We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th retreat”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed at Alta Bay this jan for my husbands 40th and we could not have started our trip off in a better fashion.On arrival ( first visit to cape town) we were impressed with the beautiful villa set in the area of Higgovale. Secluded gardens and modern, stylish interior we had booked the Bay room which was recommended by one of TA reviews and indeed was a sure bet with large bathroom and pleasant airy feel to the room. There really is so much I could add to sing the praises of this boutique hotel...the complimentary champagne and strawberries on my husbands birthday, the ever ending helpfullness of Verona and Hermanus, who could not have done more to assist us with table reservations (each evening) and general tips on touring the area . We both work in the service industry and expect perfection on so many things and the staff at Alta Bay did not let us down.The little touches go a long way- a free bar downstairs that you can access at any time if you fancy a glass of wine before dinner- water and fruit in the room every day and a cd playing in your room on your return each night. My husband fell in love with the villa and could have easily bought it but i just wanted to return and end our stay in SA rather than Ezard House ( over camps bay ) who couldseriously take a leaf out of their book any day !!!! simply too good to miss a visit!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pzazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 375 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2007

Just back from a trip around the world, including the Far East, we feel the urge to write about our stay at Alta bay.
We are a spoilt travellers, we must admit. But what we have experienced at Alta Bay beats everything!!!
The location, on the slopes of Table Mountain, is far enough from the busy-ness of this Metropole but close enough to reach every spot in just a few minutes drive. Or a bit longer, a walk for the experienced!!!
Once you have entered the door from the street side, you are in a quite garden, with stairs, levels and beautifull and cosy corners to feel privat.
You are welcomed on top of the stairs by the staff, who carry your luggage later on. The outside feels a bit French/Italien because of the taupe and regal blue paint and the outside shutters. Also the roof tops give a Mediteranean feeling to it all.
You are taken to a very welcoming Living Room, modern and very stylish and warm. Not only because of the working Fire place, when needed. But also because of the colour combinations and the furniture used. Fresh flowers!!
There is where the check-in is done, very informal, while you enjoy your hot-drink. When it is cold-drink weather, the check-in is done on the terras outside, overlooking the Waterfront.
After the formalities you are taken to your room. These are also very stylish and warm. Everything you need is there, including fresh fruit and water. What ever you miss, can be arranged.
In the living room a Library full of books, magazines and DVD`s.
The staff will be pleased to help you with arrangements for theater, lunch/dinner and day trips.
One of the surprises was a personalized letter on your bed at night, and the weather forecasts, World News and tips. While you read this, you enjoy the music from a CD which the staff had thoughtfully picked out for you.
After a good night sleep in the PERFECT beds, it is Breakfast Time. A buffet with fresh fruit (and not just apple and grapefruit, no, all kinds of berries and pineapple), salmon, cheeses, jams, freshly baked croissants and muffins. And of course any style of egg to order. The staff is around to cater to every desire. And....the coffee is perfect!!!!
What more do we need to tell, we would say....go and experience it yourself!!! We left there a month ago and still remember every detail and more important....the feeling we had with this all.
Marjolijn and Mieneke, living in Holland.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank Mien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank RichardHThorndyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank wwtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank GlobalHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.3 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
1 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $113 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing