We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a holiday”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“what a holiday”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Me and my wife recently took a holiday in Cape Town, South Africa. We stayed at Alta Bay and we had booked there. The hosts of this place are wonderful and well aware of in and outs of Cape Town. But most of all we loved the place-super.

Room Tip: Book the loft! wonderful views and nice outer deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    47
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
201
40
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Alta Bay is a great guest house I would recommend everybody when they travel to Cape Town. Stephan and Beulah are very welcoming, warm, helpful and fun to be with. I had the best time ever. Beautiful rooms and breathtaking garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thanks to our charming hosts Stephan and Beulah for giving us such a memorable relaxing stay at your lovely guest house. Your garden is impressively beautiful. It gave us an energy boost to start our hectic life again. The views are breathtakingly beautiful. I strongly recommend this as a quite, beautiful cocoon in nature only 3 km from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I chose Alta Bay because of the reviews here at trip advisor. We were not let down. in fact, the hotel exceeded our expectations. The owner was so nice and helpful when we were trying to plan some activities to do in the city. She also made sure that our stay was going well. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything. Being in an amazing hotel in a great part of the city gave us the "cape town coma". We loved our trip and being at Alta Bay just made our trip that much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Alta Bay is a fine, restful, guest house, set in shaded gardens on the lower slopes of Table Mountain. The rooms, in the main building and in annexes at different levels within the grounds, are attractively decorated and furnished. The owners are very welcoming, helpful and efficient. The attractive, quiet, suburban location is about 3km from the city centre and about 1.5km from the nearest cafes and restaurants on Kloof St. Best to have a car if you're going to stay here. Cars may be parked without charge on the street.

Our experience at Alta Bay was very good, as we expected from the most expensive accommodation of our trip around Western cape.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RogerC345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Alta bay was a great alternative if you want nice spacious and peacfull accomodation, without the need of hotel amenities such as a restaurant, gym etc.

The location was beautifull, and great for running and walking around table mountain and signal hill. Situated between the city and camps bay we also felt that is was fairly easy getting around from there.

The Loft was a great room with plenty of space, and our kitchen, and the saff (including the cas pasha) were really sweet and helpull with regards to anything we needed help with.

Room Tip: The loft was very nice, but next time i think we would preffer the bay suite, to get the sunny balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We both do a lot of travelling for both business and pleasure and I'm sorry to say that more often than not, hotels do not live up to expectation. Alta Bay was a wonderful surprise, it sells itself short on the website. Stephan is the perfect host and made us feel as if we were guests in his home, Alta Bay has a relaxed and tranquil feel and Stephan manages to make you feel welcome and pops up to have a chat and offer assistance whilst simultaneously giving you lots of privacy. We stayed in the Bay View Suite and it was wonderful. It's quiet, totally private and secluded and has a lovely courtyard and a little balcony which overlooks the sea in the distance. The room is extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It has a large walk in wardrobe, so you don't have to have bags lying around the room which makes you feel more at home. We hired a soft top convertible car whilst we were there (Wiggle Car Hire) and Stephan even parked one of their own cars on the street overnight to offer us the garage. This was unprompted by us and just another sign of how thoughtful they are. We can't recommend Alta Bay highly enough and wouldn't stay anywhere else when we next visit. The location is also fabulous - it's a very desirable residential area extremely close to everything. There are literally no negatives about Alta Bay. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: The Bay View Suite has lots of light, privacy, is extremely quiet and has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Antrim Villa
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Property: Alta Bay
Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing