We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
329
53
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
53
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay room guest house table mountain personal service a lovely place to stay quiet neighborhood self catering visit cape town mother city fantastic stay western cape wi fi stephan loft hosts accommodation waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 386 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I spent a week at Alta Bay and will sure come back next year. The rooms are big and you have everything you need there. If not the owners will make sure you get it. They were very nice and helpful to give advise on what to do in Cape Town and all the wonderful trails in the mountains. I enjoyed the beauty of their garden with the majestic trees.
chantal from Spain

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank chantal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great time in Cape town and our stay at Alta Bay contributed to this perfect experience: nice large and modern rooms with a lot of privacy. We enjoyed the small plunge pool and sun deck before or after our visits and walks. Alta Bay is very well located, just a few minutes by taxi from center/ town but also so close to Table mountain or on the way to Camps Bay.
Staff and owners are very helpful and discrete.

Room Tip: Room with plunge pool if you like the sun and refresh .
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent few days at Alta Bay in March 2012. Service was excellent. Alta Bay is very nice, intimate, cosy, very clean. It's situated close to Table Mountain, Camps Bay. In a nutshell all was fantastic. The owners of Alta Bay (Stephan and his wife) was very helpful and lovely. Alta Bay is a recommendable place in Cape Town. I can recommend all of you. For sure I'll come back there next time being in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniaGdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Alta Bay is the best. Their staff is so helpful when it comes to accommodation booking. They take you through the booking process with patience and professionalism. Their services are excellent and they look after the guests very well. I would recommend Alta Bay to anyone and everyone looking for accommodation in Cape Town. A big thanks to Stephan the Owner who ensure that their guest are in good care.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teboho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent 4 days at Alta Bay at the beginning of a 3 week trip to South Africa and Botswana. As a rule we prefer to stay at small, intimate hotels or guesthouses, so Alta Bay is not for the traveler who prefers large luxury hotels. Alta Bay did not disappoint and in fact exceeded our expectations. Stephan and Beulah were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to arrange taxis and other transportation for us. Stephan arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, which is always a great relief after over 24 hours of air travel and arriving for the first time in a new country. He gave us numerous tips on things to do, including walking tours and hiking on Table Mountain, and booked the Robben Island tour for me. We very much enjoyed the location and found the walks up and down the hill invigorating and enjoyable. We felt like we were staying at the lovely home of friends rather than at a hotel. If you are seeking a genuine experience, this is the place for you. I would definitely go back if we are in Capetown again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rellandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews