We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #59 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed a this hotel for 3 weeks and had a truly amazing time. The rooms were big with a separate lounge and a kitchenette with the basic utensils. The furniture was very contemporary and new. Its centrally located and there are some nice eateries near by. Also, there is a shuttle to Waterfront every half hour. I would love to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetterkarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 4 night in Feb 2012 . it was my first experience in a hotel offering apartment rooms . the staff ( at least most of them ) were kind and friendly and the lady who was the head receptionist was really helpful .
the rooms were beautifully designed and beds were comfy . you could find all amendities you might need . the fully equipped kitchen was fantastic , although i didn't use it but for me the highlight was the washing machine :)
the breakfast was the perfect way to start the day . a variety to choose from and not to get bored .
the hotel itself is located in a quite neighbourhood but wasy to walk to many nice places and restaurants , however you should take a taxi to go back after dark .
the only problem that i had was the construction which was going on outside ( it seems that it will be going on for another 2 years ) which woke me up early in the morning . i guess if you ask for a room not facing the construction there won't be any more inconvience .
all and all a very nice experience :)

Room Tip: ask for rooms not facing the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel on business trips to SA. It is really good - the apartments are a welcome break from hotel rooms and are very spacious, with lounge, dining area, galley kitchen, bathroom (shower + bath) and large bedroom. whether it was luck or a nice touch but I was put in the same apartment both times. The breakfasts are fantastic with a good range of buffet food from hot to cold. The location is convenient too, a stone's throw from the start of the N2 motorway and access to the Cape and the interior and a perfectly safe walk to the V&A and into town (with security present). Also, there is good underground parking once you work out how to get to it. The staff were very helpful too, kindly arranging a late check out for me on my most recent stay.

My only gripes are the wifi, which was a little slow and occasionally dropped out, the very small swimming pool and the basement gym which was a little austere. These are minor complaints though! Overall great place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great hotel. Excellent location, with footbridge near hotel giving access to Waterfront. Short taxi ride or 10 min. secure walk to heart of Waterfront. Huge rooms - sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and fully fitted kitchenette with all appliances inc. washing machine. Nice restaurant ; good full buffet breakfast. Really, helpful friendly staff. Cannot recommend too highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotels rooms are huge and very well furnished, the staff couldn't do enough for us, they went the extra mile and made out short stay there a pleasure, we will return on out next visit to Cape town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We have been staying for the last 5 years, either for business, or for the Argus cycle race. Everytime the service surpsasses our expectations. The rooms are spacious - apartment-like, perfectly apportioned, have a cool lay out and are well equiped. Location is great, 5 minute taxi ride from the V&A Waterfront. On top of this, pricing really highlights true value for money.

All staff are extremely helpful, no issue too small to assist with. Did I mention that breakfast is full of choice and simply great? Internet is for free and bandwidth powerful. There is convenient parking.

This place is a gem. Our favourite hotel in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for the large apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

"Warm and welcoming" are words often used to refer to a countryside guest-house, but not so often used in the same sentence as "superior, four star, all suite hotel", yet the North Wharf is all of these things.
The staff are exceedingly helpful, their service intuitive. The rooms are massive, better described as apartments. Breakfast is a buffet with an ideal mix of all things healthy and good for you, with plenty of the naughty stuff too, so you can indulge one day and be conservative the next.
I stayed on two separate occasions in one week - first for an expo at the CTICC - the hotel is only a stone throw away. The rooms is ideal for a business trip, with the self catering kitchen, large lounge and dining/office area. Internet is free and there is a business centre near the foyer, with computers and printers available for use.
My second stay was that same weekend for leisure (could not stay away), again the location could not be more central, close to the V&A Waterfront & Long street.
I would certainly go back again and again.

Room Tip: If ordering room service try the thin-base, wood fired, Italian style pizzas - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,344 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $187 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing