice + clean bahroom. Breakfast was very good with handmade stuff every morning. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poda_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cactusberry for five nights while in SA for a wedding. I reached out to them via email through their website, and they were so pleasant right from the start! The experience: suburban, low-key area in a nice location, great rooms, delicious breakfast every morning in the dining area, a den/lounge area upstairs, a patio on the first floor and sundeck on the second floor. Because there were only 5 other rooms, it was very intimate and felt like this was our Cape Town home away from home. We got to know some of the other couples there, and by the end of our stay everyone was chatting it up comfortably. There are some great restaurants nearby and a shopping mall (Garden Center, which is a great landmark for taxis) just up the street for last-minute toiletries, accessories, etc. We loved our experience and plan to stay there during future visits to Cape Town!

  • Liked — The staff and the accomodations... the personalized attention... the breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Poor internet connection, with good reason (it's supposed to be vacation!!)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnderTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at the Cactusberry Lodge, and what a gorgeous little place this is.
The lodge / villa only has 6 rooms, a breakfast room, a lounge area and a small court yard with tables and a splash pool. Overall extremely well presented / decorated and with and intimate feel.
Our room was not overly large but was beautifully decorated in the African design style with a lovely large bed. There is limited cubbard space, which can be a little tricky for longstays.
We had an ensuite bathroom with a good working shower, some rooms have shared bathroom, but all very nice and clean.
We also has a small well equipped kitchenette.
There is also a terrace at the top with loungers and a parasol, and you can see the Table Mountain cable car from there.
Best of all; the staff, they were so attentive, extreme homely and kind. We were asked to fill in a questionaire about our stay, we did this on our second day, suggesting that a fan would be a bonus, and when we got back from our day out, it was in our room. Please note, there is no air con.
Breakfast had everything you need to set you up for a long day exploring Cape Town; good bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, fresh fruit salad, omelets, bacon, etc.
The Cactusberry is located not far from the infamous Mount Nelson, a shortish walk to Long Street and Greenmarket Square. We walked all the way to the Waterfront, it took approx. 40 min. I would say it is in walking distance to all the main attractions but nevertheless a taxi is a must at nighttime.
I cannot believe I am the first to write a review of this lovely place, but of course that makes it a hidden gem.
However, the owner Barbara, an extremely nice German woman, mentioned that they are nearly fully booked until March, so it could be, that people have tried to get in but with no luck.
I can highly recommend this place, it is cute, well decorated and homely, with really nice and helpful staff.
No doubt we will have our room booked next time we visit Cape Town!

  • Liked — The athmosphere; really calm, relaxing and homely
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#57 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#39 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#35 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#25 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactusberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactusberry Lodge

Property: Cactusberry Lodge
Address: Bredastreet 30 | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactusberry Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 Star guesthouse, quietly but centrally situated in leafy Oranjezicht, 200m from the Gardens Shopping Centre and 10-15 mins walk to Green Market Sq, Long Str. and the CBD. All our rooms are en suite with fans/heating, coffee/tea facilities, fridges, some with kitchnette or private patio. We also have off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cactusberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactusberry Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing