We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from start to finish”
Review of Mzansi

Mzansi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Description: Experience the Township of Langa at this traditional African restaurant. We cater to tourist and locals alike wishing to have a positive experience in Cape Town’s oldest township. Our kitchen is run by longtime Langa residents that have worked to put a modern twist on recipes that have been passed down through the generations. As you enjoy your locally sourced meal, a live Marimba band will entertain you with traditional African music (tipping is encouraged). Your support helps us to provide jobs and to empower our community. We kindly ask that you make a reservation/booking in advance for, we cook to order and are not a walk-in restaurant. Open for lunch and dinner, we request that you call 24 hours in advance or early in the morning. PLEASE NOTE: Our Restaurant will be closed September 19th-October 3rd, 2017 for holiday. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Restaurant details
Description: Experience the Township of Langa at this traditional African restaurant. We cater to tourist and locals alike wishing to have a positive experience in Cape Town’s oldest township. Our kitchen is run by longtime Langa residents that have worked to put a modern twist on recipes that have been passed down through the generations. As you enjoy your locally sourced meal, a live Marimba band will entertain you with traditional African music (tipping is encouraged). Your support helps us to provide jobs and to empower our community. We kindly ask that you make a reservation/booking in advance for, we cook to order and are not a walk-in restaurant. Open for lunch and dinner, we request that you call 24 hours in advance or early in the morning. PLEASE NOTE: Our Restaurant will be closed September 19th-October 3rd, 2017 for holiday. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I highly recommend Mzansi. Beautiful food, great hosts and the band were excellent. If you're in Cape Town make sure you pay Mzansi a visit. You will not be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at Mzansi for a brilliant evening :)

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank SophieFarrah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family of five thoroughly enjoyed our time at this restaurant. The meal was one of the best we had while in Capetown, and the family was warm and inviting. We utilized the restaurant to assist us with transportation to and from the township, but other families seemed to use Uber with no problem. I would recommend this for a unique experience and wonderful meal.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kimwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

What a great experience we had. Great food and service. Try to pronounce the name of the food in the local language as great fun and we all left there convinced we can now speak click.
The love and passion of the people in this area is wonderful. For the first time I felt the African hospitality.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Travel4gongxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

I booked a reservation at Mzansi after reading all of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. It was a great experience with excellent food (beef stew was amazing), great music and a meaningful story behind the genesis of their home/restaurant. “Mama” was not feeling well so her son told the story of how Mzansi came about. A very unique and memorable night. Two of our friends didn’t make it because their Uber driver told them not to drive into the Langa neighborhood where Mzansi is located. This was unfortunate because we had no problems at all. DO NOT LISTEN TO ANYONE WHO TRIES TO CONVINCE YOU NOT TO GO. We had no issues and easily got an Uber to and from there. Well worth it.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank sgatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Ate here as part of a township tour hosted by Ubizo Events and Tours. The food was amazing, and so was the live performances from local musicians.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TobunOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mzansi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mzansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing