We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed - great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really impressed - great experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The visit commenced with a fantastic greeting at reception, couldn't be more helpful. The accommodation was spacious, very clean with all the essentials of an apartment. Food freshly cooked in front of you. Feel safe in the surrounding area with public safety officers walking around the location all the way down to the water front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear PRS333

Thank you for the super review! Really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    124
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
76
90
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

very nice, actually incredibly huge, rooms with full separate living area, couches, chairs, TVs, balcony, kitchen, dishwasher, laundry, everything. very comfortable beds. very clean rooms. quiet area. no noise from neighboring rooms. GREAT value

internet quality is pretty good.

perfect for business or vacation.

the staff are ALL smiling, nice, kind and genuinely interested in being helpful

breakfast is good, other meals are just OK, not great, but I can't be more negative because everyone in this place is TOO nice

will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflier8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Frequentflier8080

Thank you! Your comments are very kind!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel in the first half of September (i.e, the beginning of the spring season in South Africa).

The room was simply wonderful: a very large living room with sofa, armchair, TV, table, desk, etc.; a well equipped kitchen; a very nice bedroom (with a second LCD TV); a large bathroom with a huge shower and a bath tube. Every part of the hotel looked very clean and well-finished. The staff was very kind in assisting me on any requests. The breakfast was simply perfect: there was every kind of food and everything was really good!

The location of the hotel is excellent too (it is in the city center, 1 walking min to CTICC, and 5 min to the waterfront).

The only issues were: 1) the bathroom was quite cold and 2) during the night some cold air came from outside the (closed) window of the bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear drepi,

Thank you for the detailed feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Cape Town with us.
Truly appreciate your wonderful comments.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a boutique, all suite hotel hidden in the centre of town and surrounded by huge, skyscraper, faceless hotels.
The eighty plus suites are exceptionally large and very well appointed with fridge, freezer, cooker, micro wave and even a washing machine and dryer. My suite was on the fourth floor overlooking a tree lined square adjacent to the International Conference Centre and a ten minute walk to the famous Waterfront. It was kept beautifully clean with morning and night service by friendly, attentive staff. The resturuant is pleasant and adequate producing a very good buffet breakfast and with world class resturuants all around you won't need it further. The gym is small and lacking facilities as is the pool on the top floor but these are the only draw backs from awarding the hotel five star status. I spent a very enjoyable week here and all of the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home and after sampling life in a luxurious suite, I will not be staying in hotels rooms anymore. At least not in Cape Town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Giltedged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Giltedged,

Thank you for your kind review and the super compliments!
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience life at our luxury suites when your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently stayed as two couples and two children in the Protea North Wharf suite on the 7th floor. It has three rooms, a living area and open plan kitchenette. this is a perfect setting for a family holiday in December at a reasonable price. The V&A waterfront is 15 minutes walk away, there is a pizza place just outside the front door and a gym. if you rent the suite and go up one floor you get to the roof on which a beautiful pool is build in a wooden deck. I think overall this hotel is good value for money for work or play.

Room Tip: If you go as a family, the suites on the 7th floor is a good choice. Otherwise any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DewaldV

Thank you for the great review!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Cape Town.

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

great hotel for long stay business people. well situated in the middle of the city. Large living area with kitchen kitted out with smeg appliances. walking distance to cticc, station, central shopping node and waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear CapeTownDebbie

Thank you so much for your great review and kind comments you have shared.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel North Wharf soon.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first stop in South Africa, and it was a wonderful welcome to the country. Very warm and attentive staff provided everything we asked for at check-in. The room was huge and very well equipped, including even a washer/dryer. A great location near the waterfront and downtown entertainment areas. No drawbacks whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Gdn101

Great to hear that your stay was a wonderful welcome to the Country.
We trust that the rest of your travels in South Africa have been just as enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#81 of 106 in Cape Town Central
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing