We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at Alta Bay 2 nights in August 2013. I have done a lot of researches on Tripadvisor before selecting this place, and I have to say I have been very satisfied with my choice. There couldn't be a better place to stay in Cape Town. The neighborhod is wonderful, set at the foot of table mountain, surrounded by beautiful vegetation and with amazing views down to the city and the ocean. We had a very warm welcome from the owners who showed us around the place and gave us lot of tips on the city and the cape. We stayed in the Bay Suite which is really impressive, with so much space, a side patio with a small pool and a fantastic private balcony where you can sit and enjoy the panorama and the peace of the place.
We will definitely go back here if ever again in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles-Noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

After 14 days of intense travelling through SA, we stayed 4 days at Alta
Bay! It's a fantastic, quiet guesthouse with stunning views over the bay and
yet close to town! We enjoyed the Bay Suite, our private terrace and the
service of the house. Beulah and Stephan are very friendly and helpful.
Their tips of the restaurants were valuable. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaGr8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Absolutely fabulous!! total luxury and tranquility. wonderfully situated
heights cape town, this guest house offers the best combination of rest and
close to shops and the beach. it is the ideal place to be. the owners are
great and gave us information on the many opportunities of this fantastic
city. I just wish that i good have stayed longer than 4 days. you really
need to allow extra time. top address!! you definitely need a car when
staying there. to walk up is very steep.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thanks to stephan and beulah for giving us such an unforgettable experience at your lovely guest house. it gave us an energy boost to start our hectic life again. The views are breathtakingly beautiful. we highly recommend this as a quite, beautiful and quite cocoon in nature, yet only 2 km from town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_janssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice host, surroundings and accommodation, almost like being at home, luxury and cosy. The loft was the perfect place for our yearly 2 weeks break away with our 7 year old son. The location is perfect, just out of the city center, but close enough to be able to have a dinner and lunch out.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at mid August. Which is Winter there and off season. The owners were amazing. Taking time to help with my itinerary and touring plans for my 4 days in town. They were exceedingly patient with me with emailed questions prior to arrival. The rooms were beautiful. I stayed in the Bay Suite which had its own private terrace with oranges growing over the rail. Exceptionally clean and spacious, and because of location really quiet. I found the location to be in the nicer area of town and felt safe walking about.
It is up in the hills so walking is fine going downhill, but can be some exercise coming back up. Fortunately taxis are extremely cheap by North American/European standards. There are great restaurants and cafes in the area and the owners can help you with locating them.

Room Tip: One thing to note: the cable car up the mountain is closed for maintenance during their winters But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nabiclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful guest house in the heart of the city. The rooms are wonderfully furnished, with a modern, luxurious, yet home-like feel. The owners have a beautiful African artwork collection that shows off the continent's array of talents. Most breathtaking was the stunning views of the city, Table Mountain, and the ocean from various terraces. Walking around the neighborhood was a delight! The house is also in easy walking distance of the city center and various good restaurants. Very close to the cable way which leads up the mountain. I highly recommend this guest house to discerning travelers who want privacy, luxury, and proximity to the city. Barbara, Washington DC

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The One 8 Hotel
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $127 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing