We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le meilleur guesthouse et la plus charmante reception que j ai jamais pu experimente (et j en ai fait beaucoup dans ma vie!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“Le meilleur guesthouse et la plus charmante reception que j ai jamais pu experimente (et j en ai fait beaucoup dans ma vie!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

At an enjoyable walking distance from the central Government street, yet one feels totally in suburbia, thanks to the charming green garden, terraces and cutest poolside. The best part though was the personalised service and useful information the inviting owner-pair showed us throughout our wonderful 2-day stay! We found it a new home far away!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artjhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    47
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
196
39
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time in Cape Town. Many thanks to Laure at Alta Bay for making our stay a very comfortable and most enjoyable one. A lovely clean and spacious loft room was a great base for our family. Everything is within reach from such a great location.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank The4chequers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Alta Bay for 2 nights and had an amazing time. The staff were friendly and helpful in marking out the area on maps, recommending restaurants and helping us to check whether Table Mountain were open. The hotel is in a residential area, which meant it was quiet and peaceful but still centrally located so that you were close to all the main sights. We had rented a car and parking was available by the side of the road. The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. We had a fantastic time here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I spent just one day at this place and have stayed in a few places in CT. The hosts are so kind and truly want to make sure each host has a good time. They took a lot of time to explain to me what the different paths to table mountain are and that was really helpful. It's great to recharge and the location is close to table mountain. I had a great stay and will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSY28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We just spent a week here in 'The Loft' and loved every minute of it. The location is very convenient for everything Cape Town has to offer. The grounds are amazing and our room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and relaxing. The owners and staff were super-friendly, super-helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We'd give this place a 11 out of 10 :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainGoatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Alta Bay is situated on the slopes of the table mountain above the city centre but still very close to everything in a exclusive residential area. The house is surrounded by a lush green garden with a small pool and you take a couple of stairs down from the street to reach the rooms. The rooms are spacious, very clean and offer every comfort including a private terrace and a small kitchen. The bathroom was on the small side but moder and well equipped, too.

Staff and owner are very friendly, the service is professionally invisible. We loved our stay here and can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed for 3 days at the Alta Bay in February and loved my time there. Stephan and Laure were wonderful – discreet in giving privacy when wanted but at the same time also present when needed – whether it were directions for hiking up Table Mountain – great hike, Stephan! – or recommendations for cool restaurants, helping with arrangements for tours/taxis etc – thanks, Laure! I stayed at the Garden room which was spacious with all essential amenities; the outside patio was lovely for outdoor meals/drinks and the hammock the perfect place to chill after that Table Mountain hike. The guest house setting itself is fabulous, a real oasis to look forward to come back to after exploring CT. It’s located high up on the slopes of Table Mountain, within easy walking distance to Kloof Street and just a short, cheap cab ride to CT’s major attractions (even MyCity bus has a stop close by). When returning to CT, I’d definitely stay at the Alta Bay again, then trying out the loft which looked amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDK282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Antrim Villa
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
City Bowl
Kensington Place
Kensington Place
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Property: Alta Bay
Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing