We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic-Peaceful Alta Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic-Peaceful Alta Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We spent 5 days @ Alta Bay and for sure this stop in our South-African Trip was one of the hotspots .
The view we had on Table Mountain and Lion's Head from there is great .
The fact that it's so close to town, Camps Bay and the acces to the N1,2 and 3 is also great .
Breakfast is nice and rich but not necessary, prefered to take it in the room with the view on the bay .
Rooms are full of space and the owners are very discrete but still acessible for any suggests on things to do and spots where to eat. Don't forget to book your sunsetcruise departing from Waterfront (Stephan booked a lovely sailingboat for us) . We really recommend AltaBay as a stop in Capetown . Aristide (Belgium)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aristide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    47
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
197
40
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

I spent a week at Alta Bay and will sure come back next year. The rooms are big and you have everything you need there. If not the owners will make sure you get it. They were very nice and helpful to give advise on what to do in Cape Town and all the wonderful trails in the mountains. I enjoyed the beauty of their garden with the majestic trees.
chantal from Spain

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chantal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great time in Cape town and our stay at Alta Bay contributed to this perfect experience: nice large and modern rooms with a lot of privacy. We enjoyed the small plunge pool and sun deck before or after our visits and walks. Alta Bay is very well located, just a few minutes by taxi from center/ town but also so close to Table mountain or on the way to Camps Bay.
Staff and owners are very helpful and discrete.

Room Tip: Room with plunge pool if you like the sun and refresh .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent few days at Alta Bay in March 2012. Service was excellent. Alta Bay is very nice, intimate, cosy, very clean. It's situated close to Table Mountain, Camps Bay. In a nutshell all was fantastic. The owners of Alta Bay (Stephan and his wife) was very helpful and lovely. Alta Bay is a recommendable place in Cape Town. I can recommend all of you. For sure I'll come back there next time being in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaGdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Alta Bay is the best. Their staff is so helpful when it comes to accommodation booking. They take you through the booking process with patience and professionalism. Their services are excellent and they look after the guests very well. I would recommend Alta Bay to anyone and everyone looking for accommodation in Cape Town. A big thanks to Stephan the Owner who ensure that their guest are in good care.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teboho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent 4 days at Alta Bay at the beginning of a 3 week trip to South Africa and Botswana. As a rule we prefer to stay at small, intimate hotels or guesthouses, so Alta Bay is not for the traveler who prefers large luxury hotels. Alta Bay did not disappoint and in fact exceeded our expectations. Stephan and Beulah were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to arrange taxis and other transportation for us. Stephan arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, which is always a great relief after over 24 hours of air travel and arriving for the first time in a new country. He gave us numerous tips on things to do, including walking tours and hiking on Table Mountain, and booked the Robben Island tour for me. We very much enjoyed the location and found the walks up and down the hill invigorating and enjoyable. We felt like we were staying at the lovely home of friends rather than at a hotel. If you are seeking a genuine experience, this is the place for you. I would definitely go back if we are in Capetown again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rellandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

A nice, pretty place to stay in the suburbs.

With a nice view of the mountains from over the fence.

You have the option of sun at the top of the terrace, or a cooler climate in the garden down below.

The owners were lovely, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

The rooms are a generous size - and all unique.

I would stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Garden and fountain room for cooler, and quieter experience. Pool and Loft rooms for even more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Antrim Villa
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Property: Alta Bay
Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing