We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large suite, friendly and helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Protea hotel, North Wharf in Cape Town SA. We stayed in unit 407 which had a pleasant view of an open courtyard. The suite was spacious, clean and well appointed. There was a fully equipped kitchen including a washer/dryer, a 4 piece bathroom, living/dining room, bedroom and large terrace. The value price included an impressive breakfast: meats, cheeses, omelets, eggs, breads, pastries, cereal, yogurt, beans, juices, fruit, muffins, coffee and much more.

The location is ideal. The wharf, with all of its shops, attractions, and restaurants, is within easy walking distance. We felt safe walking even at night because there are plenty of security officers posted throughout the wharf area.

The staff at the Protea made a good stay even more pleasant. They are warm, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAHALOGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear MAHALOGAL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. Your title sums it up beautifully: Large suite, friendly and helpful STAFF, great location.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 342 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow. we walked into our suite and couldnt believe it! to the left of the door was the bathroom with a shower AND seperate bath which you dont see in many hotels these days. Then you walk down the hall passing all the kitchen mod cons including microwave, oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dish washer and all of the cups, glasses and cuttlery you could possibly need to cater for yourself. Then came the living area with two chairs, sofa, coffee table and a big balcony. Behind the living area is the bedroom with the most comfy bed! I was genuinly so impressed with this suite it would do me as an apartment back home! Very stylish and modern. I have included some picture and our room number was 105. The hotel was in a fab location within walking distance of Green market square and the waterfront. The hotel offered 100mb per day of free wifi and had a great free breakfast. It did seem like quite a business hotel but that just meant it was a bit quieter and we didnt see any familes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view as they have great balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Faye W,

Thank you so much for your detailed review as well as for the lovely photo's which you have uploaded!

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would highly recommend the Protea at North Wharf for an extended stay in Cape Town. I enjoyed my 9 nights here in a one bedroom apartment. It was clean and comfortable with the added benefit of a good kitchen and laundry facilities. The breakfast buffet is excellent with freshly made eggs to your liking and tasty smoothies! The location is great - the convention centre is just across the square and the Waterfront area is a either a 15 min walk or short taxi ride. It felt like a safe part of town, particularly during the day. You can pick up supplies at the Food Lovers Market around the corner. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have views to the bay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Ivz_travels

Your comments are truly appreciated, thank you. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the breakfast and tasty smoothies that you enjoyed to the Chef.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is very clean, super spacious with warm, friendly, and helpful staff. The room is a suite/apartment style with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The couches and chairs in the living room are not the most comfortable but are exceptable. The kitchen is a full functioning kitchen with a stove, oven, refridgeratord,ishwasher, tea kettle,toaster as well as pots, pans, dishes and utensils so you can cook and eat right in your room.Although the food at The Waterfront is so yummy you may not have a chance.There is also a washer and dryer to freshen up your clothes. Breakfast is included and was very yummy with an assortment of pastries, cheeses, breads, fruits, muffins, meats, and other breakfast items. You could get an omelette or pancakes made for you as well as coffe, capuchino, tea, juice etc. I really enjoyed the breakfast and is served until 10:30 so you can sleep in a little if you so chose. The cleaning staff does a great job but they come early so make sure you have your "do not disturb" sign on your door or they will ring your bell very early. The hotel also has free wifi . Protea Hotel is centrally located a hop, skip, and jump away from everything in the City Centre of Cape Town. It's across the bridge from the V & A Waterfront, across the street from the Convention Center and near some business and shops which close very early because it is a business disrict but they are available during the day. It' s a safe area with visable public safety post staffed with friendly and helpful officers. I walked from the hotel to the V& A Waterfront every night and felt completely safe. I had a wonderful stay @ The Protea North Wharf Hotel and when I visit Cape Town again I plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in 407 which is a corner suite and it had a view of the courtyard on the side and was very...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZooSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear ZooSalim,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful and detailed review of your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back, soon hopefully?

Warm regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent 6 days at this hotel at the end of February. Location is very good. Close to the convention center, Water Front and good restaurants.

Front desk, restaurant staff and even house keeping were all very professional going the extra mile to be helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was surprised that hotel did not deliver a robe/slippers/sponge as a standard practice. House-keeping quickly delivered them as soon as I made a request for them.

Hotel restaurant menu was very limited...but this was not a problem as there are lots of other restaurants around to choose from. I particularly enjoyed "Col Cacchio" restaurant right beside the hotel.

Internet was free up to 200MB per day. That was all I needed to get my job done.

There was some renovation job going on during my last two days at the hotel. The manager apologized when I commented about the disturbance. Apart from this little hitch, my stay was very enjoyable. I give the restaurant staff 120% approval for excellent customer service, no exception.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor and my experience was perfect. No street noise. Good internet connection...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sam B

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and also for the 120% rating for the Restaurant STAFF!

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hi me and my husband stayed in this hotel to attend a conference in CTICC held in Feb 2013 which is situated just in 5 mins walk from this place, an added advantage

Good things about Protea North Wharf are

1.Spacious, clean, well maintained apartment complexes- actually it was quite big for two of us, will be good for couple travelling with kids

2. situated near international convention centre, safe area

3. Really helpful staff, who just goes for an extra mile to help guests which is excellent

4. morning breakfast is quite good- which is rare in many apartment hotels

The overall experience was awesome, i will recommend this place for people known to me who are travelling to cape town

P.S: Katherine & lucky from front desk really helped us. Thank u Guys we had a very nice time

Room Tip: Rooms in 7th floor will give u a nice view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smriti2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear smriti2006,

What a great review! Thank you for sharing that your overall experience was awesome. I will be sure to pass on the compliments to Katherine and Lucky.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at the North Wharf for 3 days in January. When we arrived, they gave us a room on the first floor. The previous guests had smoked in the room and I asked to move to a higher floor. This was no problem and we moved straight away. The rooms are large and airy. The staff at the hotel was very polite and attentive. The hotel is a short walk to the V & A and is no problem during the day. We taxied back at night, 40 Rand.
The only criticism of the hotel is it is surrounded by large buildings and has no view.
Good, free, Secure underground car park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkwing0_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Darkwing0-1

Thank you, I really apprecaite your great comments about my STAFF and that you took advantage of our central location to see all the wonders Cape Town has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards,
Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,241 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $184 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing