We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is located just underneath table mountain and from the upper terrace has a nice, yet limited, view over the city. The area itself is very secure and in Cape Towns 'posher' area with 24h security.

The hotel itself is very beautiful, always clean and very trendy, great interior. Feels indeed like a home away from home. Due to the fact that the hotel has not too many rooms it feels very intimate and you don't often meet fellow guests, except at breakfast. The rooms are very nice and clean. Only downside is the too small pool.

The staff was always very helpful and has organised many trips for us and made the stay as stressless as possible with nothing to worry about, also going to the gym (Virgin Active) wasn't a problem. The staff was always available, yet very discreet and more in the background.

The food itself - breakfast that is - was nice. Not too much and not too varied but enough. The staff at breakfast is also very friendly and chatty, which is nice.

Pro: Great area (yet a bit further away from the centre and the beaches - about 15 min), great boutique hotel, very stylish and clean, great staff from managers to cleaning staff, wonderful rooms, great food.

Contra: The pool is very small, a bit more variety at breakfast would be great.

A fantastic little hidden gem just underneath table mountain. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLondon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 375 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I (on holiday from Cesenatico, Italy) visited South Africa for 3 weeks in October and stayed for 4 nights at Alta Bay in Cape Town.

What we loved most about this charming guest house was the fact that it is in close proximity to the beaches, the Waterfront and inner-city, but feels as if it is in the quiet and tranquil countryside. Our suite, the Bay Suite, had wonderful views of both the city and the sea; was spacious and very comfortable. The inside and outside living areas are also beautifully designed with a homely, but elegant feel. We also enjoyed chatting with the hosts, Stephan and Beaula and found them to be very helpful and knowledgable about what to see and do during our visit.

We (my husband and I)have a small tour operating business and we will definitely be sending our clients, who want to visit South Africa, to stay in the beautiful Alta Bay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Bay Suite has wonderful sea and city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I recently completed a trip of several weeks to South Africa, which included seven nights at the Alta Bay in Cape Town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it to be of very good value.

We had initially struggled to find a location that would be willing to accommodate our young son as well, but the booking experience with the owner, Stephan, was both efficient and very welcoming.

The property is gorgeous; the setting is intimate, stylish and serene. We stayed in the Loft which was spacious and well-appointed, and had access to a lovely sitting area outside.

We found the location in Higgovale to be excellent for traveling in and out of the city (having a car is ideal). The self-catering dimension of the hotel worked well for us (although breakfast can be arranged though Stephan) as the room had plenty of kitchen space and there are a couple of excellent breakfast options in the neighborhood.

Stephan and Beulah were charming and helpful hosts, and we look forward to returning next year. We would be happy to recommend the Alta Bay to anyone looking for a special stay in Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Firstly, I have to say that Stephan and his wife Beulah were charming hosts, who made it clear they were always available if we needed anything. As other reviewers have stated, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, in a lovely garden setting, close to Table Mountain.....BUT...some things have changed.

Our arrival at Alta Bay caused some surprise. Although we had a confirmed booking Stephan was not expecting us. We learned the place had been closed for some months, undergoing renovations, and was still in the process of being painted. Stephan informed us we would be the first guests to experience the "new" Alta Bay, which now no longer included breakfast or an open bar, and was now R500 cheaper.

We paid R1700 a night, which was almost double what we paid for similar accommodation in Jo'burg (Rutland House) and Durban (Rosetta House) both of which included a beautiful home cooked breakfast. For 3 of the 4 nights we stayed our television would not work. (Stephan was quick to call in a TV technician, but the technician not so quick to turn up!!)

Alta Bay is well set up for self catering and if it had a washing machine/dryer it would be better value for money. We found it necessary to get a taxi everywhere (including the nearest supermarket) as, situated on the mountain as it is, the walk was too steep for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phasmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hypokuus, Owner at Alta Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs. Phasmann,

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments regarding Alta Bay. It is much appreciated since it is only through feedback that we are able to improve on our service. We’d like to apologize again for the technical problem with the satellite as well as the fact that our painter was still busy touching up here and there while you were around.
With regard to your booking, please note that at the time of correspondence (Jan 2011), we were still in the hectic process of moving in and we were under the impression that your booking was actually never confirmed since no deposit was ever paid. I admit it was most probably our mistake... Therefore we tried to accommodate you to the best of our ability at the time when you suddenly showed up at the gate. Please accept again our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With regard to your comment of the “overrated price”, we would like to respond by saying that it would have been more fair if you compared us with similar guest houses in the same up market neighborhood of Cape Town (the most visited city of Africa) located against the slope of Table mountain), as opposed to guest houses in Durban and Johannesburg. Similarly, the average room size in your Johannesburg guesthouse was about 32 square meters while our loft is 70 square meters. One cannot really compare apples with pears.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Kind regards.

Stephan and Beulah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had planned a simple overnight here while touring through South Africa, but slept so well and felt so comfortably tucked away, that we stayed 3 days. Alta Bay turned out to be one of those fantastic surprises you are sometimes lucky to find when traveling... tastefully decorated, incredible views, lush gardens, big breakfasts. A surprise 2nd honeymoon for us! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Alta Bay this April for four wonderful nights. Our travel agent had us booked at the Marriott hotel on the waterfront, which is not our style far too touristy. I searched on the web for this guest house which made our stay personal, relaxing and much more interesting. We could have stayed a month. The rooms were comfortable, and the view from the bedroom was to die for. Stephan (the owner) and his staff are helpful, attentive and easygoing. The breakfast (included) was simple, healthy and delightful, served outdoors. We were given great restaurant recommendations and staff was helpful in directing us to wonderful tours (Cape of Good Hope tour was the best, the township tour could have been better). Located close to Table Mountain, which you can climb in 2- 2.5 hours and is well worth the effort. You simply cannot go wrong with this choice. One note: if you are allergic to cats, let the owner know ahead of time.

Room Tip: two front rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meclough60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Paul and I were in real need of a relaxing holiday after working so hard at home. We couldn't have chosen a better place to unwind, relax and enjoy the hotel, the scenery, the people and each other in such beautiful decor. Not only is the guest house luxurious, calm with great tranquility but the staff was so helpful, smiling and friendly.
We recommend any body in need of a real "time off" to stay there; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.3 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
1 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $113 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing