We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #105 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at the Village Lodge Hotel, Napier Street, from August 31 to 3, 2009 and then came back for another night from September 6 to 7.

The Village Lodge is located in the Cape Quarter or The Village. I fell in love with this part of Cape Town with its colourful little houses and all the restaurants, cafes etc. in the vicinity during a visit earlier this year, and deliberately booked the Village Lodge because I had seen it passing by back then.

And I have not regretted my choice!! I had a great time there
Rooms: Nice and very stylish, like the entire place. The first room (Queen Size bed) was on the ground floor and a bit on the smallish side but very cosy and very clean. And the bed was just great. But I would recommend that room (Queen size, Standard) for "Singles use" only. Might be a bit to small for two people and their luggage, especially if you are staying longer. The room I got for the last night (top floor) was much bigger, and I even had a roof-top terrace to my own. What a pity it rained all the time.. (-:.
Service: Just great!! Every single staff member is extremely friendly, and they go out of their way to help and be of service!! And if you need a recommendation for "cake to die for" to lift your mood on a rainy Sunday - ask Garry the "schocaholic" ((-:. Not to forget the owners!! Excellent guys!!!
Restaurant: Yummy! Very nice and spicy Thai food!
Roof-top terrace: What a view!! The best place for a sundowner! Unfortunately it was too cold and rainy to dip into the little pool.
In summary: I had an excellent time. Everyone at the Village Lodge goes out of his/her way to make you feel comfortable and at home. When you come back after a long day, the whole atmosphere just makes you relax in no time.

Deutsch
Ich war vom 31.-3. August und dann nochmals für eine Nacht vom 6.-7. 2009 September in der Village Lodge.

Das Village Lodge befindet sich im Cape Quarter, oder auch "The Village" oder "The Waterkant" genannt. Bei einem früheren Besuch hatte ich mich in diesen Teil Kapstadts mit seinen bonbonfarbenen Häuschen und kleinen Cafes und Restaurants verliebt. Dabei war mir auch das Village Lodge aufgefallen, dass ich dann für diesen Aufenthalt buchte.

Und ich habe es nicht bereut!
Zimmer: Die Zimmer sind wie das ganze Hotel modern und stylish. Das von mir gebuchte Standard-Queen Size Zimmer im Erdgeschoss war ein wenig kleiner als erwartet aber sauber und gemütlich und das Bett ist sehr bequem. Bei einem längeren Aufenthalt würde ich es allerdings nicht als Doppelzimmer buchen, da es dann mit Gepäck und allem drum wahrscheinlich doch ein wenig eng wird. In der letzten Nacht hatte ich dann allerdings ein großes Zimmer im Obergeschoss mit eigener Dachterrasse. Nur schade, dass es den ganzen Tag geregnet hat und ich den Ausblick über Kapstadt nur kurz genießen konnte... (-:
Service: Wunderbar! Das gesamte Personal ist wahnsinnig freundlich und stets hilfsbereit. Und wenn Sie an einem verregneten Sonntag einen Tipp für großartigen, stimmungshebenden Kuchen brauchen - fragen Sie Garry!!! Und erst die Besitzer!! Immer präsent, immer zu einen Plausch aufgelegt und voller unglaublicher Geschichten.
Restaurant: Sehr leckeres Thai-Food!!
Dachterrasse: Die gemeinsame Dachterrasse ist der Ort um bei einem Sundowner stundenlang über Kapstadt zu schauen. Leider war das Wetter zu schlecht, um den kleinen Pool zu benutzen
Fazit: Ein sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt. Alle im Village Lodge sind stets bemüht, dass der Gast sich wohl und wie zuhause fühlt. Und wenn man nach einem langen Tag zurück ins Hotel kommt, braucht man keine Minute um sich vollkommen zu entspannen!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bxl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

poor standarts of South African service.
very small "shoe box" rooms...there is not even space to open the bathroom door!
som rooms have no vieuw or even no proper windows;....
there is what they call a "suite" located just above a night club....you will be not able to close your eyes before 3am.
a lot of money for no service and NO comfort;

marc

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcCOOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The village lodge is a great hotel when you're visiting Cape Town. Rooms are very modern with just the things you need. Nothing more, nothing less. The Soho restaurant is very good, I will recommend everyone to eat there! Especially good for friends and/or couples in my opinion. Staff is very nice and friendly ( and funny as well ).

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed at the Village Lodge recently and would highly recommend it. The rooms are extremely clean and neat. The Thai food at the SOHO restaurant was excellent. De Waterkant is an extremely safe area, and I felt comfortable walking alone throughout the neighborhood. The location is convenient (walking distance) to the waterfront, city bowl, and many other attractions and nightlife venues. While there is construction going on around the neighborhood, this is the case for all parts of Cape Town in preparation for 2010 World Cup, and the noise is minimal. Finally, the staff at the Village Lodge and SOHO Restaurant create a warm, inviting atmosphere. They are extremely helpful, accommodating, and engaging. We had a fantastic time, and I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klgwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Very clean, very helpful, great value. The Soho restaurant has great thai food, with a very welcoming and accommodating staff. The biggest pitfall is internet is very slow and dodgey if staying in the apartments, however, the internet is great if you are staying within the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I traveled to Cape Town for a study abroad program and was fortunate to stay for 6 weeks at The Village Lodge.

Staff/Service
The Village Lodge had one of the most friendly and accommodating staffs that I have experienced. Everyone - the owners, managers, waitors, maids,etc. - were not only welcoming, but they were more than helpful in that they went above and beyond to ensure that our visit was memorable. They provided advice regarding sight-seeing, nightlife, culture, restaurants, etc., and I don't think I once saw the maid without a smile on her face. Just an example -- I locked myself out of my apartment on two occasions, and the manager happily walked to my apartment w/ me to unlock the door.

Location
If not for the staff, the location would be the best feature of the Village Lodge. The V & A Waterfront, Long Street (shops & clubs), and many restaurants are within walking distance, and sites such as Table Mountain & District 6 museum are a short cab ride away (They may still be within walking distance depending on your energy). Additionally, there are a number of small shops and coffee houses in the area. Most importantly, however, I never felt unsafe in the area, even though I am a girl in my 20s.

Rooms
The apartments were comfortable & trendy. Though the design of the rooms or apartments varies, each has its own perks, including heated floors, swimming pools, hot tubs, large living rooms, balconies, washers/dryers, etc. There is nothing flawed with the rooms. Most have internet access; however, guests that do not have a computer or internet access, Soho (the Thai restaurant associated with Village Lodge) provides free access to a computer and/or internet. The only issue I can think of is that the lights in my room was a little dim, but that is about it.

Food
Soho is amazing. End of story.

Honestly, I had a great time in Cape Town, but the staff truly made the 6 weeks memorable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Great experience staying here. I am a business traveler and was bit skeptical at first since I always book myself in 'known names' like Mariott, Sheraton etc. Was visiting Cape Town for a Book Fair at the Convention Center and stayed here for 4 nights. The construction that everyone talks about in the reviews below is over (the building is done), so there was no discomfort. The owner is a very nice and friendly person and they run the place professionally. Very clean, great breakfast (included), bar, Thai restaurant and ambiance. Free internet in the rooms. 10 mins to major tourist attractions and located in a trendy and safe neighborhood. Friendly and courteous staff.

Stay here, its a great place and experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#85 of 109 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#454 of 943 in Cape Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#40 of 127 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#102 of 155 in Cape Town Central
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 155 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing